We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stop on the way to Suva” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vakaviti

Vakaviti
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vakaviti
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
388 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
“Great stop on the way to Suva”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We headed down to Vakaviti for 3 nights after having spent 2 weeks out on the islands and found it a nice change of scenery and a great way to break up the journey between Nadi and Suva.
To get to Vakaviti from Denarau Marina you need to get a taxi for $10 to Nadi bus terminal, or you can get a bus for much less and then at the terminal there will be a couple of bus options heading in the Suva direction and will stop in Korotogo for you. Our bus cost us $6 each then for the 1 ½ journey. You have to make sure though to tell them you want to stop in Korotogo or even at Vakaviti as they will drive straight through otherwise. We told our first driver but then in Sigatoka the drivers changed and our stop hadn’t been written down so they drove right past and we didn’t realise for a while. To get to Suva then it is another $10.40 from Sigatoka
We stayed in the double motel room at Vakaviti for $80 per night and found it to be really nice, clean and spacious. You have a private bathroom, kitchen facilities and a swimming pool right on your doorstep.
If you want to eat out or have a drink there are plenty of cheap places along the sea front or if you wanted to buy your own food there is a $1 Coastal Transport bus that will take you into Sigatoka where there is a few large supermarkets. Between 1.30 and 2.30 the drivers go on lunch break so there is no buses and the ones immediately after are rammed. You can get a taxi back from Sigatoka for only $8 though if necessary.
Kula Eco Park is also only a 10min walk away and you can easily spend an hour or so in there although the $26 entrance is a little pricey. To get there, walk left out of Vakaviti and along the beach until you get to Outrigger On The Lagoon Resort, walk through it and through the underpass to the other side of the main road and you are there basically.
Overall the place could do with a little touching up as a few things are starting to crack but if we were in Korotogo again we wouldn’t have to think twice about staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    4
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

This place is definitely a great place to stay. Karen is such a lovely lady. She'll take you practically anywhere for free if she can. She's incredibly helpful and kind. I stayed in the private room as the dorm was really small. Definitely worth the money. You get a nice double bed and bunk bed (ideal if you're sharing with others), a small kitchenette and bathroom. Its not the most modern or centrally located but the room is neat and cosy and overlooks the pool and just beyond you can see the sea. You can feel your heartbeat slowing down as soon as you get there. Maybe thats just part of 'Fiji time'! Dont bother going to the flashy, extorionate hotels with their generic guests wanting some poor schmuck to bring them a third grade cocktail by the tourist infested pool. Go here for a real break. Mind the dogs though! They like to tag along for van rides :) Oh and FREE wifi!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrustMeImATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

The most amazing lady manages this motel and she was so helpful and informative - even providing transport for us to the next town in her rattly old minivan. The room (there are 4) was spacious and we were able to self cater with basic facilities and a lovely pool - if a little cold . Its a shame that the place is up for sale and therefore a bit neglected in terms of facilities. The internet was sporadic at best!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyworld2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

small dorm with one shower/toilet, own kitchen - inside the dorm!
nice pool area, needs more sunbeds!
location right on beach road, not the greatest beach. no restaurant but can walk to others close by. good for a night or two to chill out.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThePhotoLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
0.1 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#5 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crow's Nest
The Crow's Nest
#1 of 1 in Korotogo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
8.1 mi away
Gecko's Resort
Gecko's Resort
#4 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vakaviti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vakaviti

Property: Vakaviti
Address: Korotogo, Sigatoka, Viti Levu ., Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Sigatoka
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Vakaviti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vakaviti Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing