We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised!”
Review of Fiji Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed for one night before and one night after our island stay. It was perfect for what we needed. The room was nice and much better than what we would be able to get for a family of 5 on our budget in New Zealand.
The pool was great, our kids aren't old enough for the slide but it looked like fun.
We were a bit worried after looking at the menu as we are vegetarian and couldn't see any vegetarian options. When we asked, we were very impressed to be presented with the vegetarian menu. The veg curry is great value and tastes good.
As a stop off it works for us and considering how little time we spent there between flights and ferry, I wouldn't spend way more to go to Denerau as Raffles had everything we needed for our short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikkiblu86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,255)
There are newer reviews for Fiji Gateway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

692 - 698 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed here for a few hours during the day while waiting for my Suva flight. The main thing going for this hotel is its location, right across the highway from the airport. You can walk there. I felt the rooms were lower quality than the prices would suggest. My room was dank and the windows opened to the hotel parking garage. Wifi was paid but at least it worked well. If you have time before or while in transit in Nadi, their restaurant is actually a good option as it is much nicer than anything in the airport terminal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We only stayed one night at raffles before going out to Castaway. All the travel agents recommend staying in the 5 star Denarau resort complex but because of our budget we elected for one night at raffles on the way to our island and one night at Denarau on the way back. Next time ill just stay at Raffles. Rooms were clean, the pools and hydro slide were great and our breakfast was included so we were more than happy with our experience here. Staff were very friendly. We took the shuttle here from the airport because we had so much luggage and then laughed at the short distance we actually had to go. A bit of a walk to the shops but very manageable some people im sure would prefer to taxi but we liked the walk. Thanks raffles!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelDavies2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. Spent two nights on the way to Plantation and one on the way home. After a slight false start we settled in for an enjoyable stay. Ensure you have the right bedding options though. The roll away bed we eventually got was, to be fair, attrocious. Not sure what went on with that but at the end of the day we adapted and overcame. the kids loved the slide (obviously prior to some idiot spoiling it upon reading a review fromt he day after we left...) and the pool was a fantastic way to ease into our family holiday. The facilities and grounds were excellent. Ganesh made sure we wanted for nothing by way of snacks, food and drinks - perhaps a little too helpful at times but hey, he made it interesting and enjoyable. It aint the ritz but its more than you need for a few nights. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant was above average in terms of quality and quantity of fare. Again, its not haute cuisine but more than enough to satiate the hungry traveller.
whilst only walking distance from the airport the complimentary shuttle is a godsend on a hot day with bags laden with trinkets and gifts - thanks to the reception staff for insisting we use it ;).
The rooms were clean and tidy. TV reception a bit dodgy but that's the nature of the beast. Overall we really enjoyed our stays and will definitely be back.
As with any trip, make sure you keep tabs on your expenses and which services you used etc (easy with moden technology). Helps with the checkout and validation esp if your travel agent hasn't quite articulated your needs as well as could be...just saying.
Thanks to the staff and management for making our holiday start and end on a high and positive note. Bula Vinaka levu

Room Tip: preferred 603 for bedding layout but 307 had a nicer view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olddadnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The reason that we chose this hotel was for its proximity to the airport. In fact we did not even use the shuttle service as we simply had to cross the road, which was not difficult. The staff was friendly and polite - as are most Fijians, in any case. We stayed here, not only for the convenience, but also because of the pool, which was large and had a slide. This is the place to stay if you have kids because it is a lot of fun, albeit a little noisy (no fault of the hotel). Negatives are the lack of a sufficient number of poolside loungers, and the water was not as clean as it could be - no doubt due to the number of children playing in the pool.
The room was good for the price and the bed was very comfortable, with extra pillows, however, the sheets could use some updating as they were a little threadbare and not too crisp. It is nice to have the private patio area.
We ate in the cafe and the food was really quite good, as was the price. However, the wine was awful, I have to say. It tasted watered down and on the edge of vinegar. I wish that I had ordered beer or perused a wine list (if they even had one). That said, the cocktails were well made and I can recommend those.
We stayed here overnight, but I can see where the hotel excels at providing day use, which I may use at another time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeandEdK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Recently stayed at Raffles Gateway the night before an early flight back to Australia. We found the hotel comfortable with good amenities for what we needed for our short stay. Also meant we were able to drop our hire car off at our convenience and utilise the hotel shuttle bus to the airport the next morning. Staff were polite and friendly. The room was great with a handy balcony area, but the position of the air conditioner blowing straight at the bed made sleeping a bit tricky but it was too warm to do without it. A minor inconvenience really.
Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Have stayed here twice for an overnight stopover between arriving in Nadi and our internal domestic flight & highly recommend for this use. Walking distance to airport (plus is a free shuttle service if you want). Comfortable & clean rooms, quiet if you get one upstairs at the back (avoid being at the front near the bar), good food in the restaurants, staff responsive to requests. Big pool with a waterslide, entertaining Fijian singers at night.

Room Tip: Recommend asking for a suite at the back & upstairs - you're away from the bar/restaurants a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobynHutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
2.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#9 of 25 in Nadi
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
2.5 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
2.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Gateway Hotel

Address: Queens Road | Opposite Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raffles Gateway Hotel)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range: £61 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its stunning gardens and personalized service, Fiji Gateway Hotel is an oasis for the weary traveler. Conveniently situated opposite Nadi International Airport and just 8kms from Nadi Town and 24kms from Lautoka City, Fiji Gateway Hotel is ideal for pre or post island resort stays or as a base for sightseeing on Fiji's main island of Vitu Levu. Fiji Gateway Hotel is a friendly and affordable hotel offering an idyllic garden setting where you can relax before your onward journey. Facilities include two swimming pools and a waterslide, two restaurants, a gymnasium, tennis court and a poolside bar. Complimentary transfers are provided between the hotel and Nadi International Airport. Accommodation: The Deluxe Rooms are ideal for couples or families and offer space and comfort whilst providing all the standard amenities and features. The Pool View Rooms have the addition of flat screen televisions and are of a more luxurious standard. The Suites are the most spacious and well-appointed rooms and are ideally suited to couples, honeymooners and upscale travelers. Children under 16 years stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Day room rates are available for guests who are in transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fiji Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Gateway Nadi
Hotel Raffles Gateway
Fiji Gateway Hotel Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing