We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We stayed for just one night . The room itself was fine - clean with a comfortable bed. It had a small balcony with two chairs which were not too clean.
The reception was not welcoming. The restaurant staff were friendly and the tour lady was very helpful giving us information about travelling to nananu i ra.
We paid 62 GB pounds for the room and felt the facilities didn't live up tp the price.
Food was very average.
This is probably a good place for backpackers of which there were many, but not good for older travellers expecting hotel service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keeganGreshamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cynrenabi, Director of Sales at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2011

Bula Robman,
We thank you for your feedback. This can only help refine our product and services. The resort was primarily a backpacker resort. Recently, we did aquire the new beachwing that has all the facilities and atmosphere befitting older travellers who appreciate exclusivity and a calm atmosphere.
We hope that we will consider returning again as we would make it our business to address your comfort requirements promptly and efficiently.

We hope that you had a great time during the rest of your stay in Fiji.

Vinaka and kind regards,

Director of Sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 807 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2011

Having recently graduated college my girlfriend and I were looking for an affordable hotel to stay at. We came across Smugglers in a travel booklet and decided to book the stay. The staff was incredibly friendly. The restaurant food was much better than expected, and the location while being on the unflattering main island was still amazing. Each night there was something different going on at the hotel, and the other guests were from all demographics. They contracted taxis to always be at the hotel, and it was just minutes from the airport. Again i can say enough about the staff, extremely friendly and welcoming. Cheap enough for backpackers as they have dorms, and rooms good enough for those looking for a good affordable hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robman2ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We booked a garden view room. Turns out the hostel was in the process of constructing 2 large apartment buildings on either side. One of the buildings just needs the internal part done, while the other one is in the concept stage. Our “garden” view room (125 FJD) looked out over what used to be a garden area, but was now an unfinished apartment building. The ocean view rooms cost either 165 FJD, indirect view, or 195 FJD, direct view.

The hostel's airport shuttle picks up and drops off. They have a mini laundromat with 2 machines each for drying and washing. One load, including soap, cost 12 FJD. They charged for wireless internet and had a room with 9 computers for guest use with a pre-paid card. The front desk personnel was friendly but didn't have very much information. The tour desk staff was only friendly if you booked something, and wasn't very happy about answering questions for free. There was a small convenience shop offering toiletries, telephone and internet cards, and souvenirs. The owner wasn't happy with small purchases and pushed anything at which a browser looked.

Our room was very spartan with a metal bunk bed, double on the bottom and twin up top. Both spring mattresses were terribly uncomfortable, as it felt like sleeping directly on springs with a layer of cloth in between. The mattresses also had metal springs as the base support. The whole thing squeaked loudly with any motion, whether sitting down, rolling over, or laying something down. The room was fairly large, with a closet and hangers, fridge, safe, ironing board and iron, coffee/tea and electric pot. There was a TV, AC, 2 chairs and a table, writing desk, a reading light over the double bed, and the bathroom was nice-sized with an enclosed walk-in shower, hot/cold water, large single-sink counter, and supplies of shampoo, conditioner, and soap. While the room was clean, the price was high, especially in comparison to surrounding hostels, which were similar in room size, views were better, and beds nicer. The hostel is one of the larger ones in that area, and there were lots of loud, drunk partying men roaming the halls.

There was a restaurant/bar, which served customers inside and by the pool, just back from the ocean. The hostel opened up to the ocean with a private beach, volleyball net, chairs and lounge chairs, and the pool was good-sized. The restaurant/bar offered meals all day. The lunch we ate was fixed in a kitchen that opened up to the lobby, and the cooks could be watched as they worked. My “teriyaki” fish was actually served with soy sauce, and very salty. The club sandwich that my spouse ordered was large, and it came with more french fries than he could eat. We ate the included continental breakfast, which consisted of 3 types of cereal, white toast, jam/butter, coffee/tea, but no fruit.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2010

great place to start and finish visit to Fiji, you do not need long here though, as not much to do. The dorm is huge and people coming and going all night so cannot sleep too well. But the private rooms are great, it is worth the extra money!

Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
Thank KellyBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

This place is fine for traveling students and backpackers but that's it .. if you're over 30 or with your family forget it. Don't plan on sleeping soundly if you're in the dorm but what else can you expect for such a cheap rate? It is ESSENTIAL that you bring an eye mask and ear plugs to sleep, everyone here had them. This place is teeming with young people and provides a clean bed. I felt like my belongings were safe even if I didn't stow them into my locker. Wear your flip flops in the shower. The staff is ok, helpful enough. I ate in the restaurant each night and it wasn't half bad. The lady at the tour desk pushes you to the tours with the highest commission for her regardless of what you ask for - you're probably better off booking your excursions online. BRING BUG SPRAY! You need it at night if you're going to be outside. The private single rooms upstairs are lovely and clean but more expensive. This place wasn't amazing but I wasn't expecting it to be .. I just needed a place to crash for a few nights while visiting the islands. Here's a secret tip: all of the hotels on Denerau Island are OPEN to the public so you can feel free to use their facilities (ie - lounging at the pool, etc) for free as long as you don't publicize it.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedParade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I stayed here for one night before heading to the islands. The beach is horrible, water is muggy and gross and not beautiful at all compared to anywhere else in fiji! We booked our travel to the other islands with the travel agent at this hotel and though she was helpful at the time, she screwed us over completely in relation to what we booked!! We paid deposits to the hotel for boat transfers and accomodation at other islands and our boat transfers never showed!! Stupid travel agent forgot to send our bookings in so we ended up getting screwed travelling to other islands for our bookings. When we went back to the hotel before leaving for the airport to get our refund they owed to us, the lady was hiding and the front desk refused to call her or get her to come talk to us, telling us she was on lunch and they couldnt find her!
ON TOP OF THAT, I had left 2 items of nice clothing in the closet by accident and came back to the hotel to claim them and they said they had never been found and they werent in the lost and found. I asked them to please ask the maids if they had seen them or maybe taken them and they claimed thye didnt know which maids cleaned which rooms, and that they didnt have my clothes and thats that! Completely disrespectful and clearly the maids have stolen my clothes!
DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bree18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed in both a private room and the dorms. Private room was excellent. I do think it's unfair that the dorms are advertised as 4-beds. All the beds are in one room. However, they are nice, comfortable, clean, air-conditioned and quiet. Great staff, so friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant is very good value. (I do recommend Blue Lagoon round the corner for dinner though - absolutely superb food.) It's right on the beach, plenty of activities, and a great atmosphere. Really liked it here!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
2.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
3.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,261 reviews
54.1 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: 13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
#3 Spa Hotel in Nadi
Price Range: £19 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Cove is a newly built 3 1/2 star rated beachfront resort centrally located on renowned Wailoaloa Beach at Nadi Bay & a comfortable 15 minutes drive from Nadi International Airport, Port Denarau Marina & Nadi Town. The popular Ghost Ship Bar & Grill offers great local & international fare at reasonable prices along with stunning sunsets and ocean views from the beachfront deck dining area. If you are looking for suitable Nadi accommodation that has a fun, inter-cultural atmosphere along with clean comfortable rooms and Free High Speed Wi-Fi Smugglers Cove really is the place to be....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort And Hotel
Smugglers Cove Beach Hotel Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing