We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 4 June 2011

There are plenty of other reviews so I won't replicate what's already been said, but we thought this place was absolutely amazing. Beautiful beach, lovely, lovely, lovely facilities, gorgeous room, helpful staff, not terrible prices in the bar/restaurant (not as cheap as you'd get locally I'm sure, but there we go!... although breakfast was a bit expensive - about 15GBP per person for a full english, 10GBP per person for a continental), all you could want for a luxury holiday.

One word - if you're coming here looking to use this as a base to travel elsewhere, unless you've got a car it's probably not a great spot. We wanted three days of relaxation and this was perfect for that, but we would have felt a little couped up if we'd stayed for two weeks.

Our only complaint was that the activities that were posted for the day did not seem to always run... some of them did, but others didn't, and it was hard to find out why or what had happened.

Also... have a search for family and friends rates before you book!

Hard to describe this place without visiting, but it really is a magnificent hotel.

Room Tip: Use Friends and Family discount!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Fiji, General Manager at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear you liked our hotel location especially the beautiful beach, the hotel facilities and our helpful staff. Thanks for bringing to our attention the daily activities we post on the board for our guests and will certainly share this with our team to look into. With regards to the Friends and Family discount you mentioned, please note that this rate is not available on our website as it is only extended to employees of Intercontinental Hotels Group which allows them to book for their families and friends on this rate. Should you need more clarification on this rate or any other information on our hotel, please do not hesitate to contact our team at enquiries.fiji@interconti.com and they will be happy to guide you through.

Kind regards,
Scott Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,635
    605
    189
    55
    36
See reviews for
896
1,066
48
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (860)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights after 4 nights at Denarau. Over the years we have been to Fiji dozens of times but hadn't been for 10 years. What a difference ten years makes! The sombre grey buildings of the InterContinental were a bit of a shock on arrival but that's the ONLY negative reaction to the whole place. We dined at all three restaurants and loved the food. We had booked a Lagoon Room but received an upgrade to a Beach Room. At hotels we usually go for a 1 bedroom apartment because we like the extra room and were a bit concerned that we might find the room we booked to be bit small. No need to worry! The rooms are excellent, probably the best straight hotel rooms we have experienced to date. Loved the bathroom arrangement but best feature was the balcony which must be about 3 metres wide by 10 metres long. You can open up the huge sliding doors between the room and the balcony and you get an amazing amount of space. There's a double day bed on one end of th balcony and a Cleopatra Bath on the other end, plus coffee table, comfortable lounge chair and a little stool as well, and still plenty of room. You can screen off the whole balcony by means of a bank of louvres and a heavy curtain if you want privacy. They provide candles beside the balcony bath and even provide a box of matches to light them.
After Denarau we were hoping there wouldn't be too many kids around (it wasn't school holidays but there were heaps of little kids around at Denarau). There were quite a few kids at The InterCon but they have great kids' facilities so you can get away from the kids if you want to. Great adults only pool. Not a little "after-thought" like you find in some resorts tucked away behind somewhere, but a beautiful big horizon pool right on the sea front.
We went up to the golf course for lunch (unfortunately didn't get to have a round) but the view up there is great and the lunch pretty good.
Everything works well at the InterCon. We had a small problem with the room when we arrived and that was sorted out very quickly. Any requests were followed up by the staff efficiently. Looks like the place is well managed.
3 nights was not enough!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noosafella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Fiji, General Manager at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 9 June 2011
Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your 3 night’s stay with us. I am glad you liked the hotel facilities especially the beachfront room arrangement, the pools and kids facilities. Happy to hear you loved the food in all three restaurants and also enjoyed the lunch and great view up at the Golf course. It is our goal to consistently provide great customer service so we are glad to hear everything met your expectation. Thanks for your wonderful feedback and we hope to see you returning in future to enjoy a longer stay with us next time. We look forward to welcome you back, do not hesitate to contact reservations.fiji@interconti.com when you decide to return and our team will be happy to assist you with your next booking.

Kind regards,
Scott Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinny26
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This is a big new resort and it has plenty of positives, location (stunning beach), facilites are outstanding, staff are excellent but also has a few negatives. Number one it is a little pricey compared to other resorts, food is very average and also that it is a large resort so make sure you get a room close to pool and beach (tiring walking up and down the hill if you are up the back like us).

Staff is number one at this resort, R2 and Taz down at water activities are brilliant and helped us out a few times. Liousa (not sure how to spell that one) at the bar in Mana is outstanding, and the boys who run the activities at the beach are good fun people and help make the stay very relaxing as well as having a laugh. Food is the only real shame, just very bland and not what you expect from a 5 star resort and i am not a fussy eater by any means but that is clutching at straws to find a downside, overall it is a very good resort and really does feel like paradise. If you have never been to Fiji then believe me it is worth the trip just to meet the amazing people, keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Get a Bure somewhere near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chinny26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Fiji, General Manager at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear Chinny,

Thanks for your feedback. We are happy to hear you liked our hotel location especially the beautiful beach and excellent facilities. Thanks for your comments on our staff and they will be thrilled to hear you find their friendliness and service excellent at the resort. Your comments on the food has been taken on board and shared with our team for improvement. However, you may like to know that we have started off with changes to our Toba Bar & Grill menu offering daily specials and we hope to consistently improve on our food menus. Thanks for recommending our resort to other viewers, and we hope to welcome you back to our resort in future.

Kind regards,
Scott Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Bula! - that is exactly what you hear everytime you walk by their friendly staff, everybody say hi to you, from the gardener to the manager. Their greetings everywhere you go make you feel like you're at home surrounded by people you know. The services is excellent. The staff always be proactive, asking if there's anything else you need or give you information to make your trip in Fiji as memorable as possible. Though the location is quite far from the airport, the resort is situated on the most beautiful beach on the island with white sandy beach and the perfect waves to catch some surfing. On the upside of being a little far from the airport, it is very private and the beach is not too crowded. The architecture is absolutely beautiful. All the rooms are very new and the best part is that all the rooms featured the cloepatra tub on the balcony! It was extra special to me because one of my family member had an accident on this trip while we went out sight seeing. All the staff were very helpful, from preparing blanket, pillow and water for my family that have to travel accross the country to another city that have private hospital, concierge rescheduling our flights, warm welcome back after the hospital stay and all the assistance for my family member on the wheelchair. They turn my worst nightmare into just another bad day.. That accident almost ruiend our whole trip but because all the staff made us feel like we were surrounded by friends and family who care about us, I was able to enjoy the rest of my trip. They have really gone the extra miles to make my holiday wonderful!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tisha-k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Fiji, General Manager at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 June 2011
Dear Tisha,

We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful holiday with us in April and experienced the warm greetings and friendly service of our staffs, our beautiful location on Natadola beach and the excellent facilities. It was unfortunate of your family member’s accident while out sight-seeing and we are glad to be of assistance to you and your family while in hospital. I agree our staffs had done a great job going above and beyond their call of duty in making sure that you and your family was taken good care of while in hospital. Good to hear you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back in future to a more relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Kind regards,
Scott Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We recently visited the Intercontinental Fiji for 6 days at the beginning of May 2011 for our wedding. We had the most amazing time! The Intercontinental really is a stunning resort and we were so excited from the minute we arrived to be there to celebrate our wedding and also have an amazing holiday.

The resort itself was very luxurious and modern. Our room was a Garden room with a King sized bed and was is a great location looking over the family pool. Being on the top level was great as it gave us more privacy from people passing by, the patio was awesome with a comfy day bed – great for relaxing with a book and the Cleopatra bathtub which was one of the highlights for me = absolutely amazing. The grounds around the resort are beautiful and really well maintained. We visited the spa twice and both times had a very relaxing experience, the massage was great and the service was excellent.

Overall I had a really positive experience staying at the Intercontinental and would love to go back again soon. Just from an objective point of view however the only negatives I could see were the fact that the resort itself is quite isolated in location. On one hand this is great for relaxation but it took nearly an hour to get there from the airport and there was nothing else around the resort so you were limited for activities especially when it came to where to eat.

There are 3 restaurants at the Intercontinental – The buffet breakfast offered at Sanasana each morning was incredible, we ate lunch at the Toba Bar and Grill each day and the food was nice but we did get tired of the lack of choice by the end of the week. For dinner you have the option of the Bar and Grill, Navo or Sanasana. Most nights we ate at the bar and grill and again grew slightly tired of the same things each day. We dined at Navo one evening and had a great experience – we had 20 people and they allowed us to use the private dining room which was stunning and also air-conditioned. The food here was excellent but very pricey so it was not somewhere we would of eaten at again during our stay as it was more of a treat. We also ate one night at Sanasana which offers a different themed buffet each evening. This was also very pricey at $83FJD per person, although it was very nice and the food choices in the buffet were great. One other negative would be the fact that, despite the cost of the rooms per night, you still have to pay to hire snorkels, kayaks, paddleboards etc. The beach was beautiful and we swam in a water a few times at high tide although we did spend most of our days in the pool area.

The WEDDING! The wedding was AMAZING. If you are considering a Fiji wedding then I can highly recommend the Intercontinental. We met with the wedding planner Ema the day before the wedding to go through and finalise all the plans and my mind was immediately put at ease and I felt comfortable entrusting all the details of our big day into her capable hands. We also had a rehearsal run through of the ceremony on the afternoon beforehand and Ema was great with taking care of the music and making sure everybody knew where they needed to be and when. The day of the wedding was great and very relaxing. I had my hair done in the ‘orchid room’ in the spa and was very happy with the results. One of my bridesmaids did my make-up and we were able to use the ‘orchid room’ for me to dress and spend time with my bridesmaids and parents before leaving for the ceremony. It was so great to have use of this room as it was not only beautiful and very relaxing but it was also spacious and air conditioned – it would have been a real squeeze to have to prepare in the hotel room and also to have all the bridesmaids in there at once as well as myself trying to get ready. I highly recommend asking to use this room. We travelled to the ceremony via golf cart which was lots of fun and again Ema did an amazing job of making sure everything happened when it needed to and that everyone was seated and ready for our arrival. The ceremony itself was held in the chapel at the Intercontinental which is absolutely beautiful, we were very happy with how it all went.

We had hired our own photographer who travelled to Fiji with us and we then took many photos around the resort, there were endless beautiful locations for photography. Again, Ema did a great job of discerning the weather and made the call early in the evening to have our reception moved from an outdoor location to a covered location – we were very thankful for this as it did end up raining later in the evening. Ema took care of all the logistics of the reception move, although it was at short notice and she also decorated the area using decorations I had brought from NZ and it looked amazing, better than I had pictured it. The reception itself was great, a buffet dinner was offered to our guests and the food was not only delicious but there was a good variety of food and plenty of it. We had hired a PA system and plugged an i-pod into it for music which worked well, there were a few issues with the microphone being a bit fuzzy so we ended up not using it. It was a great night with great food and great company, we danced despite the heat and had a great time. There was a curfew of 10.30pm due to noise for the other hotel guests, at first we were apprehensive about cutting the celebrations short but on the night we found we were happy to wind down at this time as it has been such a long day and the heat really took it out of us! Overall I was extremely happy with the wedding services at the Intercontinental. We had such a perfect day and looking back I would not have changed a thing.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are just as good as beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Taraleigh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Fiji, General Manager at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Dear Taraleigh,

Thanks for taking the time to share a detailed review of your positive experience with us. The team and I are delighted to hear you had an amazing wedding celebration and holiday with family and friends. Thanks for your kind comments on our wedding planner. We are all very happy to hear the wedding celebration went perfectly well from the ceremony till reception. Most importantly, we are glad that you were able to have the wedding of your dreams here in Intercontinental Fiji. Good to hear you also enjoyed a relaxing experience in Spa Intercontinental. We look forward to welcome you back. Once you have your return dates confirmed, do not hesitate to contact our reservations team on reservations.fiji@interconti.com and they will be happy to assist you with your next booking.

Kind regards,
Scott Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2011

From the moment my partner and I arrived the staff at this 5 star resort made us feel welcome. We planned this well earned holiday as we both have stressful jobs and needed to relax and be pampered. I am writing this as I sit in Kama bar watching the sun set on another stunning day, listening to the local singers and the waves lapping on the beach. We booked the beach front suite and it's just that. On the beach and very nicely appointed. Free water daily, great maid service and the room is clean. Bathroom is nice with a rain shower and power shower although the rain shower is a shower and not really rain if you get what I mean. Pool area is lovely and the kids and families, of which there are a lot have their own to frolic in, thank goodness. All the staff are very friendly, bordering on too much at times but so welcoming anything is forgiven. The restaurAnts are all great, yes, their not cheap but this is Fiji and a five star resort so expect to pays premium, it's worth it. Navo is just stunning and a must visit, one of the best hotel restaurants I have visited and I have travelled the world. My only negative, and this is just me being me, I hate the kids everywhere, parents do seem to think they let them run wild just because they are on holiday. The adult only pool is a god send, shame the bars are not the same. Overal it's a great hotel, in a great location with great staff and a a very relaxed vibe(even with other people kids!)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonywinchcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Fiji, General Manager at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Dear Tony,

We are thrilled to hear that you and your partner had a great vacation with us and were able to relax and enjoy your holiday. I am glad you liked our fine dining restaurant-Navo, the hotel location and facilities, friendly service of our staff and the beautiful beach. Good to hear you were able to enjoy watching the beautiful sunset from Kama bar while listening to our local Serenaders and the waves lapping on the beach. We hope to see you return, and if you need to enquire on the number of kids in-house or any other information on the resort, please feel free to contact enquiries.fiji@interconti.com and our team will be happy to assist you.

Kind regards,
Scott Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Wow- I stayed at the Westin in Denarau ISland for a few days before moving over to this resort. - wow. The resort is immaculately manicured and maintained and my room was fabulous! The lanai was huge with an outdoor bathtub, many lounge chairs, candles...fantastic. The room was also very spacious and nicely laid-out. I had some really good food at the restaurant by the infinity pool (can't remember the name) and some of the waitstaff there even made an effort to remember my name, which was a nice touch.
One issue that I know the resort can;t really do anything about is the smell coming from the kelp beds or whatever it is when the tide goes out, since my room was right up there against the sea. Smelled a bit like dogfood, which was not lovely but not so overpowering that it didn't fade from consciousness in a few minutes. I guess if I ahd paid full price for that oceanfront room it might have bothered me more but since I got it for a good rate one xpedia, I was OK with it. The quality of the rooms themselves are definitely "honeymoom-worthy" I think. Fiji overall, while very nice, is not somewhere that I would recommend flying 17 hours to get to just for a trip to Fiji versus going to Hawaii or the Caribbean if you live in the US. I stopped at Fiji while traveling from Australia to New Zealand so it was good, but I think I would have been really disappointed if I had flown there just for Fiji. The country is really poor so off of the resorts, it's a bit depressing and I didn't see any views that were more impressive than what I've seen in Maui or Aruba. But it was a nice trip and the Intercontinental ranks up there among the nicest resorts I've seen.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toastytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_Fiji, General Manager at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Thanks for taking the time to share a review of your experience with us. We are happy to hear you had a nice trip and find the Intercontinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa ranks amongst the nicest resorts you have seen. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel and facilities, the great food at Toba restaurant by the infinity pool and of course our friendly staffs who like to remember our guests by their name. We note your comments on the smell coming from the sea which is beyond our control but thanks for your comments. We appreciate your valuable feedback.

Kind regards,
Scott Williams
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
23.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,064 reviews
28.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,538 reviews
13.6 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
23.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
6.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Maro Road | Natadola Bay, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort and Spa is located on the beautiful and picturesque Natadola Beach on Fiji's main island of Viti Levu. Relax on palm-fringed white sand beach or swim or snorkel in rolling surf to experience natural Fijian ambiance. The resort offers breathtaking 360-degree views of Natadola Bay and exotic landscaped gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, IHG, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Fiji Golf Resort And Spa
Intercontinental Fiji Golf Hotel Sigatoka
Intercontinental Coral Coast
Intercontinental Fiji Hotel
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing