We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value across the road from Shangri-la”
Review of Gecko's Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gecko's Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value across the road from Shangri-la”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Stayed for 6 nights. Very friendly staff. Rooms are basic but spotlessly clean. Very quiet for a relaxing time. Food is exceptional. All the guests from Shangri-la over the road come to Geckos every night for dinner. Very well priced, much cheaper than most resorts. Beds are very hard though. Fire dance on Friday and Sunday nights is a must see, and make sure you book. Drinks are good prices, especially in Cocktail hour 5-7 each night. Day spa is excellent and very affordable. Good resort for savy travellers who want good value for money. Restaurant gets busy with visitors from all other resorts coming and bringing all their kids. Breakfast is included and beautiful. We missed out on the cultural tour because the staff got mixed up as to when the guide works but otherwise they genuinely try to help and are very friendly.
Grab a local cab driver and go into Sigatoka or the little village just outside Sigatoka and get a true cultural experience of pottery being made. Locals value you visiting their village. TV reception is terrible except in the bar, with only two snowy channels. Grounds are kept perfectly, and all areas are spotlessly clean. Pool is very clean and there are always plenty of sun lounges and chairs available. Thank you to all staff for our wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Fridges in all rooms are extremely noisy. Rooms would otherwise be very quiet but fridge keeps you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Gecko's Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Bula AC
Vinaka Vakalevu for your review of Gecko’s Resort, the information you have provided is not only useful to us but useful for our future guests also so we do appreciate your time and all your feedback which we do take into account. You are correct about the TV’s, unfortunately due to our location the reception isn’t very good but we choose to keep them in the rooms primarily for people to watch the free DVD’s that we have. Sorry to hear that you missed out on the Cultural Tour, hopefully we will see you return again and we can get the tour organised for you next time. We are working on some of your other comments so once again, thank you for review and we hope to see you at Gecko’s Resort next time you are in Fiji.
Vinaka Vakalevu
Helen & Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    203
    97
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
120
108
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed there only 1 night, booked on Expedia. Located just off the road Nadi-Sigatoka, about 10 minutes drive from Sigatoka, and 3 minutes drive from the Dunes National Park. Rooms are good size, comfortable bed, good shower. No mosquito nets on the doors, no windows in the rooms other than floor to ceiling balcony type sliding doors. Light in the room is inadequate for reading or putting make up on, and you wouldn't want to have the curtains open in the evening, as everyone will see what's happening in the room.
Air-conditioning is good. Room has a kettle, tea and coffee, as well as sugar are provided. Don't remember about milk and water.
Had dinner at the restaurant there, nice food, usual selection of drinks at the bar. Prices are average.
They have spa and swimming pool on premises, but we didn't use either.
We arrived early, they were happy to leave our luggage at the reception, and keep our valuables secure.
Reminder to pay by cash, or pre-pay in advance, as everyone in Fiji charges credit card service charges.
Recommend for the short stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renatasydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Gecko's Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Bula Rentasydney
Thank you for reviewing Gecko’s Resort, it is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we are pleased that you also took a moment to give us some honest feedback; your points have been noted. Hopefully if there is a next time you will stay with us a little longer.
Vinaka Vakalevu
Helen & Darren
P.S. We do provide a complimentary bottle of water upon check in and milk is provided through out your stay for making Tea & Coffee (rather than creamer).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawera, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Excellent resort to stay for a relaxing holiday with a small pool and lovely grounds.
Only 15 mins by taxi to Saratoga for the shopping and about 2 mins walk to a small local village.
Fantastic staff and the room and bathroom was spotless although the bed was a little to hard for me.
The food was of the highest quality with a large and varied Menu and was also very well priced.
All in all a great place to stay for couples or families.
Free Dance and Firer display on Fridays and Sundays which was really excellent.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to be the same quality and all were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lester1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Gecko's Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Bula Lester
We hope you are both well? Thank you so much for taking the time out to write your great review, we really do appreciate it. Great to hear that you enjoyed your time here relaxing with us, and we look forward to hopefully seeing you both here again soon.
Vinaka Vakalevu
Helen & Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at gecko's for 10 nights. We had an amazing experience. Aditea, ettah, Elenoa, Katalina, Elizabeth, Anna and all the staff treated us like family. The day spa is very affordable and I recommend the hot stone massage. Thanks Miri! The cultural centre is very informative and the guide provides high quality explanations. The drivers are helpful. Well worth it for the cultural show on either the Friday or Sunday night. Happy hour is 5-7 and they have great cocktails. Pool table is available. What more can I say? We will definitely be coming back <3 vi naka geckos!!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MissGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Gecko's Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Bula Miss Gall
Thank you for reviewing Gecko’s Resort and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
It is always a great to pleasure to receive a positive review such as yours and we were pleased to read that Aditea, Ettah, Elenoa, Katalina, Elizabeth, Anna & Miri our Spa therapist all left a lasting impression. Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to you coming to visit the Gecko’s Resort family in the not so distant future.
Vinaka Vakalevu
Helen & Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I'm from colombia and i stayed at Gecko's. Its beautiful, staff is really good and the food it's amazing. Always saying "Bula" hahaha they will be there for you if you need something like a Mud Chocolate Cake❤️ i highly recommend it, i love that hotel. One thing was the beds, hard as a rock but still good. Paula, Maria Camila and Kevin.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Gecko's Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Bula Kevin G
We do thank you for your review and for taking the time to post it. We hope you have returned home safely to Colombia with warm memories of your stay at Gecko’s Resort and the Chocolate Mud Cake!
Vinaka Vakalevu
Helen & Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Every review is correct. Husband, myself and our 5 and 7yr old stayed 6nights in two adjoining rooms for the price of one room at the Shangri La. Great for a relaxing break with just enough activities close by. Grounds were just fantastic for the children to play in. School holidays, but where are all the guests? We saw only around 10 of us there at any one time. TOP TIP We borrowed the bikes and cycled the costal road, left past many small villages to hundreds of friendly locals calling "Bulla. About 1km to small usable beach. Right, 3 mins to shops, including bakery. In general : catch a local bus to and from town for around $2 each instead of paying $15 for a taxi. Food=fresh and plentiful. Staff=exceptionally friendly. Rooms= clean and spacious. Bed= hard as rock. We upgraded our last night to Tokatoka hotel opposite Nadi airport. Fab hydro slide- check it out! All in all, I can highly recommend Gecko's.

Room Tip: If you need it, Wifi available close to reception, not in room. Room 35 has a softer single bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Gecko's Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Bula Alexa C
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Gecko’s Resort and for providing some feedback not only for us but also for our future guests, it is great to hear your comments and we appreciate your recommendation. Our apologies that the Wi-Fi was not available in the room for you; we listened to guest feedback such as yours and have now changed our provider so this has now been rectified. Once again, thank you and we hope to see you all at Gecko’s Resort again in the not so distant future.
Vinaka Vakalevu
Helen & Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We recently spent 8 nights at Gecko's Resort with our 3 young children. From the moment we arrived, the staff made us very welcome. Our check in was easy and our rooms, very spacious and clean. We had interconnecting rooms, which was very handy, especially having the 2 bathrooms! Beds were comfortable and the rooms were serviced to a high standard every day. Every staff member we met were very friendly and knew all our names!! The restaurant was fantastic. A good variety of delicious meals are reasonably priced. The Cultural Show was lots of fun and great entertainment. Thank you to all the staff who made our holiday a memorable one. We hope to visit you again in the future!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at Gecko's Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2014
Bula Vinaka Lisa P and thank you so much for the fantastic review of Gecko’s Resort, it is so good to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. It was wonderful to meet you, and we so enjoyed having you visit our little hidden gem. We do appreciate your very kind words, and hope to see you again in the future.
Vinaka Vakalevu
Helen & Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
8.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,021 reviews
13.5 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#4 of 9 in Sigatoka
354 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
24.5 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
491 reviews
8.5 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gecko's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gecko's Resort

Property: Gecko's Resort
Address: Queens Highway | PO Box 14 77, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gecko's Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gecko's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gecko`s Hotel Sigatoka
Gecko's Resort Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing