We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Terrific !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gecko's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gecko's Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrific !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

A fantastic place to say that is not too expensive, the meals are great with plenty to eat and the staff are so friendly and helpful. We had hired a car which made transport a lot easier and would recommend this if you wanted to see the real Fiji and not just the outer islands and the resorts. Our only minor negative comment would be that a screen door would be useful on warm nights if you did not want to use the airconditioner otherwise the rooms were very comfortable and clean. We would certainly recommend Geckos to anybody travelling on a budget and we would not hesitate to stay there the next time we visit Fiji.
Ni Sa Moce and vinaka vakalevu

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    93
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
115
101
17
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

My friends and stayed here over Schoolies time (back further than Aug 2012). We weren't all that interested in going out and getting smashed on the Gold Coast so we decided to have a nice relaxing holiday and we chose the perfect place. We were treated so well, the service was brilliant, the rooms were great, the entertainment was awesome we got to see the Polynesian Dancers which was incredible. The food was delicious, I highly recommend staying here. The staff were very helpful in organising things for us to do, would also highly recommend doing the jet boating & village tour. We weren't treated any different due to our age which was great. Will definitely be returning when I get back over there!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hailee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our stay at Gecko's was warm, super friendly and comfortable.
Some of our large group stayed in the Shangri-La over the road so we did visit this highly rated resort too a number of times but found we all liked Gecko's much better.
It is smaller and friendlier and the meals much more affordable, and better too.
We loved the cultural tour at Gecko's which was fantastic in it's content. Even the kids loved it and asked lots of questions.
The rooms were great and everything is nicely accessible to the hub. We hated to have to say goodbye to the staff.
We loved being able to walk around the villages from Gecko's and interact with the locals.
The only down side is access to a beach. The coast is accessible if you walk to explore, but the water is shallow and rocky with heaps of broken glass unfortunately.
The pool at Gecko's is good and there are lovely deckchairs, tables and service.
Taxis wait outside the gate so transport to other locations and tours are no problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mieke d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We chose Gecko's as first-time visitors to Fiji (1 adult, two children aged 12 and 7) because of the great reviews on Trip Advisor, and they were right. The rooms are spacious and clean, the beds are very comfortable, the showers are great, and the whole place is really welcoming and unpretentious. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, and if you're travelling with children it's great to be in a place where they can explore quite independently. Local buses of all kinds into Sigatoka or back to Nadi run right outside, and the staff will help arrange tours, car rentals and taxis. There's free wifi in the bar area if you need it, and the small restaurant is packed every night, including with tourists from the big resort over the road. But what made the most difference to us is that the Fijian staff are really so welcoming, friendly and helpful. If big generic resorts don't appeal to you, choose Gecko's. We all loved it. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Let me start by saying my husband and I (and our large family who also stayed at Geckos) are fussy clean freaks who pretty much expect perfection. And that's exactly what we got. This place was amazing! Not only did I get teary when leaving but so did my auntie, brother inlaw and our children! Geckos makes you feel like you are apart of their family! THE best customer service, clean, great prices and historical tours (great job Sam) the food was delicious and the pool always lovely and clean! This place made me not want to leave and defiantly made me feel homesick when I did leave! Its such a cosy feel, you feel safe and cared for! Great place for families... Thanks Helen and your beautiful team! Vin-aka beautiful people! We miss you... xxxx : ) xxxx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylielaning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We stayed at Gecko's as a family in a large group for a wedding at the Shangri La. The rooms were great, very comfortable and spacious. Overall it was the staff who made it such a great place to be. We were blown away by the fact that they made such an effort to remember most of our names & even which rooms we were staying in. Nothing was too much trouble for them & the manager Helen was very friendly, welcoming and made us feel right at home. The food was great and reasonably priced & the pool was a great place to relax.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SammyEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Although we didn't stay here we visited from across the road from the Fijian we couldn't help but be impressed by the way in which this resort was kept. They have established a very well presented native village with themed Bures showing some of the life the Fijians lived in pre European times. This included some interesting facts on cannibalism. We booked in for dinner there that evening and have to say that we were impressed by both the quality of the meals but the prices as well especially compared to the Fijian resort. can't comment on the rooms etc but if the rest of the grounds were anything to go by I think there would be no problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimme1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
8.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
9.1 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#5 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
2.8 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,347 reviews
8.5 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Resort

Property: Gecko's Resort
Address: Queens Highway | PO Box 14 77, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gecko's Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Gecko's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko`s Hotel Sigatoka
Gecko's Resort Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing