We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at this resort for our honeymoon in Feb 2014. We had the BEST time. We had a package with a garden view? room and our own bath on the balcony. The buffet breakfasts were amazing. We also had credit for one or two of the buffet dinners with a different theme each night. We also got the couples massage at the spa which was so great that I went and had a facial the next day. The only thing I would recommend is to try and get an all inclusive package because if you pay for everything separately its very expensive. Also hire a car because its great to explore "the real Fiji" and this place is rather isolated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spokerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... F, Director of Sales at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Spokerina,

Bula vinaka from the white sandy shores of Natadola Bay! Thank you so much for choosing the InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa for celebrating your honeymoon. We’re delighted that you had a wonderful time with us and that you enjoyed so many aspects of our resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our little piece of paradise again soon. Please email me on kamal.haer@ihg.com when you decide on your next travel plans and I will see that the team takes great care of you once more.

Vinaka & Regards,
Kamal Haer
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,569
    588
    184
    55
    35
See reviews for
860
1,026
47
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 9 nights in July with our 2 boys aged 16 and 19 and had a fantastic time.
ACCOMMODATION.
We stayed in Garden View rooms, 2615 and 2616 which were beautifully appointed. Our room had a king size bed while the boys had 2 king singles,each room having an outdoor bath which were very luxurious. It was a short stroll to everything and very quiet and peaceful.
The only downside were the terribly soft pillows which made sleeping difficult. (Use your bed cushions)
MEALS.
The buffet breakfasts were fantastic with plenty of variety and we ate well which usually meant we didn't need any lunch.
For dinner we had a Fijian buffet at Sanasana restaurant which was great but ate at the Toba Bar & Grill most nights where we had pizza, steaks, fish, Indian etc.
One night they cooked us fish which we had just caught on the fishing charter that is run from the resort, which was delicious.
POOLS
We only used the beautiful infinity pool which was very refreshing once you got too warm from lazing in the sun on one of the many lounge chairs. Not as cold as other reviewers make out. There is a bar service by the pool where you can get a beer, wine, smoothie or a bite to eat and ice cream shop which was visited regularly.
There are plenty of towels available poolside.
BEACH ACTIVITIES.
The water on this most glorious beach was quite warm and the reef can be quite rocky under foot so I would recommend river shoes.
We hired out snorkelling gear, surfboards, kayaks and boogie boards and had a great time in at times pretty rough surf.
We went on the snorkelling tour run by the resort for $50fjd in which we saw an abundant of small colourful fish but nothing of any great size.
The boys snorkelled just metres off the beach for free the following day and probably saw more than on the snorkelling tour. They found some underwater caves and crevices which they swam through, getting some fantastic Gopro footage on the way.
We went on a 2 hour Fishing Charter boat, run from the resort and landed 2 great fish, a Dolphin Mahi Mahi and a Yellow Fin Tuna both of good size which made for a most exciting family outing.
TOURS.
We booked the Robinson Crusoe Island Jetski tour which was a fantastic day out. You jetski to Cloud Break, a renowned surfing spot in the middle of the ocean, snorkel and then jetski back to Robinson Crusoe Island. The highlight of the trip for the boys.
LOCALS.
We took up the locals offer for massages on the beach and one, Max, took us to a beautiful waterfall for the day which we enjoyed.
We had a Lovo meal (cooked in the ground) with Una and family at their home in the local village which was a great experience. Unas' 3 children gave us a tour of the village and by the end of it there were more than 20 children walking with us sharing their knowledge and friendship.
Tip. Ask for the total price when booking with the locals as they like to add on little extras.
SERVICE.
The staff at the resort are fantastic, friendly and eager to please. Our rooms were cleaned daily to the highest level and the bar staff were always willing to have a chat and join in some friendly banter. Special mention to Vatemo.
ENTERTAINMENT.
We enjoyed the Happy Hour at the Kama Lounge where we watched the fire lighting ceremonies, fire dancing, drumming and our favourite, the magnificent Trio of singers.

We will never forget the fantastic time we had in Fiji and we recommend the Intercontinental Resort as the place to stay. Nine days was not long enough, we didn't even get to see the golf course.
Vinaka.

The Paton Family.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... F, Director of Sales at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Glenn,

Bula vinaka from Natadola Bay! Thank you very much for choosing Intercontinental Fiji as your destination for a family holiday. We’re delighted to read that your family enjoyed so many aspects of our resort, and even took the opportunity to experience Fiji’s diverse culture. It was a pleasure to have your family with us and we would love to welcome you back to our little piece of paradise again soon for another family holiday. Please do let me know on kamal.haer@ihg.com when you plan your next beachside escape and I will see that your family is well looked after once more.

Vinaka & Regards,
Kamal Haer
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent seven nights at the intercontinental with our 10 month old baby. It was the ideal place for a family holiday before my return to work and, after a day or so of trial and error, we figured out how to maximise our enjoyment without spending way too much. Here's our tips:
- Use the nanny service. We were allocated a nanny for our entire stay and only had to give three hours' notice when we wanted to use her. This gave us flexibility and reduced out feelings of guilt as Oliver and his nanny formed a great bond. Oliver was on a 7am to 7pm routine so we got her to come after he finished his lunch, which meant we could enjoy our lunch by the adults pool, and on the nights we went for dinner, she came at 730pm.
- Use room service. We ate in all three of the restaurants and on the other four nights we had room service on our balcony. On these nights we obviously didn't need the nanny and were able to drink our duty free alcohol. The curries are excellent. They do charge $15 to deliver the good so if your room is close to sanasana you could pick it up.
- Get the driver to stop at a supermarket on the way and if you have room in your bag bring some bottles of wine.
- Pig out at breakfast (go for the continental rather than full breakfast) and then share a pizza for lunch. The pizzas are surprisingly good and are enough for two. We took finger food away with us to give to Oliver for lunch/snacks ( eg cheese, toast, vege sticks, pancakes). Bring a small Tupperware container that you can put them in.
- Forgo the stingy but expensive New Zealand natural icecream stand and walk up to the shop for an icecream.
- Make sure housekeeping replenishes your water supply every night.
- Join the IHC rewards club and benefit from free WIFI in your room and a 20% discount at the spa. If you're staying for seven nights consider joining the ambassador program for US$200 per year which will qualify you for an immediate room upgrade on arrival (plus other benefits).
- If you have room in your bag pack your own snorkelling gear .
- Don't bother with navo. It's nice but very expensive and the food isn't good enough to justify the price. Of course if you're not trying to stick to a budget go for it!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank CharlieBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... F, Director of Sales at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Bula Vanessa,

Thank you for writing a review. We were delighted to read that your family had a wonderful family holiday with us, and that you enjoyed our resort facilities and services. We were also thrilled to read that you enjoyed our nanny service and that Oliver created a strong bond with his nanny and had a great time!

It was a pleasure having your family with us on Natadola Bay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Please do let me know on kamal.haer@ihg.com when you decided on your next travel dates and I will see that your family is well looked after one more.

Vinaka & Regards,
Kamal Haer
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here in July 2014 - hotel has great facilities, location + rooms. We were upgraded to a Lagoon view suite (from I think a garden view) - beautiful view outside with waterfront just a few steps from our patio. Rooms/décor modern, clean and well appointed, spacious and had very luxurious feel to them (definitely 5 star). TV's (there were 2) were a little outdated (not Full HD possibly SD only) - we had much more modern version of same STB at other hotel in Denauru.

Buffet breakfast (and dining) were really top quality (particularly for Fiji) - although as to be expected quite pricey for things not included in room (and since hotel was in such isolated location there weren't other external choices/restaurants to go to).

Service was very friendly - we had a 9 mo baby who got tons of attention and affection from staff (which was a highlight). However, everything seemed to run on 'Fiji' time (+ efficiency) - so quite often had to ask for things 2-3 times before it got done which was disappointing. For example at checkout, despite ringing operator well in advance and explaining we needed a fast checkout to get to airport in time - staff muddled around and took nearly 30 minutes to get our bags from our room to reception (even though almost no one else was arriving or checking out at that time). This is probably something they really need to improve.

We also had a bit of difficulty getting around with a pram/stroller. In most places it seemed that appearances was more important than function steps instead of ramps - having to carry pram down steps etc to get from restaurants to our room / or use non undercover ramp (and trip to room being all outdoor) made things a little more difficult each time. I think both could have been accommodated a lot better without sacrificing the luxurious/modern look (ie. having at least one ramp in amongst all the steps).

Room Tip: Lagoon view location is fantastic - although if there is rain/bad weather it might be a bit challeng...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Res0rtH0pper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... F, Director of Sales at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Res0rtH0pper,

Bula and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We were thrilled to read that your family enjoyed your stay with us and our teams warm and genuine hospitality. Your comments regarding service delivery timing has been highlighted to the team for their attention, and we do apologise about your check-out experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Natadola Bay again soon. Please do let me know on kamal.haer@ihg.com when you plan your next holiday and I will see that the team takes great care of you.

Vinaka & Regards,
Kamal Haer
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I forgot to place feedback for this beautiful resort when I stayed last. Was in need of a well deserved holiday. Went on my own and had the best time of my life. I had a room right on the beach with a beautiful bath outside, stunning. Staff were amazing and food at the restaurants was fine dining quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koko2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... F, Director of Sales at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Bula Koko,

Thank you for sharing your lovely review, albeit some time after your stay! We were thrilled to read that you enjoyed your holiday and had a blissful time with us. We were also pleased that you enjoyed dining at our outlets and our warm Fijian hospitality.

We look forward to welcome you for your next beachside escape soon. Please do let me know on kamal.haer@ihg.com when you do plan your next trip and I will see that the team takes great care of you once more.

Vinaka & Regards,
Kamal Haer
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lautoka, Fiji
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was my husbands and my 2nd Visit to Intercon Fiji. The first time we stayed at the Normal resort but this time around we booked a Club Suite to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary.. I dont have words to describe how wonderful our experience at the Club was. We had a Private Plunge Pool and a massive suite. It was pretty spacey and had Pure Fiji Products. In our package we had wifi, non alcoholic drinks, evening cocktails, afternoon tea and free Breakfast included. All the staff were very friendly and addressed us by our names.

We had two meals at the Navo Restaurant, Dinner on our anniversary night and Breakfast on one of the mornings. Meals were excellent. We had lunches at Sanasana and Toba Bar & Grill which was nice too. Overall all the Restaurants in the resort are very good.

The club lounge was beautiful and the Pool was also great! A beautiful view from the lounge. Recommend all couples to try out the Suite :) We had a great stay and no doubt will go back sometime in the Future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avisha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... F, Director of Sales at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Avisha,

Bula from the white sandy shores of Natadola Bay! Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa for celebrating your 3rd wedding anniversary. We were thrilled to welcome you both back and to be a part of your special occasion. We were also delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another romantic getaway soon.

Please do let me know on kamal.haer@ihg.com when you are next looking at dates and I will see that the team take great care of you once more.

Vinaka & Regards,
Kamal Haer
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Regrettably I booked to stay at this hotel from 26 July for 3 nights. Having researched a number of different hotel options in Fiji we chose this one based on the Intercontinental brand, location and hotel design.
Intercontinental have a best rate guarantee policy. If you find a cheaper rate, they ask you to book with them, even though they are more expensive. Then you need to fill in a claim form with the details of what you have just paid them, as well as details of the cheaper rate from their competitor. From there they promise to review it and if they confirm your information, will offer the same rate as well as give you one night free.

We followed the above process and booked directly with Intercontinental using their best rate option despite booking.com, Hotelclub and Expedia all being cheaper. We filled in the claim form and sent it off in the time specified. This is where the gross incompetence and dishonesty from Intercontinental staff in their best price guarantee area begins.

I receive a response advising me they have 'reviewed' my claim, that the rate I stated is not available on booking.com and therefore my claim has been denied. They quote back to me the rate I stated booking.com offered in AUD over 3 nights and compared it to their FJD rate for 1 night. Of course the AUD rate for 3 nights with booking.com is more than the per night rate for 1 night if I booked directly with you, IT'S FOR 3 NIGHTS!!!! You should be comparing the cost of staying with you for 3 nights vs. booking.com for 3 nights. Further, if booking.com have sold out at the rate I specified at the time I made the claim because it took you too long to check, how can I be responsible for your lack of prompt action to confirm my claim?

I have written 3 emails since, however at the time of writing I have not received the courtesy of a response. I have also copied and pasted a further example from Hotelclub which clearly shows that their rate is cheaper than what I paid by booking directly with intercontinental.
Their price guarantee policy is nothing but a scam to get people to book directly with them at a higher rate than what you will find on many other websites. They'll 'review' your claim alright and then frustrate you with their incompetence and lack of thorough research to avoid paying you what you are entitled to and then when you write to them, they will not respond.

I deeply regret booking with Intercontinental and while my anger and frustration is firmly directed towards the business processes and practices of the wider company and that of the staff within the price guarantee policy department; I am not looking forward to staying at their resort given the obvious lack of service and ethics in their business culture.

The only reason I haven't cancelled the booking entirely is due to the fact that because I booked the cheapest rate I would lose 100% of the payment. The rest of our stay will be at the Nanuku which from what I have experienced so far will be the exact opposite of the Intercontinental.

We are disappointed and angry at your treatment of us and we will never make the mistake of booking with any of your properties ever again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Ausfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InterContinenta... F, Director of Sales at InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Ausfamily,

Thank you for bringing your situation to our attention. We wish to assure you that our Best Price Guarantee (BRG) team has carefully reviewed the details of your claim and do apologise if we were not clear that we are precluded by the Terms and Conditions of the program from making any form of currency conversion when verifying rates for the purpose of claiming for the Best Price Guarantee.

The currency of our resort is the Fijian Dollar (FJD), which is what our BRG team will consider in comparing rates. Our BRG team has also checked different websites and while one central website does display different rates from various websites there are no specific rates which can be booked directly. All rates posted would require you to be redirected to a secondary website which will provide the actual price during the booking process. We would require guests to provide the exact website which is hosting the lower rate so that we can specifically check on that website.

Please be assured that our BRG team has been specifically trained in order to verify all claims made for the Best Price Guarantee program to ensure that the Terms and Conditions of the Guarantee are fulfilled. The same set of criteria is used in each and every claim submitted and we know that while it will not always mean a positive response it ensures that an objective and consistent result can be reached.

Thank you once more and please do let me know on kamal.haer@ihg.com if you decide to return and I will see that your family is well looked after.

Kind regards,
Kamal Haer
Area Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
23.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,934 reviews
28.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
15.6 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
15.9 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
23.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa

Property: InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Maro Road | Natadola Bay, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 266
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort and Spa is located on the beautiful and picturesque Natadola Beach on Fiji's main island of Viti Levu. Relax on palm-fringed white sand beach or swim or snorkel in rolling surf to experience natural Fijian ambiance. The resort offers breathtaking 360-degree views of Natadola Bay and exotic landscaped gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Fiji Golf Resort And Spa
Intercontinental Fiji Golf Hotel Sigatoka
Intercontinental Coral Coast
Intercontinental Fiji Hotel
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing