We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great base for day trips out to the islands”
Review of Mercure Nadi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Nadi
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed 20 October 2007

We stayed at the Mercure Nadi for 3 nights in June ’07 as a stop off between travelling around USA, and going to New Zealand.

We got picked up by the hotel shuttle bus from the airport at around 5am (after some slight hassle when they did not initially arrive until I called them to ask where they were!) We arrived at the hotel at 6am, even though we were not due to check in until 2pm. The hotels staff were friendly, and asked us to wait in reception, promising they would get a room ready for us as soon as housekeeping started at 9.
As promised, by 9am we was shown to our room. The room was nice and comfortable and was fine for our 3 night stay. We planned to simply do a bit of sightseeing for daytrips to the islands using South Sea Cruises.

The hotel is not really surrounded by any restaurants, or shops, so we was forced to eat at the hotel each evening, and shop in the hotels conveiniance store.
Whilst the food was ok, it took a while to get it! One night we waited an hour from ordering, to getting our food on the table, and then another 45 minutes from asking for the bill, to receiving the bill! But hey, its ‘fiji time’, where everything runs much slower then the pace of life in places like the UK, USA and Australia.

Apart from that, I would recommend this hotel to everyone looking for a short stay in Fiji, and definitely recommend going to visit the islands!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank dantaylor123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

691 - 697 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2007

My fiance and I spent 5 nights at the Mercure on our way to New Zealand. Having not had very much time to look into hotels and things to do in Fiji prior to our trip we chose the Mercure as the majority of comments were good. We were not disappointed by our choice. The staff are very friendly and honest. As previous reviewers have said they are slow sometimes in taking food and drink orders, getting bills etc but this is something that seems to happen throughout the country as everything is in "Fiji-time" - you'll probably be sick of hearing this phrase when you leave!!

The hotel had a good range of food and drink available. Granted the cocktails are expensive ($15) but if you drink the local beer this is cheap. The lunch menu is served right up until 6pm and very tasty and reasonable pizzas are served until 10pm (alongside the dinner menu) so these are options if you want to cut costs. For handiness sake we got the breakfast included option (breakfast is $20 each per day). This may be a little on the expensive side in comparison to the cost of breakfast in a cafe in Nadi but we felt it was handy to have something to start off the day without having to go into Nadi.

I found the hotel was a nice place to chill out by the pool and relax with a few games of tennis and if I was going back to Fiji I would definately stay there again.

One word of warning if you are going into Nadi or Lautoka - some locals seem to have a lot of scams to make money from tourists, including asking your name and writing it on sticks of wood and then asking you to pay for them. This happened to us. Be careful there and also of locals asking you to go to "the shop" - back room shops were strong kava is sold - police in Nadi warned us about tourists being given this and then ripped off.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Emma_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2007

I just wanted to comment on the services at this hotel. The staff actually complained that they did not have enough help in the restaurant. At times people simply got up and left as no one came to help. Perhaps it depends on the time of day. I myself gave up and walked out. The other problem is the bar. Unfortunately there did not seem to be a happy hour. Cocktails were a little over priced for what was delivered. We were told the bar closed at 11 (seems pretty early considering the nature of this hotel as a stopover - 1 or 2 night place) HOWEVER, bartender(s) often started chasing aways customers at 10:30. Guests were advised they could go to their room an order ( I suspect at a higher cost too) And some guests said they were not very friendly. Perhaps the management at the hotel needs to pay closer attention to services such as this, and the behaviour of staff and perhaps the frustation of the staff too. Internet is 7 dollars for 1/2 hr or 14 for 1 hr. There were 2 computers only (no printer). In Nadi - internet cafes are available for half of that price! Seems to be a bit of price gouging going on. The spa at this hotel is ok - but not that relaxing when you hear phones ringing, doors banging etc. It has been a room subdivided on the cheap side. Could be a lot better. I think the management can easily remedy some of these problems with greater attention and customer service training.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tevorolevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2007

Stayed recently with a group of friends, and enjoyed the conveneient location to Nadi and the airport. The staff were very friendly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Good food, and the Tribal dancing show on Saturday night is a wonderful treat and very authentic. Spacious modern rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rollingstone11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2007

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Caroline_and_Timmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank fiji1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elysium73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nadi hotels
2.1 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#9 of 25 in Nadi
1,118 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
1.0 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
0.2 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
1.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nadi

Address: Queens Road, Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Nadi
Price Range: £50 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Nadi 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Nadi is only 3 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes from the town centre. The hotel features 84 rooms in two accommodation wings that overlook the resort style swimming pool, beautiful tropical gardens, a restaurant with alfresco dining on the poolside deck as well as a relaxing and welcoming bar. It is the perfect base for exploring Nadi and the Fijian islands, with easy access to many restaurants, bars and nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Nadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nadi Hotel Nadi
Accor Nadi
Mercure Nadi Fiji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing