We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the BEST” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gecko's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gecko's Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply the BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We have just had a too short a stay at Gecko's ! We came to Fiji for a family wedding. The lead up to the wedding was relaxed. The wedding reception was amazing. The food and cocktails delicious. The hosts and staff were welcoming, friendly, professional and fantastic ! Twice a week there is Fijian cultural entertainment (All part of the Gecko's stay).
If you are looking for a busy, hectic and need to cram a lot into a short time then maybe Geckos is not for you. If you are looking for time out with quality dining, entertainment, sheer pleasure, then Geckos is the place to be !
We intend to return to Gecko's !
Many thanks ! Maree & Morris

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frasermob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    94
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
115
104
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2011

We stayed at Gecko's for 7 days and found the hotel to be overall good. It did have its up and downs.
The "resort" is located no where near a beach and the pool is much smaller than the ones you see in promotional pictures.
The staff are friendly, the restaurant has an average meal of $30 and if you want Chicken or meat you are looking at $35+.
We booked this as our place of stay on the Coral Coast, however, it is located 15 minutes from the town and you could say it is basically in the middle of no where.
We only paid $45 a night as part of a Flight Centre deal so it was definitely worth the money. We were not looking for somewhere fancy, just somewhere to sleep and eat.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCstar14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

After reading the reviews on this site, I decided to take the bad with the good and book my accomodation at Geckos. I was unsure of what to expect but right from the minute we arrived, the staff made us feel welcome. Everyone made the effort to get to know us by name and were always happy to help with anything from personal laundry to booking tours for us.

The rooms were lovely and looked just like the pictures on their website. The grounds were also beautiful and encompass the Kalevu cultural centre of which you can take guided tours or just wander around by yourself and take in the culture of Fiji.

On Friday and Sunday nights, they put on a Polynesian dance show which is free to attend, unlike the big resorts which will set you back as much as $100. We went to the show at the Fijian Shangri-La one night but found the Geckos show to be much more personal and fun.

Its not just the staff and the resort itself either, the other guests staying there were friendly and really contributed to our having a great holiday there. This is because it is a fairly small place, only around 30 or so rooms. We couldnt understand why anyone would pay all that money to stay at the 5 star resorts when you can stay at a lovely little place like Geckos for half the price and then go to the resorts during the day to use their facilities for free anyway!!

Yes, you can go to any resort for free and get a visitor pass and just use all their facilites! Also, you can book beauty treatments, hair braiding and massages in town and they will come to your hotel and its cheaper the what the resorts will charge for the same service.

But then at the end of the day, we went back to our friendly and comfortable hideaway with its fabulous food and delicious cocktails at reasonable prices and either socialised with other guests or watched one of the free hire dvds on offer. Seriously, it's a wonderful place!

Other review were complaining that the only way into town was by taxi. This is not true. The main way people get around in Fiji is by hitchhiking. Expect to pay a dollar or two and any passing car will happily drive you into town. There is also the local bus which costs about $1.50. Just ask the staff for times. If this isn't your style, just wander over the the Shangri-La and catch their shuttle bus! Taxi to the nearest town will set you back $10 Fijian which is only about $5 anyway.

Simply put, if all you want to do is lay around a pool and do resort type things then this is not the place for you but if you want a decent place to sleep, great food, friendly staff and a place to call base camp while you head out and experience Fiji during the days, Geckos has all you need. Both thumbs up from us!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meighan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

Average Facility and Comfort, But good food

Gecko’s Resort is a 4-star self-rated resort. The nearest town is Sigatoka which is 15 mins away by a taxi. The cost for each is about FJ$12.00.

My experience at Gecko’s Resort is disappointing. I for one would not call Gecko’s Resort ‘a resort’ at all. Gecko does not have a beach. The nearest beach you can go to is at Shangri-La's Resort located about 15-minute walk or 10-minute bike ride from Gecko. So if you want to do a bit of snorkelling, sea kayaking diving etc., you will have to do the walk to Shangri-La where you will have to get a guest pass to use their facilities at costs. Tip: Bring your own snorkel gear as at Shangri-la’s, it is FJ$70 a set

The pool at Gecko is half of the size of the picture posted on the website. The room is comfortable. There are an air-conditioner for those hot days, a working fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. There is also a 32” TV/ DVD combo. However, the TV in my room didn’t work. It only had one channel that was absolutely unwatchable. There is no fly screen in the room. So, if you are allergic to mosquitos’ bites, hate spiders flies and other creepy crawlers, this is NOT the place to be. I applied Aerogard religiously every day and I still got bitten by mosquitos on my face, shoulders, arms and legs. Usually at night it was the worst. The shower does not have consistent water pressure and the hot water system does not work properly. One minute it’s scorching hot, the next minute it’s cold, so washing my hair is a nightmare. Finally the toilet doesn’t flush properly…

The food at Gecko’s is delicious however since 1 Jan 2011 the price has gone up. For example, a main dish, say a chicken stir-fry with rice, was FJ$25.00 and now it is FJ$30.00. Lobster Thermidor was FJ$42.00 and now it is FJ$52.00. Steak was FJ$39.00 and now it is FJ$49.00. The bicycles are still free for guests to use though. The Internet facility is FJ$8.00 per hr and there is only one computer available in the common room near the restaurant. The nearest ATM (Westpac Bank) is located in the Shangri-La.

Overall I don’t think Gecko can call itself a resort and it is definitely not worth AU$99 per night that I paid for. I won’t recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxxLove_to_Travelxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2011

We decided very last minute to spend a few days in Fiji. This was our 4th visit and on all previous holidays we stayed in big well known resorts. Geckos was great and we had a lot of fun.Even though it may not have offered all that the big resorts do we all agreed we enjoyed it more.
The rooms were spacious & clean -The complimentary breakfast was brilliant & the dinners tasty & filling and value for money! The Managers & their staff were friendly and very helpful. Would recommend for sure!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nails1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2011

I'm surprised by the reviews given, it seems that someone has taken his own taste and those that don't agree as personnel since others, ourselves included thought that trip advisor was over rated based on what we experienced. I think Sisko has been generous given we think we know who the sour puss is and agree that many issues left a bit to desired and found that the man in charge was less than approachable with complaints based on the number of complaints from other guests. Perhaps some people should have left the less than negative review alone as 1 bad out of 6 seemed miniscule, rather than make it personal and insulting. We wouldn't normally bother with reviews but since we based our trip on trip advisor feel let down.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussier_old
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

As a regular visitor to fiji with my family, we stayed at Gecko's for the second time in 2010. This resort is by far the best place we have stayed in all the years we have been coming to fiji. The food, the staff, the rooms and the management are all first class. It is by far the best value for money resort in fiji. As previous reports suggest the shangri-la is way over priced for the average family. But the smart traveller would stay at Gecko's and occasionally use the shangri-la's facilities.As for the comments of never again we were their the same time and it was obvious to us and other guests that you two sour pusses would not be happy if you won lotto.management bent over backwards to attend to your constant whinging .To Tom and Carolyn thank you and your great staff for making our stay one to remember.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRGARY3365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
8.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#5 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
8.5 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Resort

Property: Gecko's Resort
Address: Queens Highway | PO Box 14 77, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gecko's Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Gecko's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko`s Hotel Sigatoka
Gecko's Resort Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing