We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good and the bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

When I arrived In Nadi my transport took me to my hotel. upon checking in my "premium room" led me to a cramped corner room next to the cleaners closet. and my beach view room had a view of the gravel filled carpark. The second night I found my room infested with tiny spiders. a quick call to reception and they whisked me up to the luxury apartment on the top floor for the night. in the morning they moved me finally to a nice room with a view of the ocean for no extra charge.
the only other bad points were that you only get 1 free breakfast included, but otherwise the staff were exceptionally friendly, the nightly entertainment was great, especially the Kava nights. (great way to make friends if travelling alone) the tour desk will help you book all sorts of day trips and overnight stays all over the country. food was great though a little pricey.
all in all Id say its a lovey place to stay, close to Nadi town ($8 taxi ride or $1 bus ride) any problems and the staff are willing to help you, and will answer any questions about fiji.
a great base to relax after trips out to the islands, and just sit on the beach watching the sunset while drinking amazing cocktails (or delicious Vonu lager) and I would definately stay there again (though I'd book directly and make sure I get an ocean view next time rather than through a travel agent.)

Room Tip: contact the hotel directly to organise an
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    299
    181
    83
    61
See reviews for
77
277
179
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed here straight off the plane and again the night before we flew out. The airport pick up was handy but they waited until they had a full bus before leaving, an organised taxi would have been more expensive but worth it. Staff were very helpful, we stayed on the old side and the new side, the new side was of a much higher standard. Location on the beach is good and pleasant, and food served is a little expensive but nice. No negative points, but no reason to choose it again over all others in the area. Everyone in Fiji seems to know about smugglers cove, which may make it easier to organise transfers.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T_diddy
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Smugglers Cove

My partner and I stayed in the Pirates Dorm. Our first night in the dorm went like any other; it was upon waking up that things went very sour and led to the most ridiculous day of the entire trip up to now (of over 4 months) We were woken up by staff and told we had to leave the room now. The man told us that there was a ‘problem with the room’. We didn’t have time to ask questions as he shot off straight away.

We obliged and packed our things and headed to the reception a little confused. We were told that there was an issue with bedbugs and we would have to move rooms for one night before returning. Fair enough we thought, it shouldn’t be too much hassle. The female member of staff told us that we had to move to the next building to another room and that we had to take all our bags up to the roof for the housemaids to check.

We realised that we did have a fair few bedbug bites on the both of us. We were sure it wasn’t us who had brought the bugs as we had been in Fiji for three weeks and always stayed in nicer places in private double rooms. This was our first dorm in Fiji, and we had gotten bites.

A man from the reception came with us to the new building. He took us to our new room and put our bags in there. When we told him that we thought we had to take our bags to the roof he said, ‘No its fine now you don’t need to’. We questioned his response as we didn’t want to bring any bedbugs into our new room and infect the new room. He hesitated and stumbled and had no idea what to say. He left and we decided to go up to the roof to see what was happening. It turned out that nothing was happening and the roof was empty.

We returned to the reception in the first building getting a little annoyed with the situation. We were told again that we did indeed have to take our things to the roof for the housemaids to see. When we told them that no one was up there we were told to follow a small female cleaner back to the roof. We got back to our new room to collect our bags and realised it had started raining. We asked the lady what was going to happen. She again hesitated, and said she would go ask. We waited for 15 minutes with no return. We never saw her again.

Another reception visit was met with the same incompetent staff that didn’t know what was actually happening. After around 10 minutes of our questions being answered with blank looks, the receptionist picked up the phone and let us speak to the head housekeeper. We were getting quite annoyed by this stage. My partner was insistent that some clear action be taken. The woman on the phone told her that they had checked the beds last night and there were no bugs, and today there are, therefore it is our fault! (If it was only us, then how did they know to evacuate the room, as we were asleep in our beds?) Obvious lies when she didn’t know what to say. We were told that she would come and sort it out.

Luckily for the staff, the rain passed and their ‘strategy’ could continue.

The head housekeeper was able to talk to us better and provide answers, but only in the fact that her answers were lies. I asked where everyone else in the dorm had gone and why no one’s stuff was on the roof. She told us that everyone else had checked out. All 30 of them? Yeah, right. We’d seen several of them ourselves wandering around the resort since leaving the dorm and heard two at the reception asking what they should do with their bags in connection with the bedbugs. I also told her that the small housekeeper had just disappeared on us earlier, she let out a smile before hiding it and told us that she ‘had some problems and had to go home’.

Upon hearing these blatant lies we started to get agitated and so when we got to the empty roof again we said we knew that other people were still here and why has no one else come up. (We knew the answer: because the guy who helped moved the bags across to the new rooms told them all not to bother and keep their bags, just like he did with us.) Obviously she wasn’t going to admit fault so she then told us that we were the only ones who had bedbugs and everyone else was fine! It’s pretty irrelevant who actually brought bedbugs in but we were fairly sure that we didn’t as we had just stayed in a private double room for five nights in a nice resort on the Coral Coast and had no bites at all. To be told that only we had caused this was pure conjecture, not to mention downright rude. If it was only us who were infected then who made them aware that the room had bedbugs, as it wasn’t us? Plus they hadn’t even had time yet to check all 32 beds and find out which had bugs or not.

We spent the next hour having to empty our backpacks to hang all our clothes up on a washing line which would apparently get rid of any bugs. We asked if we could get some tokens for the washing machines to perhaps wash/dry them to get rid of any bugs. We were told we would have to pay for the tokens.

We decided to use the internet to find out if just hanging our clothes up in 20 degree C heat with passing rain would do anything. It turns out that gradual temperature increase would help them spread and only heat of over 45 degrees Celsius would kill them off. We were told that we and the articles online we all wrong. We decided to get our clothes back down and pay the 12 dollars to wash them ourselves anyway.

Our new 4 bed dorm had a broken bathroom light that meant you were in total darkness. That took over an hour and around 4 requests to be sorted. We had to go back and forth to the reception about 10 times to complain. The staff never once apologised and treated us like an inconvenience. We didn’t like having to complain, we often put it off for a while as we didn’t want to go back again and again.

Our entire day was spent messing around dealing with around 8 different members of incompetent staff, all because we were the only ones to question the process of just moving our possibly infected things to a new room without treating them with anything. Everyone else just moved their things to a new dorm for one night and then moved back to the main dorm. We insisted that we stay in the new 4 bed dorm as we could see what would happen in the main dorm again.

It was 3:30pm in the afternoon when we finally got to sit down in our new beds. What a day in paradise.

The sign on the Pirate Dorm door said that it was closed due to a planned monthly procedure to check for bugs. If it was planned and monthly - why book everybody in the room and make them leave in the morning? We’ve never seen a place so full of lies.

We were told that it was an on-going problem at Smugglers Cove and it happens a lot. We can see why, as they have no idea whatsoever on how to deal with the situation. Nobody was in charge or had a clear strategy on what to do. We ourselves could see how their method wasn’t going to solve the problem but we were then lied to and accused of being the source of the problem, which still doesn’t actually solve it.

The next day we saw a housemaid come to change the sheets of the 2 opposite beds in our new dorm. The sheets were changed but the actual duvet cover was not changed at all; it was just folded back up for the new customer. This is bad in any resort on hygiene & cleanliness grounds, but this is especially bad in the current situation concerning bedbugs in the hostel.

We would not recommend staying at Smugglers Cove purely because after the smiley ‘Bula!’ the staff are a collective disaster; they’re incompetent, rude, have zero customer service skills & lie to get around issues.

Room Tip: free wifi and cheaper alcohol across the road at bamboo which is a more fun hostel anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_Killeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
floviti, Director of Sales at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2011
Bula Baller T & T Diddy,
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. The issue of bed bugs has only been of concern to us 4 months of late. Since we have a high turnover of Guests in the Pirates dorm, we steam spray the dorms, mattresses and bed frames at least 4 times a month if occupancy allows. The jist of what I get from your complaint is that you were LIED to and intentionally taken for a ride. Please allow me to reinstate, that as much as we admit that all our staff do not share 100% literacy skills, they all are genuine at heart. At times because some a shy, they cannot effectively communicate.

While we do apologise for the inconvenience of having to move, note that it was 10am was check-out time and you were still asleep. So you were kindly UPGRADED to a more private dorm because it was ESSENTIAL that we continued our bed bugs eradication. Also, we apologise for the different feedbacks you were getting from staff. The housekeeper responsible to move you had to excuse herself due to personal reasons. She rushed home and did not effectively handover your move to her colleagues.

Just for your information, we had only 4 occupants in the larger dorm that day, including the 2 of you and not 30 like you presumed it to be. Our records which are legal source documents are a testament to this. For hygiene issues you have bought up, thank you immensly. We will follow-up with the staff concerned.

We are essentially sorry for your experience. We do hope that you will visit us again when time and tide permits. We wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Nadi hotels

Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

No complaints except for noise. The walls seems paper thin, we could hear our annoying neighbor on the phone in the middle of the night.

They make an effort here to give people some 'traditional' experiences. Kava night, fire dancing night. It's all good fun and there is a dive school on sight who will either take you out diving or train you in the pool.
If it's your first trip abroad and you need a soft place to land I'd say a few nights here could be good for you. Dont expect post card beaches though. Go to the islands for that.

We had a deluxe balcony room which had TV, aircon, ensuit, king bed and an average view. The bed was grrrreat.
The local bus stops out the front on the hour and that is a whole lot of fun.
Close to the airport, close to town. Good enough

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dislexicon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

After landing in Nadi...very rainy day!! the taxi took us to Smugglers Cove where we had an amazing dinner & good local beer.
then a spectacular dancing show!
you need to see the sunset....good start before hopping the Yasawa Islands.
Bula!!
alberto

Room Tip: well,at dorms the beds are very close each other..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betour11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We came to Fiji to do some island hopping. When we first arrived we booked into a backpackers lodge Horizon. This place was awful! Given that it wasn't the cheapest of backpackers lodges you really were paying for more than you got. It didn't have aircon in the 'upgraded' double room we'd paid for. Thankfully we arrived late the first night and only had to stay one more night before we were heading off island hopping. The only positive thing about Horizon was the sister hotel/ backpacker lodge next door called Smugglers Cove. You were allowed to use the facilities here so we decided when we returned to the main island we would book into here.

We made our booking on the morning of our penultimate day on one of the islands. We arrived into Smugglers Cove late the next evening, tired and soo looking forward to aircon and a nice shower as we'd opted for quite a rustic island hopping trip for the last 10 days. We were told that despite the fact we had booked into Smugglers for 3 nights the first night would have to be spent in Horizon. When I explained, no we had specifically booked Smugglers and stated in the notes section that we did not want to stay in Horizon as there was not aircon, the woman snaps, yes it does have aircon. My husband and I explained that we had already paid for a double room at Horizon before our island hopping trip and they didn't have aircon... it was only the large dorms that did! The woman then started to smirk, as if she'd known this all along but obviously hadn't bargained that we would have already stayed here.

We ended up standing at reception for about 45 minutes arguing about this, as the room option we had paid for in Smugglers was to be an upgraded premium sea view room, and they weren't offering to refund any of the difference in the cost. We had to repeatedly request for the manager before she eventually arrived, and within 10 minutes the matter is sorted as another couple hadn't turned up for their booking! (I appreciate this may seem a tad petty given that it's a backpackers and a hotel however, when you've been backpacking for ten months and decide to splash out, you really grudge getting ripped off and refused any kind of refund! Even if it is only £20-£30 you are talking about!)

Despite all of this, the rooms in Smugglers were great, nice and clean with comfy beds... although probably not worth paying for a sea view, it was more of a view of a building site with a partial sea view if you put your head out the window and looked round! The food was nice and the bar staff really friendly and attentive! The staff were otherwise very helpful and it was a really nice place to spend our last few days in Fiji! I would still recommend Smugglers despite the problems we had checking in as a good place to stay between island hopping if you're not wanting a basic room. However, if we were going again I think I'd be happier to spend a bit more for one of the other hotels!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

After two weeks staying on the Fijian islands, smugglers cove was like a bit of luxury. at the equivelant of about £9 a night i was not expecting much, but the dorm was very clean, showers etc good. The 32 bed dorm could have been a nightmare, but it was split into sections with lockers and individual lights so sleeping was not really a problem! the restaurant was also very useful, and the pool area nice in the day.

Overall, a great place to stay pre and post islands especially with free transfers to the marina. However the one down side is there is not a lot to do, which means it can get a bit boring in the day especially when the sun goes in- i would recommend 2 nights maximum.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helena333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
387 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,128 reviews
14.3 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
1.0 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Property: Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Address: 13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
#3 Spa Hotel in Nadi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Cove is a newly built 3 1/2 star rated beachfront resort centrally located on renowned Wailoaloa Beach at Nadi Bay & a comfortable 15 minutes drive from Nadi International Airport, Port Denarau Marina & Nadi Town. The popular Ghost Ship Bar & Grill offers great local & international fare at reasonable prices along with stunning sunsets and ocean views from the beachfront deck dining area. If you are looking for suitable Nadi accommodation that has a fun, inter-cultural atmosphere along with clean comfortable rooms and Free High Speed Wi-Fi Smugglers Cove really is the place to be....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort And Hotel
Smugglers Cove Beach Hotel Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing