We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Nadi
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This place is not your typical backpackers. It is in a great location on the beach. The bar downstairs has a great atmosphere. I can see that it could get quite noisy on busy nights and if you had an ocean view room, as these would be closest to the bar area. The rooms are very basic , but as expected in this price point. Overall i was really pleased with the one night i spent at this resort, and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigbaz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

472 - 478 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I have stayed here for one week, leaving in the morning and highly recommend this resort for backpackers, family or retirees. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, the food is excellent and the views are lovely across Nadi Bay. We had a pleasurable week, seeing the sights and the staff were very helpful with our questions.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in a room with a double bed and we had no view but we didnt mind because the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 337Jinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for this wonderful feedback from your recent visit at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort, Fiji. I am delighted to hear that different aspects of our services and surroundings made such a positive impression on you, during your stay.
I will make sure your kind review is shared among our team and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family to our resort in future .
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

It was called a Premium Garden Room, and the photo showed 2 double beds. What we got was up a flight of steps, a bunk bed, iron bars over the windows that looked over the carpark. When I queried I was informed that I had the right room. No hot water in the shower, no sheet on the top bunk. And the place was grubby. Worst room I have stayed in ever. The one point comes from the nice Fijians who picked us up at the airport after our late arrival. The location is great, so I could only recommend for dorms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank TazTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The resort has a lovely beachside setting, also the staff are very friendly and welcoming. We stayed here for two nights before heading out to the Yasawa islands. Unfortunately our first night coincided with the last night of a large New Zealand group who partied late right outside our room until after 1am. After travelling nonstop from Perth, Australia overnight we had very little sleep on our first night. Though we did enjoy our time here, travelling to Nadi by bus and eating two good meals at the restaurant on both nights. Breakfasts were basic but nice. This is a good value for money resort.

Room Tip: Book a room towards the back of the resort, away from the bar area. As the noise carries upwards to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Due to Turtle Airways seaplane breaking down we were put up here for one night this July. I can say that this place either needs to be pulled down or shut for a year for a major remake. A disgusting, cockroach infested, hole. The staff appeared to be bored and not that friendly. The plumber that services this ruin must have shares with a silicone sealer company as the bathroom was full of it. Plaster was used to fill a hole left by the shower pipe being loose. Tiles in the bathroom had so many cracks it looked like a design. The space outside our window was full of trash, noisy air conditioning units drone all night, and due to the international airport being just a kilometer down the road, sleep was a luxury. The owners of this resort should be ashamed. Nuff said. DO NOT BOOK HERE.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fijilovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smugglers C, Guest Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to put your review on Smugglers Cove Beach resort while this was not in your travel itinerary from the first place. Before I elaborate on the issues that you have mentioned about the Property I would generously remind that Smugglers Cove beach Resort is a 3.5 star backpacking resort and your expectation for it to be a 5 star is unacceptable. You were re-directed to us by the airline staff when they should have booked you in a 4-5 star resort to cover for what you Prepaid for your first night.

We have got great feedback from our past travelers and most of them have been a returnee guest as they are so much in love with our service and staff. Since you did not had a great time since you arrived into the country with your island transfers you were upset and you felt that our staffs were boring and not friendly at all. Our staffs are our pride and they make smugglers atmosphere friendly.

Your review is found disconcerting. Hope you had a great time at your preferred destination after all and wish you would choose the right hotel of your expectation in the coming future.

Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We didn't have the best time at smugglers, the staff seemed like they didn't care and more that once were quite rude. We had an awful experience in the restaurant with a staff member, although the food was good. The bathrooms were really grotty, clearly had not been cleaned after the last guests left. The second transit night we stayed, the staff were rude again. One weird thing about Smugglers, or so we were told, was that we could only get one towel, even though there were 2 of us, and we had booked 2 beds. Perhaps if you are travelling with one or more other people, book separately so you get a towel. Overall, pretty disappointed with the place and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N0l4Belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smugglers C, Public Relations Manager at Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking out your precious time and writing about your experience here with us. If we get back to our past reviews about our property and get the opinion and the experience in smugglers in a WOW. Holiday without the mood turns out to be negative in every way.
Our staffs are our pride and they make this smugglers environment a place to be, very friendly and very caring. Great to hear that you had a great taste of the food while been here. Clean towels are given to each person during the stay as this is the policy and your comment on the towels is unjustified.
On behalf of the team we would like to thank you for choosing smugglers cove as one of your holiday destination and wish you all the very best to the next destination in future.
Vinaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Really enjoyed our time there, really friendly staff, one of whom invited us to have a traditional meal with her and her family. The only thing is that it is very isolated, great location on the beach, but it was far away, and hard to get around. Seems to me that the really amazing parts of Fiji are the islands, and the next time i go i think i will bounce around the islands instead.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nadi
0.1 mi away
Aquarius On The Beach
2 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
0 mi away
Tropic of Capricorn
Tropic of Capricorn
#3 of 25 in Nadi
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Nadi Bay Resort Hotel
54.1 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
995 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel

Address: 13 Wasawasa Road | Wailoaloa Beach, Nadi Bay, Nadi, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Nadi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Nadi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nadi
Price Range: £16 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smugglers Cove is a newly built 3 1/2 star rated beachfront resort centrally located on renowned Wailoaloa Beach at Nadi Bay & a comfortable 15 minutes drive from Nadi International Airport, Port Denarau Marina & Nadi Town. The popular Ghost Ship Bar & Grill offers great local & international fare at reasonable prices along with stunning sunsets and ocean views from the beachfront deck dining area. If you are looking for suitable Nadi accommodation that has a fun, inter-cultural atmosphere along with clean comfortable rooms and Free High Speed Wi-Fi Smugglers Cove really is the place to be....... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smugglers Cove Beach Hotel Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort And Hotel
Smugglers Cove Beach Nadi
Smugglers Cove Beach Resort & Hotel Fiji/Nadi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing