We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trans International Hotel
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The Trans International Hotel is a mediocre hotel without too much charm, but very conveniently placed if you have an early flight out of Fiji (as one can not rely on the flights from Suva to Nadi actually being on time, or even leaving).

The room was clean, but had no personality. I was not able to turn off the light by the entrance/sink as the string to the light switch was too short for me to reach.

The food in the restaurant was downright bland, and even though the restaurant decor was not very enticing, it got even worse by the fact that they played music as if you were in a nightclub. Not very convenient either that you have to go into the bar and buy a glass of wine and take with you back to the restaurant if you want wine with the food.

Would not recommend unless you just want to be close to the airport for some reason. Transport to and from the airport with the hotel taxi is free.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    12
    18
    16
    31
See reviews for
19
26
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cronulla, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed here in January 2012 and June 2012. Both times we were met with very friendly staff and clean rooms. This is a great "transit" hotel as it is so close to the airport. The restaurant is a little over priced, but if you walk 100M down the street to the left there is a really cheap restaurant with great food. Free Wifi in reception + free computers to use. Overall it was a very peaceful stay, with a great outlook to the mountains at the back. Would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RC4RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Very close to airport. Good and reasonable food at the hotel restaurant.
Room are clean with occasional tiny insects on the floor. Free in room cable internet. Can Skype with your friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mushroom12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We (and our friends) usually stay at Raffles but Pacific Sun booked our friends into the Trans International Hotel after a cancelled flight made them miss their connection. We didn't spend the night here but did spend several hours with our friends in their room waiting for our flight. We also ate dinner with them in the restaurant.

There was a gift shop, dry cleaners and beauty salon in the lobby, as well as a small coffee shop - all were closed when we were there. The restaurant is upstairs above the lobby - we changed tables a few times, trying to find one that didn't have food spilled on the tablecloth. We never did find a clean one but did find a cleaner one. Service was slow (but I think it was due to the kitchen being slow) and food was just so-so. there were only three other diners at the time.

Behind the lobby is a courtyard with a three-story L-shaped hotel building. There are no elevators - but our friends were luckily on the first floor. The swimming pool is a basic rectangle and takes up most of that courtyard.

The rooms are OK - but they are not very clean. In multiple stays at Raffles, we've never had a dirt problem. At the Trans International, there was dirt in the corners and 6-8" of soap scum along the bottom portion of the glass shower doors.

Next time we're in Nadi, we'll all stay at Raffles. It's cleaner, has a beautiful large pool, and the food is better.

Like Raffles, the Trans International Hotel does provide complimentary airport transportation.

Because the restaurant is upstairs and there is no elevator, this hotel could be challenging for people with disabilities.

In summary, the hotel is not an "avoid at all costs" property, but why stay here when a cleaner, quieter, nicer hotel with a great pool is next door for only about $10 USD more?

Room Tip: Rooms along the back would have less luggage trolley traffic noise. If you have heavy luggage, avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nadi hotels

Kansas City, USA
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

A fairly new hotel with pleasant but utilitarian lobby and rooms, the Trans International is my preference for overnighting in Nadi partly because of its close proximity to the airport and partly because of its free Internet. At least free if you use WiFi at the bar or if you have your own LAN cable, if you have no cable and want to use the Internet in the room they will rent you a cable for $10 as long as you stay. While the Raffles Gateway hotel is even closer to the airport and about the same price, their Internet is dramatically overpriced and the bandwidth limited. As a person who needs to check in to customers and family when stopping on business travel, the Internet is a big deal for me. Rooms are large, bright and quiet, even with the air conditioner running. Large firm bed, desk, Satellite TV, refrigerator, water boiler for coffee and tea and a large bath with plenty of hot water and reasonable water pressure complete the picture. I found the staff to be helpful and friendly. Unfortunately though I have been at the hotel a number of times, they never seem to meet flights, you have to call for the free transfer and of course who arrives in Fiji from another country with a Fiji SIM card or phone card? So a taxi is usually necessary but it is only 3 minutes away. No problem getting a free ride back to the airport. The small restaurant is ok, nothing great, nothing terrible and they will deliver to the room. The pizzas are quite good. Given that the hotel is rarely full, you are likely to get a better price as a walk in than through the Internet.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the top floor. Stick with the bottom two. That extra flight is a killer plus it seems t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Air Pacific put me up here after my flight from Sydey was 4 hours late and I missed my connection to Suva.
Avoid this place. Terrible.
From the rattly trolley they persist in using over the rough surface past all the downstairs rooms at all hours to move bags, to the overpriced tasteless food (paid for by Air Pacific) this place was just awful.
The shower floor was stained, the rack had fallen off the wall, and the tiles were super shiney so incredibly slippery.
It did have good water pressure and is just across the road from the airport. Nothing else's going for it.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taezar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We were put in this hotel overnight by Air Pacific at their cost due to a scheduling change. The hotel is virtually across the road from the airport and is a walkable distance. The rooms are simple but clean. The hotel is a small three story walk up. There is a small restaurant and a bar. Food was good. Service was friendly and welcoming. Perfect for an overnight transit or if you are looking for an inexpensive day transit location to rest and clean up.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eiying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.0 mi away
Hexagon International Hotel, Villas & Spa
0.1 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.8 mi away
Tanoa International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#8 of 25 in Nadi
1,093 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
1.9 mi away
Bluewater Lodge
Bluewater Lodge
#12 of 25 in Nadi
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trans International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trans International Hotel

Property: Trans International Hotel
Address: 3939 Queens Road | Opposite Nadi International Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trans International Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Trans International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trans International Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing