We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautiful, tranquil place to stay”
Review of Beach Cocomo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sigatoka
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beach Cocomo
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most beautiful, tranquil place to stay”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My hubby and I stayed at Beach Cocomo for only 2 nights. We wish we had stayed longer. We were there to attend a wedding up the road at the Outrigger so we had 3 nights there after Cocomo. We walked up to the Outrigger (30 mins) to visit other guests, spent the day and caught a cab back. We were very happy to return to the peace and tranquillity of our beautiful beachfront bungalow.
Marie was very hospitable and full of information and knowledge on things to do, see, buy, eat etc etc... She is very friendly and very welcoming as were all the staff.
The Bungalow is beautiful, big and very clean. The bed is huge and very comfortable. Marie cooked our dinner and breakfast both days in the beautiful little hut overlooking the ocean. On the second night we had a 10 course meal which was great as we got to try lots of different things. We took our duty free alcohol and mixers and had drinks on the verandah of an evening then took them across to dinner. Of a day you could just stroll, lay, explore on the beach with Wishbone (the faithful dog) as your chaperone. After our stay we moved onto stay at the Outrigger and although very nice it was also very expensive for any food, beverage or activities. I really recommend that if you are heading to the Coral Coast, do yourself a favour and add a stay at Beach Cocomo. Also if you are looking for cheaper transfers use the yellow cabs from airport. We paid $80FJD to get there and you can meet other cab drivers once there and we paid $70 to return to the Marina as we then headed to Lomani (Plantation Island) which was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
42
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have just returned from 10 days at Beach Cocomo. We were looking for a relaxing experience for us and our 2 y.o. daughter and we got this and more. Isolated from crowds for the peace and quiet which is what we were after, yet easily accessible to Sigatoka town and other resorts and attractions via taxis or local buses for distractions when we fancied this ($10-12 FJD taxi or about $2 each for a bus).

We were shown genuine hospitality from the first step on the property by Marie and her diligent
staff (Ako, Bunny and Alipate). All the girls acted as Aunties to our daughter which added to our enjoyment.

The Food was one of the highlights of our stay. A fusion of Asian and Fijian cuisine, sourced with a careful eye for quality and organic content, cooked with love by Marie and her girls, and consumed with pleasant conversation on local culture, trip advice and other fun topics. Fresh coconut juice was available, chopped straight from the trees upon request. Fijian pancakes for breakfast with fresh fruit mixed in yogurt and/or wild honey, great coffee and a view from the traditional dining hall of the beach and sea.

The rooms and service were perfect for our needs: big bed, cot, a second bed for lounging on, plenty of chairs and room to move, fridge and tea making facilities with first rate servicing every day. A large balcony faced onto the the village style gardens (maintained by Alipate with care) and the sea beyond (25-30 m away to the beach).

The beach was amazing. Soft sand although we know why it is called the coral coast, with the tide depositing numerous coral and shells on the high tide mark daily. A 2 minute rake and we had a great sandy spot for us and our daughter to while away the time. Approximately 50 m up the beach we discovered a large lagoon style area clear of rock and coral deposits with soft sand under foot to wade (or swim at higher tides). We recommend taking thongs of wading footwear just in case you step on something sharp as is the case with most of the resorts we encountered during our stay.

Having visited a couple of other resorts, 3 and 5 star, during our time, it reinforced our decision as the right one to shun the bigger resorts in favour of this home-stay style resort. If you need "Hoopla" or variation in cuisine, you can launch from Cocomo and visit a show or activity at one of the neighbouring resorts (Outrigger is about 5 minutes Taxi trip away) and return to sanity when your done.

Beach Cocomo provided us an experience that we were unlikely to get elsewhere and we highly recommend this place to stay and relax for a couple or young family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I had heard great things about the restaurant so made the trip from my resort to Cocomo just to eat the food. Marie does a wonderful job of cooking authentic Fijian cuisine with an Asian twist in the tiny and adorable kitchen. I loved talking with her and hearing about her experiences in Fiji. Going here is a much more authentic experience than what you will get at a resort!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merri87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed for 8 nights and loved every minute. The hospitality was warm and friendly, the food was superb, such a relaxing time with wonderful hosts.

Beach was empty it felt like our own little paradise (apart from Wishbone the dog of course!)

We will be back!!.

Andrew and Paula

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hipnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed at Beach Cocomo for seven days in July 2013. It is a small comfortable and very relaxing place. The owners Isao and Marie are nice and friendly. They did everything they could to make us feel welcome and make our stay even more enjoyable. I would certainly recommend Beach Cocomo for a nice and relaxing stay in Viti Levu. People looking for accommodation in Fiji are probably interested in location, beach, activities, facilities and food. Here is a few comments on each topic.

Location. Beach Cocomo is about 15-20 min drive from Sigatoka in the direction of Suva and a few minutes drive from the large Outrigger resort. There are a couple of resorts within a walking distance, but none too close, leaving the whole beach to you and the guests at the other bure. It is on the main road, buses dropped us off right at the doorstep. you will hear some of the road noise, but it did not bother us, as it was blended with the sound of the ocean.
The beach is nice and clean, with plenty of magnificent shells. It is south facing, which means that you can always find a shady spot if you want one. It is washed regularly by high tides and feels pristine in the mornings. There is good snorkeling, probably as good as it gets by Viti Levu standards, but don't expect endless coral gardens. I don't think you'll find them anywhere in Viti Levu. Having said that, we found plenty to look at while snorkeling right in front of our bure. Beautiful patches of coral, lots of small and medium fish. We saw many moray eels , octopus, puffer fish, stingrays, all sorts of crabs and mollusks in huge shells, big clams, anemones, and lots more. There was enough for us to explore for seven days and we could use more :-). There was some really beautiful soft and hard coral too. If you are not much into snorkeling, about 20 meters to the left of the restaurant is a nice sandy patch to swim and relax. Even more traditional sandy beach is a couple of hundred meters to the East (black sand).
We found plenty to do there: mainly exploring the beach, walking to the reef at low tide, relaxing on the porch with a book and playing with Wishbone (a very friendly and incredibly smart dog who seemed to adopt us and look after us). At low tide, you can take very long walks either way on the beach, at high tide you may get wet or need to climb up to the road. We are not surfers, but if you are, Isao is a great resource as a trainer and guide. You can take a trip to a waterfall and some other tours, but we were very content without them.
The facilities are basic, but comfortable. Both bures are built on a sandstone outcrop and surrounded by very well maintained garden, creating nice ocean views through the greenery. Bed linen and towels are sparkling fresh, the room is meticulously cleaned every day. Water is sourced from a mountain spring, and as such the pressure is just adequate. There is a small fridge. Blissfully, no TV, no swimming pool. I really agree with Brendan's review in that regard.
Last, but most certainly not least, the food. It is truly well prepared, creative, healthful and very fresh fusion of Fijian, Japanese, Korean and other asian dishes, cooked especially for you with a true desire to please. We did have one a meal at the sunset strip, but did not repeat this mistake afterwards. Marie's food was so much better and certainly a great value.
We loved the place and would definitely recommend it to people who look for a simple quiet and relaxing experience.
Thank you very much, Marie, Isao, Ako, Semi, Mary and of course Wishbone!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angostura22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

If you genuinely prefer about 600 white people and 4 bars and 5 pools and buffet food for $FJD50 a head and a room for not less that $FJD450 a night in the high season - then please, go down the road to the Outrigger, or further down the road to the Intercontinental (which is newer and on a better beach).

However.

If you like to experience life more as the locals do. Simpler. Surrounded by natural beauty. Staying in one of only two guest-houses on the property. Eating delicious Fijian/Asian fusion food in a burre on a knoll overlooking a lagoon, playing and exploring the knooks and pools of the beach right in front, and snorkelling in that surprisingly vibrant and rich lagoon, marvelling at the coral and the tropical fish - then you have found your place.

It does not have a pool. It does not have a hot tub. It does not have beach service for your fancy cocktail (make your own! From your own supplies!).

We stayed in the "deluxe" house, which has plenty of room, a deck that looks through trees to the coral reef, a fridge, a comfortable bed, and a shower that is low pressure but suitable. It was clean, and always well cleaned. The staff are native Fijian, who live on the property. It is owned and run by a Japanese surfer dude and his Korean wife. They are all good people. Everyone was great to my 20month old son - and I mean genuinely great.

It was a totally brilliant experience for my son, who was able to commune with nature, be loved, and eat well.

I expect Beach Cocomo is self-selecting. This place is either right for you, or it isn't. And if it is, then, like us, you will be very happy indeed.

Room Tip: Go for the Deluxe room - be aware though, that both guest houses are relatively close to a main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Natalie and I had an absolutely stellar time at Beach Cocomo. This little gem of a getaway is nice and open on all sides, the beach is coral and there is a reef right out front. We really relaxed and we loved the company of all who were there.

The food was fantastic. My wife is a vegetarian and I a meat eater. Each night Marie and Ako prepared a amazing spread. Such great food and totally different each day.

Thank you all so much for such a wonderful time at Beach Cocomo.

xo
David and Natalie

ps - give Wishbone a squeeze for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darthurlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
3.2 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 9 in Sigatoka
353 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,021 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
10.3 mi away
Gecko's Resort
Gecko's Resort
#5 of 9 in Sigatoka
335 reviews
1.8 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Cocomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Cocomo

Property: Beach Cocomo
Address: Lot 1 Navoto Sovi Bay | Coral Coast, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEACH COCOMO offers two en-suite cottages nestled amongst tropical gardens, facing the beach. Our location, perched on a slight elevation overlooking the Pacific, ensures amazing views and lovely sea breezes. The cottages are serviced daily. We are located on the beautiful Coral Coast, about 90 minutes from Nadi and 15 minute drive from the colourful and vibrant market town Sigatoka. Visit us to relax, beach walk, swim, snorkel or surf.....And ENJOY THE COCOMO EXPERIENCE AND TRUE FIJIAN HOSPITALITY. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Beach Cocomo Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing