We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fully recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
de Vos The Private Residence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

An awesome place with lovely staff! My bungalow was next to the sea coast where I could snorkel or just wander around. It seemed like also cows and horses liked the sea view as well! I definitely had a relaxing time here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flavio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annemarei1, Owner at de Vos The Private Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Bula and thank you

sometimes you can worry about solo travellers are the experiencing what they need in a small place.
so vinaka vakalevu for writing us a review!
It was a pleasure to have you with us and to read that you enjoyed your stay and our warm Fijian hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay soon. when you plan your next trip we look forward to seeing you and will see that you are well looked after once more.

Vinaka & Regards,
Annemarie and the team at de Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

we had a bure overlooking the beach for 8 nights , lovely spacious room. Great place to chill out with nice pool . easy walk along the beach to other places . Meals are available - well prepared food simple style . Wine /beer available from supermarket across the road . This place is real good value for money and has wonderful hopsitable staff .
WIFI access was good .
Can highly recommend

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthAmericaJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annemarei1, Owner at de Vos The Private Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Bula from de Vos! Thank you for choosing de Vos it is obviously perfect for your needs. We were also delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another getaway soon.
The beach side bures with views and sea music is obviously the number one pick no place closer to the sea and the enjoyment of surroundings. staff thank you for your wonderful comments

Thank you again Annemarie and team at de Vos
see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I know words can not truly express this little gem set in "paradise". We had a BURE that looked onto the beach, with a private outdoor bath. The bure had 2 King size beds, , tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge.
The staff were SO friendly and helpful and the environment peaceful and welcoming we didn't want to leave........... We used public transport to visit Suva, Sigatoka and Nadi, we did one
daytrip on a river cruise which was really enjoyable. It would however have been very easy to stay by the pool or wandering along the beach.
I would highly recommend this peaceful, relaxing destination to anyone who needs to switch off and relax........

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annemarei1, Owner at de Vos The Private Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Bula it is often difficult know words and can not truly express our appreciation of your review to not sound like just another thank you and express our thanks for taking the time to place your review.
This is our paradise and thank you for experiencing this and appreciating it we wish you a big welcome in coming back to enjoy again

thanks
Annemarie and team at de Vos
]

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend de Vos. My partner and I and a friend stayed for 6 nights. The staff are excellent, and the bures well equipped. It would be possible to spend an entire week without leaving the premises: all meals are available, the pool is great, and you can snorkel or kayak straight from the beach. However, there are other great atttactions within driving distance so I recommend hiring a car. In particular, the Eco Cafe (about a 10 minute drive) is a must-visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna5672014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annemarei1, Owner at de Vos The Private Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We were delighted to read that you had a relaxing island escape at the de Vos and that you enjoyed our boutique resort facilities and service. We were also pleased to read that you had a great time on our beach and seaside .

We would love to welcome you back to our sunny shores again soon


Thank you
Annemarie and team at de Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

De Vos was exactly what we needed: beachfront resort, snorkelling right in front of the resort, a bure (much nicer than a hotel room) and friendly staff. You do have to plan to snorkel at high - mid tide though. The sea is warm even in the early morning. We had the bure by the pool, which is screened by plants but has a deck view across the pool to the sea. The private courtyard with bath was a lovely extension to this bure.

With no agenda we just took each day as it came, snorkelling, swimming, visiting nearby Hideaway and Naviti resorts and Sigatoka once. We liked our resort best because it felt friendly and there was always some pool shade. There's a nice mini supermarket directly across the road, accessible from the beach and up a bank (or you can walk the longer, sedate way). Because of close proximity to other guests in the common area it would probably not be so great if they weren't nice. But because we made friends with both guests and staff, it was more enjoyable than other holidays we've had. The staff surprised my husband with an enormous slice of chocolate cake on his birthday, which was much appreciated.

If you want to roam, a car is ideal for convenience. You would miss the friendliness of bus/shuttle passengers though. Cost: $2.40-3.00 to Sigatoka, $8.50 air conditioned express to airport.

De Vos captured the ambience of a luxury bach experience where we could disconnect from stress and unwind in a natural unintrusive environment. We would definitely like to go back.

Room Tip: Beach front bures are probably quieter than those nearer the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MnCkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annemarei1, Owner at de Vos The Private Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Bula

We are glad de Vos was exactly what you needed The bure by the pool or Lomalagi, which is screened by plants but has a deck view across the pool to the sea,the private courtyard with the marble bath is a lovely extension to this bure. This bure is popular with couples for peace and privacy while has lovely sea views is not on front of beach but directly behind

We were happy you were able to go snorkelling, swimming, visiting nearby resorts and this met your requirements. It is always great when all guests get along or appreciate each others privacy when required and are happy you made friends with both guests and staff.

We totally agree with you on the transport to hire a car you miss so much of the friendliness and interaction that you get when you use buses or taxis. Taxis are soo cheap in Fiji we would never use them in other countries at the prices in Fiji and the exchange rates just makes it so usable.
You are most welcome back

Thank you
Annemarie and team at de Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had a great weeks stay here. The staff are so friendly and helpful and there are lots of activities near by if you feel like it. We hired a car which I would highly recommend as it made life a lot easier to pop out and get lunch or go and see different sites. Had not been to Fiji before, this was a great experience. Good local eats include the Eco Cafe and the restaurants at the nearby Hideaway resort if you feel like getting out for a bit. I wouldn't say Fiji is a place to find fantastic food, but we had nice enough meals each night. The resort offers home cooked meals if you want them, they are basic but it suited our needs. This was the perfect place for our much needed rest and relax. If you were after something more adventure packed, it's probably not the place to go. For us it was ideal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GinaPedersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annemarei1, Owner at de Vos The Private Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for choosing de Vos as your holiday destination and for your great review of our property here on the Coral Coast. We do hope that you have returned home with some amazing memories of your holiday in Fiji and that should you plan to return that you would consider staying with us once again.As y say it is the perfect place for our much needed rest and relax.We are pleased it as the ideal place for you to stay see you again

Thank you
Annemarie and Team at de Vos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We arrived to a fantastic shuttle service 180FJD each way. W as a bit disappointed when arrived at Devos to learn we couldn't get a coffee even though there was a machine in the kitchen...small issue though.we were shown two rooms one bure right near beachfront ,the other near the car park which wasn't a bure...very noisy near road.however when another couple checked out our friends were able to be moved.The website said we would get welcome drink and fruit platter however this didn't happen.We loved the pool but again website said there was a bar so we thought cocktails by the pool all holiday...this didn't happen as no bar.A fabulous masseuse on staff and way cheaper than the major resorts..however I suggest a menu of beauty treatments needs to be in each bure so guests are aware of this service. We really enjoyed the meals cooked by Tony and Julie and Radjia....thought that breakfast could have been included though.Devos is situated 1.5 hours from airport so you really need a car to do most sightseeing.
The bures were nice but really need to update bathrooms and make sure shampoos and soaps are replaced every day or so.mosquito nets over bed need replacing..big holes in them won't keep the mozzies out.a fridge in the kitchen with soft drinks beer and wine would be handy and I'm sure guests would use this facility as going to your room every time you want a drink whilst swimming was annoying.the staff were beautiful and friendly...not meaning to be negative but just some suggestions to improve guests stays.

Natalie and Andrew
Newcastle nsw

Room Tip: Choose beachfront bure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natsmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annemarei1, Owner at de Vos The Private Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Bula

Thank you for your review we also strongly recommend the use of Imis shuttle service for saftey and insurance purposes and also very entertaining. With exchange rates and comparision to overseas prices this is a great deal and the fact that you are not paying by the meter so you can stop and do a little shopping on the way pick up a few things is a great option.no extra rates per person one price for shuttle .Sorry you were not able to get a coffee of choice on arrival we have plunger and instant coffees available in bures and main room at all times but not all staff can operate machine in kitchen for special coffees and sometime people arrive at odd times but although not normally an issue we have requested and follow through that even Tomasi can operate the machine just in case so next time he will be ready does not matter what time you arrive-his first attempts very interesting and the guests he has been practising on found it highly amusing.It is important that no matter what time someone arrives that everything should be delivered as promised.
I am a little confused about rooms as you booked rooms which are in main building on second level and you got a free upgrade to beach side bure which you note and the semi contained bure near pond area first in from car park.. cant work out what you mean but will email you on this I am thinking you are saying that beach side bures are best the semi contained bure was not as nice as front seaside but your friends also got a upgrade when one became available.
The semi contained is not obviously the prime position nor is it charged as so it has a kitchen in it and is very suitable older couples or someone with disabilities or a family that needs kitchen in night or quiet away from everyone it is suitable a very private spot. In saying that we have couples how rebook this bure so all matter of choice but beachfront does not appeal to everyone.

The pool bar is available for parties or bookings but as website states we have no liquor licence as yet it is in process but you are welcome to bring duty free or shuttle will stop to purchase and advise on any requirements.Thank you for the suggestion on beauty treatments in bures Julie is presently working on new compendiums for room as which will include all spa treatments.
Min bars will be in fridges once liquor licences are approved.
Breakfast inclusive we offer all different packages and guest can choose their options I have checked your bookings your were offered the option but again thank you for the feedback.
All feedback is only a good thing so thank you again for all your comments an they have been most heapful to all of us

Thank you
Annemarie and the team at de Vos
Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
3.2 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 10 in Sigatoka
427 reviews
8.5 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Sigatoka
1,138 reviews
19.5 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
#10 of 10 in Sigatoka
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,785 reviews
16.7 mi away
Gecko's Resort
Gecko's Resort
#5 of 10 in Sigatoka
370 reviews
7.8 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 10 in Sigatoka
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to de Vos The Private Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about de Vos The Private Residence

Address: 19 Maui Private Rd, Sigatoka, Viti Levu 166, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Sigatoka
Price Range: £36 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — de Vos The Private Residence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
De Vos The Private Residence is a totally private accommodation based on the design of a exclusive resort on the Coral Coast, main island Fiji so that it is able to accommodate all your individual needs design a holiday from weddings to a private resort for two. The Setting is tranquil secluded luxurious in design and fittings. Sweeping views, wonderful snorkeling, fishing, a marine reserve all within minutes situated on beautiful coral coast beach. All facilities of a resort available from massage to cleaners, security and chef. Just relax and enjoy. 5 Bures with exquisite and romantic bathrooms, private plunge pools and a swimming pool approx 25 metres with spa and pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your de Vos The Private Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vos The Private Residence Hotel Sigatoka
De Vos The Private Residence Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing