We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good variety Menu”
Review of Gecko's Restaurant

Gecko's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$27
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Gecko's Restaurant is located at Gecko's Resort opposite the Shangri La's Fijian Resort and Spa. Breakfast 8am - 10am Lunch 11am - 3pm Dinner 6pm - 9pm Happy Hour 5pm - 7pm
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Good variety Menu”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Their stakes are excellent :) We could not try seafood as they could not get lobster in during our stay but everything we tried was of good quality. Their fillet Mignon is exceptional.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    106
    21
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gympie
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a welcome relief restaurant, we were stuck at shang ri la with very ordinary food, we ventured to geckos and wow.... nice and clean, great service, the staff are brilliant and friendly... the food is exceptional especially the seafood.... Lobster and crab is beyond awesome..... If your at the coral coast seriously give geckos a try it is superb, we are heading there right now for dinner on our last night in fiji...

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank matt p p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Trust the reviews and eat over here”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The reviews are right - this is a great option for people sick of the food at the Shangri-La and much better value. We would have gone back, but it was full on their cultural nights. The mud crab and the lobster were both winners. They even arranged transport for us. Go!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taxistarfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Anau
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Crab”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were staying at the Shangri-La and went over to Gecko's for 3 dinners.,the food was very good (especially the crab) and staff very attentive and friendly. We thought the prices were very competitive especially when comparing to the Shangri-La (about 20% cheaper at Gecko's). They provided a free cultural show 2 nights a week; we preferred this to getting hassled at the Shangri-La to pay to attend their own show.
Overall Gecko's provides a great dining alternative and I would encourage guests at the Shangri-La to have dinner here, you wont be disappointed

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bikehikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely ”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here many times during out stay in Fiji. The staff are very friendly, the cultural show is a must! I would also recommend coming for lunch and getting the grilled chicken! Sam's special is one of their best cocktails. Also a great place to come and visit the cultural centre during the day.

Helpful?
Thank MissGall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gecko's Restaurant also viewed

Sigatoka, Coral Coast
Coral Coast, Viti Levu
 
Sigatoka, Coral Coast
 

Been to Gecko's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing