We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gecko's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gecko's Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Relaxed and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

A common theme of most reviews seems to be that people are choosing Gecko's to attend weddings at the expensive Shangri-la Fijian Resort across the road... same here! Helen and the staff were wonderful! The room (#15) was bigger than what some of my friends had at the Shangri-La, and very clean. I had a beautiful meal on arrival Friday evening and then caught up on emails using the free WiFi access in the dinning area. All the staff were very friendly. It was nice to be away and escape the bussle of the Shangri-la. Value for money weekend trip. Complimentary tea & coffee in rooms. I would bring my family back to Gecko's - it is our type of place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deanhuddlestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    94
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
115
104
18
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

My husband & I along with 5 other friends chose to stay here on route to a family wedding at another resort. The staff and management are a credit to themselves. Friendly, excellent service. We would rock up for dinner at night, food was beautiful, we`d have a drink and a laugh with the staff and it would make our day. Lots of garden to explore and has it`s own little traditional history tour thru bures scattered around the grounds of the resort. Rooms are pretty basic but has what you need. There was no microwave but found even the up market resorts did`nt have them either at least the swimming pool was`nt like a carpark like the bigger resorts. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have interconnecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshnNol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Together with three other family members, I stayed at Geckos to attend the wedding of my daughter at nearby Shangri La resort. From the moment we were picked up by Arvi in a taxi arranged by Helen(co-manager with her husband Darren) we were made to feel most welcome. This friendliness continued from all of the staff & management during our 5 night stay there. Nothing was too much trouble for them. While the accommodation was basic, it was all that we needed & was certainly good value for money. The meals & drinks were always served promptly & in a friendly manner & were considerably better value than those which we experienced on a visit to the Shangri La. Other family members who were staying at the Shangri La, joined us for dinner & the Cultural Show on the Sunday night & we all agreed that this dinner & show surpassed what we had experienced at the Shangri La,
I would have no hesitation in recommending Geckos Resort as a place to stay in Fiji & many of our group are looking forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drbaldock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

My daughter, son and 20 month old granddaughter stayed at Geckos for 9 nights and from the moment we arrived they made us feel welcome. The staff couldn't have done anymore for us. They treated my granddaughter like a princess. I would definitely recommend Geckos if you want excellent service and great food. Even guests at the 5 star across the road were regulars for dinner. We loved Fiji and the staff ended up making us feel like family. Once again thanks for a memorable stay. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

We chose this hotel based on Trip Advisor ratings and it lived up to its awesome reviews. The service was incredible for a hotel in this price range. The staff all knew us by name after the first night. Our rooms were cleaned by the time we got back from breakfast and Helen gave us great recommendations on things to do in the area. The man in the kitchen even offered to cut up the melon we'd bought off the side of the road!
The property is large and set in nice gardens. And if you're after some luxury you can walk across the road to the Shangri-La resort for a meal or a drink.
We got engaged while we were in Fiji and so will always have very special memories of this stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KellyLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

We recently travelled to Fiji to attend a Wedding at the Shangri-La Resort. My son had dinner at Gecko's Resort last year with his friends, who were arranging their wedding, He recommended we stay at Gecko's and we were not disappointed. The staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Meals were excellent and our room was more than adequate and very clean. In fact, many of the Wedding Guests dined at Gecko's on a couple of occasions!! Thank you Helen, Darren and all your wonderful staff for making us feel so welcome and part of your Fijian Family. Regards, Robyn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyngwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

My partner and I (30yrs old) stayed at Geckos for 5 nights and had an awesome time. Right from the get go from making intial enquiries 3 months out, the staff were informative and responded to my emails promptly. Our friends were getting married at the Shangri-La directly across the road, which was a lovely venue, but not our style so we chose Geckos. The staff at Gecko's are what make it an enjoyable place. They're happy, friendly and go out of their way to please guests. The Fijian Evening on Sunday night was a highlight for us, as was the yummy food. The pool was great too. Room was better than we expected, large, clean and air con.
Great place to relax and is quiet. Local bus stops right out front too, making transfers to/from Nadi very cheap.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank essbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
8.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#5 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
8.5 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Resort

Property: Gecko's Resort
Address: Queens Highway | PO Box 14 77, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gecko's Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Gecko's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko`s Hotel Sigatoka
Gecko's Resort Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing