We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic staff, service & location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aquarius On The Beach
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I spent 9 days staying at Aquarius On The Beach, i thought each and every staff member treated me like I was apart of their family. Not only were they great at remembering names which makes it a nice personal touch but they were extremely helpful and very friendly. I booked 3 day trips through the hotel. A Jet Ski Safari, Castaway Island and the Robinson Crusoe Island. They were all fantastic and extremely easy to sort out with the hotel.

I made real friendships and bonds with the staff at Aquarius On The Beach, so much so that I got a hug off the staff when I left.

I am planning another trip to Fiji next year to do the Island hopping and I shall definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Thanks for your great review! We're always happy when a guest like you appreciates the extra effort we put into making everyone feel a part of the Aquarius family. We're also glad that you allowed us to help you make arrangements for some day trips to discover our beautiful islands. On your next trip to Fiji, we promise to show you even more of the special hospitality and family atmosphere that makes our hotel so unique. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We booked into this hotel for three nights after a week on the Yasawas and we booked into a standard ensuite room. First impressions when we arrived was a clean, airy hotel but Paul the staff member who checked us in was absolutely lovely and showed us to our room and mad us feel at home. Upon entering the room it was quite dated but we got a balcony (albeit looking over the road & bamboo backpackers) was a bonus & good for drying clothes & towels. The en suite needs updating (the light in the toilet didn't work but they fixed this the next day) but was functional apart from the two cold taps in the shower so made finding the hot water interesting. Whilst we were there it did seem that the hotel was going through some renovations which was promising to see. There was a slight dispute whilst we were there & though this disappointed us the hotel manager directly dealt with us & sorted out the issue quickly & to our satisfaction. The staff in the front of house were amazing and so friendly (Joeli, Sarah & the chefs) and the food was really very good (the Chicken Fettuccine was so yummy!) only thing I would say is the complimentary breakfast of pancakes would be awesome for two days max - after three days it got too much so maybe offer the option of toast or fruit as well as that would have made a big difference especially as the rest of the day the menu was awesome. The outside area was pretty, on the beach & I'm close proximity to Smugglers & Bamboo backpackers which meant we could meet up with travellers we met on the islands but get away from the "party scene" at Smugglers. I feel a few adjustments such as variety of complimentary breakfast, updating the rooms (the tv as well could do with replacing), offering even half hour of free wifi (if they can do it on the islands they can do it on the mainland) and offering a few more towels in the room would have elevated this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Houps17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thanks for your comments! We're happy that you found all of our staff members so helpful and friendly. We're also glad that you appreciated our menu (It really is "awesome"). We try very hard to create a friendly and homey atmosphere for our guests, many of whom return again and again. We take your comments seriously, and are working on updating many of our rooms (which you noted). On your next trip to Fiji, you will find that our hotel has made many improvements, while still maintaining our focus on our unique and very personal customer service. We hope to welcome you back. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at the Aquarius for the first part of our honeymoon and chose the deluxe ocean view room and paid around £50 a night. The room was a little dated, but nevertheless was clean with a beautiful view.

What makes this place so good are the staff - a special mention to Joeli who works in the restaurant bar as he was so friendly and funny! But all staff members were extremely friendly and helpful, which was welcomed after such a long journey from the UK. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone.

We stayed in Nadi for 4 nights, which was probably a little bit too long, but here are our recommendations:
- Seaspray day sailing adventure, which takes you to monuriki island (where castaway was filmed) - this was a great day out in the mamanucas and we saw some of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen.
- Ask the hotel reception for Veejay the taxi driver to take you around Nadi. He took us to the garden of the sleeping giant, the temple and the city centre. He waited around for us to view all the attractions and gave us wise words before we went walking around the town.
- Denarau Marina has lots of nice restaurants etc and is around £10 in a taxi (20 mins).
- We tried a few local restaurants too on Queens rd, and we really enjoyed 'Tu's Place' and 'Bulaccino'. Tu's Place is nothing special inside, but the food is great. Bulaccino had a much nicer setting, also with great food.

We also went next door one day for lunch (Smuggler's cove), and found the staff rude in there, so were glad to return to the Aquarius.

The beach is really nice (but don't expect white sands and clear sea) and the pool is also refreshing on a hot day.

The hotel isn't particularly close to anything, but you will find that in Nadi, everything is quite spread out, so I don't think there really is an ideal location there.

We also stayed at the Raffles Gateway for one night at the end of our holiday, and found it totally impersonal compared to the Aquarius.

Well done to all of the staff here for making our stay a very pleasant one.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is worth paying extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank darbydoo1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Vinaka for your great review! Many thanks for your very positive comments about our hotel. Your comments were very specific which is always helpful for potential guests. Regarding your comment of our rooms being "a little dated", we are in the process of upgrading our rooms but, being a small hotel, we are doing it little by little. Return guests will notice the changes as they stay with us again. We're glad you enjoyed all of the activities there are to do in Nadi, and happy that you chose us as your base to explore and experience our island. We hope you come back to stay with us again on your next visit to our beautiful country. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

This place is of a hotel standard, but at hostel rates? I was in a 6-bed dorm, which if full would have been cramped. Luckily there was only ever a maximum of 4. The room however was clean, and comfortable to stay in.

I stayed for 3 nights, but a word of warning - there's nothing to do in Nadi! However this place is great to stay for close proximity to the airport and port - with free transfers included.

The food was delicious! Many choices for each meal, and every option was really tasty!

But the highlight for me was the staff. So friendly and polite - and they made a real effort to learn my name, and check I'm well.

If you stayed in the private rooms, you'd get a real luxurious experience. Just don't spend more than a day in this area, Nadi's quiet!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
4  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Great review! Thanks for your kind comments on our hotel. We appreciate that you commented positively on the cleanliness and comfort of your room, the quality of our food and the friendliness of our staff. You also commented that there's nothing to do in Nadi. You should have asked our staff for tips on what to do, as the area near our hotel has restaurants, nightclubs, cultural sites and plenty of attractions of interest to many international visitors. Of course everyone's taste is different. We hope we have a chance to host you on your next visit to our beautiful islands. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Fun little Resort on the beach only 10 mins by cab from the a/port, good cheap place to stay at nadi with it's own little beach. Well worth a night or two to kick off Fiji or to end your stay. super helpful and friendly staff. The Kokonda was one of the best I have ever had & I have had many in 28 years to Fiji, the pizza was very ordinary. Plenty of cabs avail at short notice. We will stay again. We had the deluxe room it was adequate but don't expect it to be like a deluxe at a more
expensive property. Nice little pool drink prices very good keep in mind the beach/water in Nadi Bay is not the best around. If yor are into pillows and towels I rate the towels 6/10 and the pillows
6/10. McDonalds is only 7 mins away. Oh and they have a bid deep freezer if you plan on taking frozen fish home.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LouiseandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thanks for your review! We're happy that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the good value of our prices, our convenient location and the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff. We take note of your comments on the pizza (which many other people like) and the towels and pillows. We are in the process of changing out our towels and pillows and we're sorry that it didn't happen before your stay. We hope you stay with us again on your next visit to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I absolutely loved my stay at aquarius. The staff were fantastic and I felt right at home as a solo
Traveller. Plenty of jokes and of course that gorgeous South Pacific smile! The rooms are clean which house keeping maintain daily and most importantly it's secure and quiet at night. This is not a party hostel, you should go next door if this is what you require. The food is delicious, I would recommend the Aquarius chicken followed by a Sex on Ice cocktail prepared by the lovely Loma. The complimentary pancakes served by the hilarious Joey in the morning are perfect before heading off on the many daily tours they offer. My only criticism is the room smelt slight musty and the curtains in the windows in the bathroom could do with replacing. But given the price I've paid and the service received it's nothing to grumble about. I will definitely be returning to Aquarius if in Fiji as it's a fun, cheap, clean and safe hostel. Thanks guys I thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catriona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thanks for your great review! We're so happy that you loved your stay at our hotel. Your comments on our friendly staff, our delicious food and our secure, relaxing atmosphere is exactly the goal we strive for. No, we're not a party hotel but, as you mentioned, we make some pretty great cocktails! We take note of your comments on your room and this is being addressed immediately. We have been refurbishing our rooms one by one and the one where you stayed is next up for upgrading. We look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to our beautiful islands. Vinaka vakalevu! (thank you very much)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights before island hopping and it was a nice place to start our Fiji holiday. The free airport pick up is an added bonus and our driver was ready and waiting. We arrived very early in the morning but were able to check in straight away, although we were directed to the wrong room and ended up waking someone up. The room was very average, not the cleanest but ok. The pool area and bar is nice and the staff are friendly. The free pancake breakfast is really good! They ask you not to eat or drink in your room which is a bit extreme but seems pretty standard in Fiji.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank BackpackinBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AquariusOnBeach, Owner at Aquarius On The Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thanks for your review. We're glad that you found our hotel a good place to start your Fiji holiday. I apologise for the confusion you mentioned on your checkin. We investigated this. Your checkin happened before our office opened at 6am, and our usual night clerk was off, leaving only the night watchman. He somehow directed you to the wrong room. We have addressed this issue though so it should never happen again, but please accept our apology. Thanks also for your positive comments on our free breakfast and our pool and bar areas. We hope you come back to visit us again on your next trip to Fiji. Vinaka vakalevu (thank you very much).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.1 mi away
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
2 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
2.3 mi away
Novotel Nadi
Novotel Nadi
#9 of 25 in Nadi
1,154 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius On The Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius On The Beach

Address: 17 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Newtown, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nadi
#2 Spa Hotel in Nadi
Price Range: £27 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aquarius On The Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nadi's Hidden Gem! Winner of the 2015 Fiji Excellence in Tourism Award (for Budget Accommodation). Nestled right on Wailoaloa Beach, Aquarius On The Beach is a small, family-owned boutique hotel where we make every guest feel special. A 15 minute drive from Nadi International Airport, Aquarius On The Beach offers something for everyone. Internet is FREE for all guests, either through WiFi, which is available throughout the property. Enjoy our refreshing swimming pool or dine in our widely acclaimed restaurant where the menu offers both variety and value. Enjoy quality wine at sunset on the private balconies of our ocean view rooms or read your novel in the privacy of your deluxe or standard room balcony, or enjoy the air conditioned comfort in our clean, tidy rooms. With all of our rooms, you are getting one of the best values in Nadi - Beachfront at a Budget Price! Our Tour Desk can also help organise your entire stay in Fiji, giving you choices that fit your needs and your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aquarius On The Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius On The Beach Hotel Nadi
Aquarius On The Beach Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing