We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There are much better choices in Nadi” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiji Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fiji Gateway Hotel
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
San Francisco
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“There are much better choices in Nadi”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2006

Do yourself a favour and stay at Tanoa International or Tokatoka. We were offered a free stay at the Raffles Gateway because Air Fiji canceled our connecting flight.

We left shortly after checking in and moved at our own expense. Here's why:
- Standard rooms are small and decrepit with two small beds
- Local toll free numbers (e.g. MCI) are blocked. You must pay the hotel LD rates (outrageous) to call overseas
- The nearset pay phones are at the airport.
- The hotel is noisy and crowded

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TheWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    612
    217
    45
    29
See reviews for
350
442
117
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2006

This hotel is good for if you have an early flight out of Nadi or a late flight in. The rooms we clean, however, the beds squeeked everytime there was a movement. We arrived at 9 PM as we had a flight out at 4 AM. We went to the front desk to check in and we were told they were fully booked, even though we had already payed. The assistant manager then tried to move us to another hotel, when we refused and threatened to sit in the lobby all night, he turned to one of his staff and asked if a certain room was ready. There was a shuttle to the airport, however, it is probably only a 5 minute to the airline desk from the front desk.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tara146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2006

You can not get more convienient if you need a place to stay near the airport. You can walk across the road from the airport to the hotel. We booked the hotel shuttle to pick us up when we arrived at 2:45am, and the driver was right there waiting to take us and our luggage the approx 200 meters.

The rooms are basic but adequate. We had a nice renovated bathroom.

The pool is fantastic.

We booked for the night we arrived plus a day room rate for the next day as the boat to our resort was scheduled for the afternoon. They didn't even end up charging us for the day rate, just for one regular night. And we spent the morning in the great pool unitll the boat company bus picked us up from the hotel. Perfect start to the vacation.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a night by the international airport at the beginning or end of their trip.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kiwiyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2006

A great hotel to stay at if you find yourself in the Nadi area or require a stopover near the Nadi airport. Walking through the doors, we immediately felt the stress of the trip lift away after glimpsing the beautiful courtyard, waterfall, and pools. The open-air cafe and bar was wonderful to eat at and we enjoyed the guitarists in the evening. Although Nadi isn't the place you want to base your entire Fijian vacation, this hotel is a great place to sleep off the jet lag and get acclimatized to the tropics. It is exactly next to the airport, just outside the gates. The staff were very friendly and accomodating and the cost was very reasonable. We were allowed to check-in at 6:30am for which we were most thankful. Our air conditioned room was quiet, fresh, bright, and clean and it looked over the lush and beautifuly manicured grounds. They have a free shuttle to the airport and there is also a lady in the lobby to book travel tours, answer questions, and book activities such as dinner cruises and adventures.

Pool: we particularily enjoyed the very large formed pool with a well designed waterslide. There is a second smaller pool near the restaurant but we hardly saw anyone in that one and it seemed to be mostly to add to the look of the courtyard. Note, that if you have kids, you may want to book or ask for one of the rooms on the ground floor that back on to the larger pool. We noticed a family taking advantage of such a close proximity to the pool and their kids were having a blast.

Restaurant/cafe: we enjoyed our meals at the outdoor cafe/restaurant. The service was excellent and prompt. The prices were very expensive, comparitively, for what you received especially on the breakfast menu.

All in all, our experiences at the Raffles in Nadi was a great one and a perfect introduction to Fiji. We used it as a place to rest before travelling to the resorts on the smaller islands. We were glad we did, as we saw many other couples who travelled directly to the resorts after arriving in Fiji that were absolutely exhausted for their entire 1st day and evening.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Beerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2006

The best thing about this hotel is it's proximity to the Nadi International Airport. It is right across the street, you could walk it's so close, but they've got a shuttle but that will take your luggage too. The walk-in rate is very affordable (I paid only $75 Fijian). This is a great place to spend the night if you've got a early morning or late night flight. The facilities include two pools and a resturant and bar. The rooms are basic, but not at all sketchy or skeezy. They provide you with in room tea and instant coffee as well as shampoo, conditioner and soap. It's not exactly where you'd want to spend your entire Fiji holiday but that's not the point. For an airport hotel, it's quite lovely.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2005

We enjoy staying at the Gateway. It is very convenient to the airport but not so convenient to other facilities - shops - restaurants etc.
Excellent friendly front office staff - nice rooms with tea and coffee making facilities. There is the choice of two pools - one with a waterslide for all ages. Also a spa pool.
A small band provides local music and the pool side restaurant is well situated and well priced for the budget conscious traveller. The other more up market restaurant offers a range of alternatives.
The other Raffles hotel we have stayed at is the Tradewinds near Suva. It is of similar standard and we would recommend them both to the discerning traveller looking for value for money places to stay.

Helpful?
17 Thank TerryRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2005

Stayed 3 nights at the Raffles Gateway , opposite Nadi Airport in September 2005. I would class this hotel as average.

Pool- Clean with large slide for children.
Restaurant- Good, affordable and good size portions .
Room- Very average, needs updating and in change of New Decor .

It is directly opposite the Airport and on the main road to Nadi and Lautoka. You hear the occasional plane and road traffic.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank joffaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
2.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
2.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
1.0 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#8 of 26 in Nadi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Nadi
Mercure Nadi
#9 of 26 in Nadi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 26 in Nadi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiji Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiji Gateway Hotel

Property: Fiji Gateway Hotel
Address: Queens Road | Opposite Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raffles Gateway Hotel)
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fiji Gateway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for its stunning gardens and personalized service, Fiji Gateway Hotel is an oasis for the weary traveler. Conveniently situated opposite Nadi International Airport and just 8kms from Nadi Town and 24kms from Lautoka City, Fiji Gateway Hotel is ideal for pre or post island resort stays or as a base for sightseeing on Fiji's main island of Vitu Levu. Fiji Gateway Hotel is a friendly and affordable hotel offering an idyllic garden setting where you can relax before your onward journey. Facilities include two swimming pools and a waterslide, two restaurants, a gymnasium, tennis court and a poolside bar. Complimentary transfers are provided between the hotel and Nadi International Airport. Accommodation: The Deluxe Rooms are ideal for couples or families and offer space and comfort whilst providing all the standard amenities and features. The Executive Rooms have the addition of flat screen televisions and are of a more luxurious standard. The Suites are the most spacious and well-appointed rooms and are ideally suited to couples, honeymooners and upscale travelers. Children under 16 years stay free when sharing a room with their parents. Day room rates are available for guests who are in transit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Fiji Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raffles Gateway Nadi
Hotel Raffles Gateway
Fiji Gateway Hotel Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing