We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”
Review of Gecko's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gecko's Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Gecko's is just perfect for a romantic, peaceful and relaxing break. Though only a small resort, everything you need is there.
We originally only booked for 3 nights not knowing what to expect. It was so nice that we booked to stay for the duration of our break. Staff, meals and facilities were all above our expectations. Next time we are down on the Coral Coast we will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    97
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
120
108
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked at Shangi-las across the causeway, our room was ocean view, took us 30mins to walk to Geckos. Can taxi but walking was nice & saw all evening fish over causeway plus very friendly security staff! We ate at gecko's 3 times. Great selection, friendly staff, can book tables. Next visit to Fiji would check about booking to stay here as poss alternative re price? Twice weekly fire shows, free if eat meal, no mark up of meal prices, same food as other nights and show is amazing. Please remember to tip in the box. Really recommend

Room Tip: didnt stay but spoke to others who did - happy but see reviews here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

nicely tucked in right next to Shangri-La, very nice little place, great kitchen, and just a short stroll to the Shangri-La island. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Geckos, hope to be back sometime soon!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Gecko's is a small resort compared to some of the large multinational resorts. The rooms were always clean and serviced daily. Restaurant was also very good. Staff were just lovely and always on hand and ready to assist etc. There is a pool at the resort, which was great for cooling off. It does not have all the water sport activities of the big resorts, but you can freely visit other resorts and hire their gear. It is within walking distance to the Fijian Resort (Shangri La). I did find the rooms a bit noisy as the walls seemed very thin. (luckily I travel with ear plugs!) Restaurant was very good and consistent.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would be the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my week stay at Geckos for a wedding at the Shangri la. The staff really make this place what it is. From the moment you arrive they know your name. They make every effort to make your stay enjoyable. This hotel is basic but you if you spend all your time exploring what Fiji has to offer then it is a great base. I enjoyed a massage at the onsite spa which was wonderful. The restaurant food was good and the pool and gardens quiet. If you want a quiet escape away from the craziness of the busy resorts then Geckos could be the place for you.
Thank you Geckos I enjoyed your hospitality.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventuresofpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Me and 3 friends stayed at geckos for 7 nights. We had an amazing and relaxing time. We were there for a friends wedding, which was at one of the big resorts, thank god we chose not to stay there!!! At geckos everyone knows your name and are sooo friendly and helpful!!! The service is 5 star!!! Our room was cleaned thoroughly each day (unlike where our friends stayed!!!) the food... Oh my god the food!!! We ate at the big resort 2 nights and got charged double for food that wasn't a patch on geckos!!! Would I recommend geckos.... Hell yeah, the staff, the setting, the food and the fact that your not one of 300 makes it a great place to stay!!! I will definately be back... I didn't get to try the whole menu!!! Vinaka geckos, you rock!!! Xxxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoody30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Gecko's. Little bit disappointed with our room on arrival as wasn't as clean as would have liked, we're not fussy, but the towels where ratty and dated, floor was very sticky, makeup smeared on bathroom light switches and I had coffee or something brown splashed across my single bed sheets. Housekeeping where next door so bought it to their attention and they gave me new sheets and another towel. Good pressure in shower which is a plus!! The let down with cleaning was soon made up by how friendly and welcoming everyone is. Ate most meals at the resort, though the food was basic it was certainly tasty! Short walk to Shangri La and short car ride to the Outrigger (would highly recommend a visit here). Was very well priced and would definitely stay again and recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse3479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
8.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,021 reviews
13.5 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#4 of 9 in Sigatoka
353 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
24.5 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
490 reviews
8.5 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Resort

Property: Gecko's Resort
Address: Queens Highway | PO Box 14 77, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gecko's Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Gecko's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko`s Hotel Sigatoka
Gecko's Resort Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing