We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax in Fiji”
Review of Gecko's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gecko's Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We have just returned from a short stay at geckos after staying across the road at the Shangri la with family for the first part of our holiday,
Geckos was far and away more relaxing than the organised chaos that is across the road which is my idea of a holiday.
Geckos restaurant is always full of customers from the Shangri la which is a testament to how great the food is. It pays to book to avoid disappointment especially for the fun dance shows on Fridays and Sundays as these are regularly fully booked.
Our room was excellent with a nice firm queen size bed and a single bed, good sized fridge & a large clean bathroom. The TV reception was poor with just 1 channel but you could get free DVDs to watch if you wanted. The room was serviced daily to a high standard.
The bar was awesome with big screen TV for all the sports games and Heinekens were only $8.50 FJD compared with $15 FJD across the road.
Staying here also meant we didn't have to fight for a deck chair around the pool. You usually get the pool to yourself.
Far and away the best thing about geckos is the staff who couldn't do enough for us and nothing was a problem.
Thank You Geckos we will be back.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be the same.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gersa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Gecko's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Bula gersa_11
It is always a great pleasure to receive such positive feedback as yours and we do appreciate that you took a moment to so this. We always like to meet the expectations of our guests so it makes us all here so very proud to hear from you that we have been able to do this. We are very fortunate as managers to have such amazing staff so thank you also for acknowledging them. We hope you both returned home safely and we do look forward to seeing you here again the next time.
Vinaka Vakalevu
Helen & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
There are newer reviews for Gecko's Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I found Fiji ridiculously expensive so was happy to find an affordable hotel with good reviews. However, perhaps this raised my expectations somewhat. Gecko's is fine, but nothing special. The rooms are clean but lacking in facilities (the tv's don't work, the fridge makes a horrendous noise, the towels were dirty). The location is opposite the Shangri-La but you can no longer use their facilities. As with all places on the main island in Fiji, hotels are spread far apart so you need to use a driver to go anywhere. Service we actually found fairly poor, we were practically the only people staying there and perhaps because of this felt like the hotel was trying to squeeze as much money out of us as possible. $25 per hour to extend checkout when no-one else is there? Won't serve breakfast a minute past 10am? Just some small level of flexibility would have been appreciated to make us feel like we weren't the world's biggest inconvenience! It was perfectly servicable but we won't return.

Room Tip: All rooms are centred around a grass courtyard and seem very similar.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Gecko's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Bula Sarah J
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience at Gecko’s Resort, all feedback is taken very seriously and used to see where we can improve to keep up our great reputation as posted on various reviews.
It is regrettable that you received dirty towels? We do have an environmental friendly policy displayed; if towels are not on the floor then they will not be replaced that day. However had we been made aware that you required new towels they would have been exchanged immediately.
We can only apologise that your expectations weren’t met however we do feel that some of your other comments are surprising and unwarranted.
Another member of your party took the time to stop me on the day you all checked out and comment that the decision to stay at Gecko’s Resort whilst here in Fiji to attend a wedding at the Intercontinental (20 Minutes drive away) had been the right decision and that they had enjoyed their stay here?
Yes you are correct; the T.V’s in the rooms do not have a very good reception, if you’re lucky you can get one channel maybe two, we do however chose to keep them in the rooms for people to use on rainy days and utilise our free DVD library, there is also the large screen TV in the bar area which is turned on most of the day for all our guests to utilise.
Regarding flexibility at Breakfast, I see from your bill that your breakfast order on the 18th June went through to the Kitchen at 10.16am? We do have to have a cut off point for the end of breakfast as our lunch begins at 11am and the kitchen needs to be have the time to be able to prepare for this.
Concerning the following comment of yours:-
“we were practically the only people staying there and perhaps because of this felt like the hotel was trying to squeeze as much money out of us as possible. $25 per hour to extend checkout when no-one else is there?”
We had 75% occupancy during your stay and the week of your stay we served over 450 meals and that does not include breakfast and lunch. If you compare our food and beverage menu to other resorts in Fiji you will find we are very competitive on price for the quality of meals supplied. This is a fairly good endorsement for the popularity of our Restaurant and the reason we get patrons from all along the Coral Coast dining with us.
For check out, generally if the room is not needed for a check in then we are able to be flexible however unfortunately the day you and most of your party checked out we also had a number of other checkouts as well. Being a smaller Resort we have to plan carefully so that rooms are prepared for check-ins, next day early morning check ins and an allotment of Rooms available for walk ins.
Again we regret that we were unable to meet your expectations however I do hope some of the explanations above will help to clarify things for you.
Vinaka Vakalevu
Helen & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Our accommodation was excellent,clean and comfortable. The restaurant provides a great range of delicious food for adults and children,and the bar is well stocked.The dance show is great fun.Helen and Darren and staff were wonderful,especially when we had a family crisis back home.Overall a lovely experience and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Gecko's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Bula Vinaka Lizzie88 and thank you so much for your fantastic review of Gecko’s resort. It was wonderful to meet you all, and we so enjoyed having you visit our little hidden gem. We so appreciate your very kind words, we hope all the family are well and hope to see you all again very soon.
Vinaka Vakalevu
Helen & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Thanks goes to Darren and Hellen and their beautiful staff @ Gecko's. You all made our stay, as well as our friends stay such a wonderful wonderful experience. We had a beautiful family wedding across at Shangri-La, so many family members came over to eat with us at Gecko's. The Australian wine wasn't over priced as compared to other establishments. Food was superb and the Fire Show was a big hit with us all. Be sure to book in on either Friday or Sunday night, to avoid disappointment. Thankyou all once again for a most unforgettable as well as memorable Fijian experience. Can't wait to go back again.
K & K

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NannySuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Gecko's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Bula Nanny Super
Thank you for reviewing Gecko’s Resort, we are so proud to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. It is always a great pleasure to receive a positive review such as yours and we were pleased to hear that you returned home with such warm memories of your time here.
Once again, thank you for your kind review it was a pleasure having you and your family and friends here with us and we hope to see you at Gecko’s Resort again in the not too distant future.
Vinaka Vakalevu
Helen & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our accommodation at Gecko's had some minor issues, but the food at the restaurant was very good. The hot and cold water in the showers was extremely inconsistent as it would not maintain a constant temperature and fluctuated between very hot and very cold. The food, though was very good with an amazing choice with the children's menu. I have very rarely seen this kind of choice for children anywhere! The adult meals were also excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Gecko's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Bula Ampster
Thank you for taking the time to add your comments and we are pleased that you have taken a moment to give us some honest feedback along with a great review on our Restaurant. It is our personal responsibility at Gecko’s Resort to ensure that all our guests are able to enjoy their time here with us so we are truly sorry to hear about one of the issues that you experienced with the room during your stay. Had we been made aware of them during your stay I can assure you that everything possible would have been done to make your stay more comfortable so our sincere apologies. Thank you again for taking the time to comment on your experience.
Vinaka Vakalevu
Helen & Darren McPhee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I was in Fiji for a wedding in June 2014. I stayed at Shangri La but I wish I had of stayed at Geckos instead. I ate daily at Gecko's resort the food was beautiful and very well priced, the staff were absolutely lovely and remembered everybody's name. Several family members stayed at Geckos resort and when I saw the rooms there they are no different to the rooms at Shangri La. I was amazed to see how big the fridges were in the rooms at Gecko's! I would recomend Geckos resort to anyone travelling to Fiji for amazing service and value for money. Thankyou to all the staff for making our family dinners a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Gecko's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Bula Vinaka Karen and thank you so much for your fantastic review of Gecko’s Resort. We so enjoyed having you visit us regularly and we do appreciate you taking time out to post your very kind words. We all look forward to you staying here with us next time. Vinaka!
Helen & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stay at Geckos every time we go to Fiji, usually every year and wouldn't stay anywhere else when on the Coral Coast. We stayed recently in May on very short notice and it was great to see all the lovely staff again who make it feel like home and Helen and Darren the managers. Our little boy always hates to leave there and thinks all the staff are family. The food is great and cheap and the cultural show and firedancing is excellent no matter how many times you see it..what a talented energetic young dance troupe! Amazed at how many guests from across the road came to eat each night at our restaurant...guess that says something about the quality of the food and service ! I love it there and wished we could have stayed longer this time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janbula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Gecko's Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Bula Jan
Hope you and the family are all well? We do thank you again for your wonderful review, and we hope you have all returned home safely with more warm memories of your stay at Gecko’s Resort. Moce sota tale from us all here until the next time.
Helen & Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
8.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,080 reviews
2.8 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
13.5 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 9 in Sigatoka
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,661 reviews
24.5 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#7 of 9 in Sigatoka
503 reviews
0.6 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Resort

Address: Queens Highway | PO Box 14 77, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range: £46 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gecko's Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Gecko's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko`s Hotel Sigatoka
Gecko's Resort Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing