We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible experience”
Review of Mercure Nadi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Nadi
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Had to stay here overnight with my partner as our flight was overbooked and its where the airline paid for us to go. The room was dark and dingey and the shower was dirty.There was no hot water either. 2 small towells were given to us which were both very thin!

That night we had dinner in the restaurant, the meals were tasteless and better yet I became horribly sick afterwards!! Lets just say trips to the toilet were plenty and not much sleep was had. I could not eat a thing during the next day and felt extremely nauseas and weak. (vomiting on the plane was an experience too!) There was a stray cat which roamed the restaurant which i didnt really mind but I did see a mouse running around the baracades of the roof. Who knows where it had been leaving its droppings??

As we missed out on our flight the previous day we wanted to get to the airport extra early so we didnt miss out again. Our transfer was 1/2 an hour LATE and turned up just as we were ordering a taxi. This caused us to almost miss our flight again!! (It is not fun running around an airport feeling like your about to be sick)

overall, the dingey room, the horrible food, the food poisoning and the rodents scurrying around the restaurant this was probably the worst place ive ever stayed and i've travelled all over the world! Would NOT suggest this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W0rldyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W, General Manager at Mercure Nadi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Mercure Nadi. Iam sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations in a few areas; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Mercure Nadi, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the issues highlighted and prevent future occurrences.
Thankyou again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Your sincerely
Jack Work

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

540 - 546 of 833 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2012

Thank you ... The hotel is very good location to see Figi
The staff very friendly ....
THANK YOU - all the staff that make our holiday such a memorial ...

Thank you also to the taxi driver at the hotel

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W, General Manager at Mercure Nadi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Nadi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I'am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continously improve the quality of our services.
Thankyou again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Yours sincerely
Jack Work

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Gisborne, New Zealand
1
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I really enjoy staying at the Mecure as it is always clean and tidy and the staff are always very friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have is that there is very little Fijian food on the menu. It would be good to see more of it as when I travel I prefer to eat the local food. I can eat european type food at home so when away I like something different.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W, General Manager at Mercure Nadi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Nadi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I'am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continously improve the quality of our services.
In addition, we will definitely look at options of increasing the local delicacies on our current menu.
Thankyou again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Yours sincerely
Jack Work

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Our stay was for only 1 night early Feb 2011, We stayed in the most basic room the night before we had to fly out to Sydney. We thought just for one night we will stay here. It was so depressing to stay here after coming from an island stay. Our room was something out of the 70's. There was bugs crawling everywhere, no idea what they are but look like little cockroaches. TV remote did not work, reception got another still not working and could only watch 1 channel with very bad reception, I was looking forward to watching some TV and had heard at this hotel that a cyclone was going to hit QLD, heard nothing till we got home. I love air con, but this thing was blasting right on your bed all night, we rang reception but it's controlled centrally we asked for a blanket (can you believe it) none. so we even covered our heads with just the sheet, we didn't sleep all night.

We had a free transfer to the airport provided by the hotel, meet at reception at 5:30AM - WOW for a 9am flight that is a 10min drive away, we were there way to early we had to wait until check in was open.

We are going back to Fiji this end of Jan and have booked at the Sofitel Resort for the night before we fly out.

Room Tip: Maybe an upgraded room is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W, General Manager at Mercure Nadi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Mercure Nadi. I'am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations in a few areas; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Mercure Nadi, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest, therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the issues highlighted.
Thankyou again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Yours sincerely
Jack Work

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pie235
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jack W, General Manager at Mercure Nadi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Would definitely recommend staying at the mercure, but just for 1 or 2 nights. If you are travelling to fiji to see beauty then the location of the mercure isn't great, as its in more of a local/town area rather than touristy or beaches. Although the location itself lets it down, the staff are great and so is the restaurant and the pool. The porter is particularly helpful with luggage and arranging taxis. Wouldn't stay here for a long time mainly just because of location - if you're looking for luxury for a week or so then go to Denerau Island, but if you are looking for a nice place to spend a day or 2 thats close to the airport then mercure is great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W, General Manager at Mercure Nadi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Nadi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. Iam sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thankyou again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Yours sincerely
Jack Work

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I've stayed at the Mercure many times in the last few years, and always found the place clean and well presented.Beds are excellent way above what you expect for this level hotel The staff are fabulous, the service is typical of Fiji .The food is always good especially the pizzas. Location is great just down the road is Jetpoint a large shopping centre where you can pick up anything . Just up the road is the Bounty a good spot for a some live entertainment and a few drinks. Maybe if your lucky you will run into the President of Fiji as he likes to stay here as well ( can't be that bad if he stays )
Prices are very good overall.
Book and enjoy

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranald606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jack W, General Manager at Mercure Nadi, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2012

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Mercure Nadi. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. Iam sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thankyou again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Yours sincerely
Jack Work

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nadi hotels
2.1 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#9 of 25 in Nadi
1,152 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
0.2 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
2.4 mi away
Tanoa International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nadi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nadi

Address: Queens Road, Nadi Airport, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Nadi
Price Range: £47 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Nadi 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Hotel Nadi is only 3 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes from the town centre. The hotel features 84 rooms in two accommodation wings that overlook the resort style swimming pool, beautiful tropical gardens, a restaurant with alfresco dining on the poolside deck as well as a relaxing and welcoming bar. It is the perfect base for exploring Nadi and the Fijian islands, with easy access to many restaurants, bars and nightclubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Nadi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nadi Hotel Nadi
Accor Nadi
Mercure Nadi Fiji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing