We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stopover hotel”
Review of Fiji Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have been to Fiji 1/2 dozen times and normally go to Denarau for overnight stays before going to the islands. This time we tried 2 Nadi hotels, Novotel on way across and gateway on way hotel. Novotel was very disappointing, but we found the gateway very good. Firstly it's directly across the road from the airport and has continuous free shuttle buses running to the airport which makes it super convenient for early flights. The hotel itself had a warm friendly atmosphere. The room we stayed in was clean, quiet and did the job for an overnight stay, not resort quality like Denarau, but for the price and location much better for getting connecting planes to and from islands. The downstairs bar / restaurant area was very open and friendly and had a Fijian band playing in the background, so there was no need to leave the hotel for meals, drinks or entertainment. The staffing very friendly and helpful and the meals very well priced and good quality. Overall I would definitely stay there again if I needed a stopover hotel, if I was two nights or more I would definitely go to Denarau Island to one of the more upmarket resorts.

Room Tip: opposite airport , great location
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
There are newer reviews for Fiji Gateway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed here on our first night before heading to the Islands.

Rooms were clean and tidy and of good size.
Service of the staff was excellent and as always very friendly.
We had dinner there and the food was good. Service was a bit slow but as we were a group of 18 we had expected that, and also a lot of other guests there as well..
We enjoyed the breakfast and it had a great variety to choose from.

The kids, and the big kids loved the waterslide and we spent hours having fun in the pool and enjoying a few drinks.

This place is a great place for stopovers and we will be staying again when in Fiji.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetkerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

i have say this is very nice the staff look after very well the sevice was great i will coming back in 6 months on my back from los angeles califonia as been fiji lot times a lot of island l the food was great breakfast ,lunch dinner like all the bar ,pool and the spa this hotel very big in size it has lot of room the hotel cross the road nadi airport and nadi town

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

After a day of considerable travelling, we arrived at Raffles Gateway to be upgraded to Room 406, the Damana Suite. We did have one or two issues over the following 2 nights but these were expertly and satisfyingly resolved by the General Manager.

Raffles is ideally located next to Fiji’s airport (no noise from the aircraft) and employs a friendly, hospitable and considerate staff. The dining room is spacious, provides a wide choice menu served by a very capable staff.

We highly recommend Raffles for all the reasons above.

Room Tip: The suites are worth it.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JandJFarnhamCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The room was really nice, the grounds were pretty nice. We didn’t try out the pools. The counter staff were good, we were struck by the fact the woman behind the activity desk couldn’t name any stores/restaurants anything for Denarau. I would definitely swing through again if we ever have the chance to visit Fiji again. Huge portions of decent food, but the service in the restaurant wasn’t great. It was extremely easy to get a taxi and pretty inexpensive. The drivers were really helpful and knew the best places to take us. He showed us the exact location of the local market before dropping us at Jack’s and gave us his direct contact information so that we could get the people at Jack’s to call him for a pick-up when we were done. It was nice taking all the guess work out of getting around. We really appreciated the quick tour of Nadi to orient ourselves as later a random Fijian man tried to tell us we needed to visit the local market, told us to follow him and then took off down a side street (that was well travelled mind you) and we knew wasn’t the right way to the shops. We wouldn’t have followed regardless, but be very careful around Nadi.

Room Tip: We were in room 101 which is right adjacent to the dining area. The live music played from around 6...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blindedbyscience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed just one night at Raffles Gateway. I always feel a bit sorry for staff in transit hotels, with most people only passing through for a night, it must be hard to keep up the motivation! However, the staff here manage to do just that and proved to be very friendly and helpful.

Our basic room was comfortable, spacious and clean. The air conditioning unit had a mind of its own; however staff were quick to have somebody sort it out, once we mentioned it.

The hotel surroundings were quiet at night, ensuring uninterrupted sleep. Being so close to the departure terminal, you could almost throw your suitcase and reach the check in counter – which means you don’t have to get up quite as early as everyone else for those red-eye flights.

As a transit hotel, Raffles has all you could need, and I’d happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raptorman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

What great place to start or end your Fiji holiday. Land at Nadi and checked into your adequate and clean room within 1 hour of landing, as this place is right across the road. when leaving also none of the early morning travel from the Coral coast just 1/2 an hour up and at the airport. Raffles has 2 very clean pools although the slide pool is the most popular and a bar and restaurant which is attended by your typical friendly Fijian staff who makes your stay here whether it be over night or a few days that more enjoyable. The reception staff and porters will go out of their way to help with any thing you desire. A bus to Nadi town out the front runs every few minutes with a fare of $1.60 to town. The South Sea Cruisers bus cant fit in the resorts driveway so if your catching a ferry to the islands remember to stand out on the main road, but also they do run on Fiji time so get out there a bit early. The meals are very good and normal price for Fiji but do try their burgers. The bar has all nice cold drinks and your barman Ginny will make sure your are never without a drink. Over all this close and handy resort- motel is for tourists who want good priced and clean accommodation and be able to also experience the shopping centers and local culture but not pay 5 Star rates, although after many stays here my family are always treated like 5 Star guests. Try it even for overnight, I think you will like it.

Room Tip: Book a downstairs room near the pool, especially if you have children.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
2.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#9 of 25 in Nadi
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
2.5 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Gateway Hotel

Address: Queens Road | Opposite Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raffles Gateway Hotel)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range: £60 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its stunning gardens and personalized service, Fiji Gateway Hotel is an oasis for the weary traveler. Conveniently situated opposite Nadi International Airport and just 8kms from Nadi Town and 24kms from Lautoka City, Fiji Gateway Hotel is ideal for pre or post island resort stays or as a base for sightseeing on Fiji's main island of Vitu Levu. Fiji Gateway Hotel is a friendly and affordable hotel offering an idyllic garden setting where you can relax before your onward journey. Facilities include two swimming pools and a waterslide, two restaurants, a gymnasium, tennis court and a poolside bar. Complimentary transfers are provided between the hotel and Nadi International Airport. Accommodation: The Deluxe Rooms are ideal for couples or families and offer space and comfort whilst providing all the standard amenities and features. The Pool View Rooms have the addition of flat screen televisions and are of a more luxurious standard. The Suites are the most spacious and well-appointed rooms and are ideally suited to couples, honeymooners and upscale travelers. Children under 16 years stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Day room rates are available for guests who are in transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fiji Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Gateway Nadi
Hotel Raffles Gateway
Fiji Gateway Hotel Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing