We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misleading Information, Never going back.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tanoa Skylodge Hotel
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Misleading Information, Never going back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Yes, sometimes you need to recheck the details. We were on transit back home and it was the time when flooding was on the increase in January. We expecte to be booked in at the Tanoa International, only to find out it was the Tanoa Skylodge. This could have been an oversight with better results, however when we got there, we were put in Standard rooms when we had booked and paid for Premium rooms which are significantly better, larger and from the Tanoa Web site, clearly shows the difference. Our rooms were like a dorm (This place caters for backpackers rooms) which in itself is not a problem if that is what you are expecting.

We made an official complaint to out travel agents (twice) and in both cases, Tanoa Skylodge stated that these Standard rooms had been upgraded and were now Premium rooms. Not good enough and clearly Tanoa did not want to admit they effectively downgraded us. Our travel agent gave a refund for some of the money. I don't know if they recovered from Tanoa Skylodge.

Rooms were small, outside door did not open properly, outside chairs were broken are a few of the items we came across. The other room had sheets that were stained and the kids said there were feas.

Because the rooms are dorm like, we were treated with party noise until 2.30am when I rang reception to tell then to sort it out. In the end we were only in our rooms for the minimum time, opting to get up early and wait for the transport to the airport.

So in summary, 5 of us stayed there. We never want to go back. In addition, this is still some distance from the airport. There are better places to go to and much closer to the terminals.

Room Tip: Premium Rooms, but only if you manage to get one. Don't know what they are like as we got a Stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dukenukem30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skymanager, Manager at Tanoa Skylodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Bula,
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. It is dissapointing to see that you did not enjoyed your stay with us. We are continually striving very hard to improve our services and there for all customer feedback is taken seriously - good or bad. At the moment Tanoa Skylodge is undergoing major renovation where we are upgrading our facilities and rooms.Comparing us with Tanoa International Hotel is a tad unfair as we are a three star hotel and make no apologies for catering to the budget traveller. In your case you were accommodated in our renovated cottage superior rooms due to a very high occupancy during the floods. This was relayed to your agent and we adviced the agent to make the necessary arrangements to refund you if you were not happy with what you had paid for. During this time of flooding we were one of the few accommodation providers which could operate normally and were inundated with requests from civil defence to accommodate those deemed to be engaged in critical roles. We felt duty bound to give such requests priority. Whilst we take on board your comments, we do feel that you are being somewhat unfair given the situation and the fact that we claim to be nothing other than a 3 star hotel with some dormitory accommodation. I hope that we can put right your experiance so please do visit us again in future when you are travelling our way to see what changes we have made.

Best Regards,

Raj Singh
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    73
    64
    33
    23
See reviews for
35
75
41
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
132 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Nadi is probably not the ultimate hotel vacation location, but often a necessary stoppover before heading elsewhere. Reviews on most hotels in this price range and upwards, and previous experience at Denarau contributed to us choosing Nomads/Tanoa Skylodge. When booking it is good to know that this accomodation still appears under both names on different hotel booking engines.
The place is not all new, but it was good value for the price we paid. Room was somewhat dated, but clean enough, air conditioning was working and hot water was hot in the shower.
They picked us up at the airport upon arrival (good to skip the overpriced Nadi taxis) and they drop you off at the airport if that is where you are heading after your stay.
Bar and pool area, even if not in tiptop modern state, was allright and surprisingly tranquil and secluded taking into account that there is a very busy road just behind the fence.
It is also within a walking distance to several supermarkets where you can get things you might want to take with you to the islands.
Staff was very helpful. Hadn't it been for the staff at Skylodge we probably would have missed our boat transfer to the Mamanucas. (We had booked South Sea Cruises and they were informed that we will be at Skylodge, but the first pickup never arrived as they had cancelled the boat without informing us or the hotel, the next pickup never bothered to stop at the hotel - it just drove in and out of the hotel area - a surprise for us and even a greater surprise for the staff at Skylodge. Skylodge staff had to help us rush out through a shortcut to the main road and stop that very transfer bus at a bus bay opposite the hotel, so it worked out eventually, but left an impression of South Sea Cruises as a very unreliable transportation company). All in all if we had to stay a night or two in Nadi again we would not hesitate choosing Skylodge provided they remain in the same pricerange.

Room Tip: Standard double is good for one nights sleep before heading on, if you need to stay for longer opt f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PINELights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skymanager, Manager at Tanoa Skylodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Bula ,
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. It is encouraging to see that you enjoyed your stay. We are continually striving very hard to improve our services and there for all customer feedback is taken seriously either good or bad. Also at the moment Tanoa Skylodge is undergoing major renovation where we are trying to upgrade our facilities and rooms. We at Skylodge cater for all type of visitors and definitely our price range will be maintained within this range to cater for this demand. All the above comments will be passed to the relevent staff concerned and please do visit us again in future when you are travelling our way and we will accommodate you in our newely renovated cottage rooms and if you know of any one else coming our way, please feel free to introduce them to us.


Best Regards,


Raj Singh
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Very close to airport, affordable and clean. Staff Go an Extra Mile to bring that smile to your lips, you do not feel that you are a visitor. Very friendly and accommodating staff at the same time being professional.

Will Definately stay at Skylodge next time.
How ever the Food is expensive compared to local shops nearby. and food does not have much variety to choose from.

Room Tip: For cheaper meals, walk up the road. 3 mins walk, cheap lovely food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabassum P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Hi, i stayed there 3 weeks ago in one of the rooms in cottage 6. First of all i was given an expired room card (key).I informed reception that i cant get excess to my room, i was geting late to go somewhere and they told me that i have to wait since the maintenance staffs had tea break.Fair enough, i was patient, soon after staff "Neel" came and opened my room with his master card.Same problem happened once again before they realised the key was expired.I had to take a walk from cottage 6 to reception 3 times on a hot sunny day for this which was just........No bath towels, dusty cupboards and yaa toilets yukky, informed reception about this as well.Was moved in the next room with AC the 2nd night @ 11pm.There the fridge wasnt working. overall experience was horrible....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweety R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nadi hotels

Ballarat Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Great staff supported by an excellent Management team. Very reasonably priced restaurant and bar. Friendly homely atmosphere and handy to many day trip destinations.
Well done to Raj Singh and his delightful crew. May your success continue. Will be back in the future.Dick and June F.

Room Tip: Get Misa to make you an amazing cocktail!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggusdikkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skymanager, Manager at Tanoa Skylodge Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Bula,
Thank you very much for taking time to write this review. It is so rewarding to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us.Customer feedback is very important to us and all constructive criticism is taken seriously. Your positive comments have being shared with the staff concerned. Please do visit us again whenever you are passing our way.We will continue to provide you with the same Fijian hospitality and if you know of anyone else coming our way, please feel free to introduce them to us.

Thanks once again

Raj Singh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed here twice, the night before our trip around the Yasawas and the night afterwards. We had a basic double the first night and a superior room on our last night. The price difference was about £10, but it was well worth the extra. Decent air con, 2 double beds, so lots of space and hot water. Overall the place is good, basic, but good. Food in the restaurant is nice, there is a good bar and even a decent swimming pool, although we never got to use it due to our schedule. Friends of ours who had stayed at another hotel/hostel beforehand, commented how good they thought it was (and they only had a basic room). If we came to Nadi again, we would stay here. Wifi costs you, that was my only slight grumble - £3 an hour (same as using the internet with their computers.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markdixon80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skymanager, Manager at Tanoa Skylodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2012
Bula,
Thank you for taking time to write this review. It is really encouraging to see that you enjoyed your stay. All guest feed back is very important to us so that we can improve on our facilities and services. All the above comments will be shared with the staff concerned and please do visit us again in future when you are travelling our way. If you know anyone else coming through Nadi please feel free to introduce them to us.

Kind Regards,
Raj Singh
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castillos, Uruguay
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

We were a bit woried that it's airport location will come with the usual noise, but we were pleasantly surprised by this very friendly and helpfull staff. Make sure you ask for a room not to near the restaurant, because it might get noisy on some nights. Nice affordable restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skymanager, Manager at Tanoa Skylodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Bula,
Thank you for taking time to write this review. It is really encouraging to see that you enjoyed your stay. We welcome feedback as it is very important to us as we strive to improve our facilities and services. Yes we do have band nights here in the weekends for our guest to enjoy but they only go on until 11.00pm. All your comments will be passed onto the relevent staff and please do visit us again in future when you are travelling our way and we will make sure that we will accommodate you in our newly renovated cottage rooms which are away from the restaurant . If you know of anyone else visiting or passing through Nadi, please feel free to introduce them to us.

Thanks once again

Raj Singh
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nadi hotels
0.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.0 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#10 of 26 in Nadi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
0.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Skylodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Skylodge Hotel

Property: Tanoa Skylodge Hotel
Address: Namaka Queens Highway,Nadi, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Nomads Skylodge Resort)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa Skylodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanoa Skylodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Skylodge Hotel
Tanoa Skylodge Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing