We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So much more than just a holiday. The "real" Fiji.”
other travellers have booked this property
No one ever tires of this view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
No one ever tires of this view
Family bedroom Spend hours on end watching the colours
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
No one ever tires of this view
Family bedroom
Spend hours on end watching the colours
Stand up paddle at sunset
Sunset from the deck
Wow
Totoka Kalou from the ocean
Open plan living
Open plan living
Open plan living
One of many stunning cloud formations
Maui Bay Beach
View over clubhouse, pool & jetty
Walking along the beach to Naviti
Zipline at Pacific Harbour
Kids love visiting the Hideaway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Sigatoka, Coral Coast, Viti Levu

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Iain S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So much more than just a holiday. The "real" Fiji.”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
6
people found this review helpful

Apologies if this is long but I feel it needs to be written out this way.
We flew to Fiji with a few plans in mind. Hang out with friends (Fiji first timers) at a resort for a week, hire a car and drive to different places on the main island, stay in a private house, visit a few villages and make donations to them (we brought children’s books, stationary and clothes in extra suitcases).
Well; staying in the resort was nice, everything was clean, community pools were awesome, food was good and all activities were organised, easy. Our kids and our friends had a great time. I thought it was expensive and bland. I could have done almost exactly the same trip without leaving the country. It was great to be in the sun and not at work but… even the Fijians seemed restricted.
The next part of the trip was driving to the Coral Coast and staying at Totoka Kalou. I was warned it might be hard to find and noticed that google and apple didn’t really have it on their maps, BUT the maps sent to us by Kerry were perfect and made it easy to get to. I’d bought a prepaid SIM so using my phone for GPS was simple.
The day we arrived everything was beautiful, the house keeper (Sereana) and her husband (Ben) were at the house and welcomed us as family. Sereana had prepared us a beautiful meal for the night so there was no need for us to lift a finger on day one. Ben climbed a tree and fetched us several coconuts which we drank and ate for the next few days also.
Getting to know the house was easy, it has a very simple layout, easy to keep clean and well positioned for a fantastic sea breeze, position also allowed for a sunrise and sunset view every day. Air conditioning was not really needed but a nice perk. A great draw-card was the filtered water from a tap which we used for almost everything. No more buying litres of water every day. There was plenty of room for all 7 of us (including 4 Adults).
Wifi was easy to use and great to have. The TV, satellite and hard drive were good for keeping the kids at bay when needed.
The pool was a short hike down the hill and the kids loved it. It was great to have the (house provided) flotation beds and rings provided. I must say that we could have come to this house with only the clothes on our backs and still have had everything we needed already there. Down to the local activities and attractions listed in the house manual everything was quite well set out and available to us if we wanted.
The local service station and shop (a stone’s throw down the hill) had all our daily needs covered much cheaper than resort prices. Even at a pinch Sigatoka was only 25 minutes’ drive away and had anything you could ever want/need.
Maui Bay it’s self is a great location with a beautiful inlet & pier and lots of wildlife and things to see and do. Walking across the reef at low tide was a favourite activity for the kids. Sunsets were magical and you could walk those beaches forever… There are many locations, businesses and attractions very close by the house. We did as much as we could in the time we had.
We took a drive to Suva on a rainy day and it was not too far and worth a look. Kula Eco Park is a must see for those into the wild side of things. Our daughter did the ranger for a day activity and had a great time, handling, feeding and caring for the animals.
Speaking to the (unrestricted) locals gave us the opportunity to ask about visiting an inland village which we were privileged enough to be granted. Sereana and Ben helping us organise this. This experience was the most impactful thing I have done in a long time. We drove inland through rugged, absolutely awe inspiring views and countryside to an isolated village where we were accepted into the village as members of their community via ceremony. The local school children performed several dances, songs & speeches for us. The adults made us food, Fijian floral leis, sang and conversed with us. We gratefully presented our donations and they showed us through their village as family. We visited their homes, swam in their river and our children played as equals. We were truly honored and humbled by these beautiful people. I can’t emphasis enough what this meant and how it felt.
On the last day of our trip Sereana organised “Lovo” (Fijian name for a feast cooked in the earth) for us. She helped us go to the local market and purchase the best produce. We had traditional decoration, ceremony and foods, a guitarist that sang us songs and finished the night with a few fireworks. A night to remember. All of the house workers were so welcoming and warm we all felt at home.
Before it was all over we were already trying to organise our next trip to Fiji and it will feature more Totoka Kalou and less resort.
I’m more than happy to recommend staying at Totoka Kalou if you want to see the “real” Fiji.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Staff
Liked least: Steep hill was inconvenient at times.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
Wow...Iain and Robyn! We are truly humbled by your review and how open you were in embracing Fiji and its culture - your spirit welcomed a truly magical experience connecting with the real Fiji and our incredible staff. Vinaka vaka levu for the inspiring review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Departure...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing veiws in Paradise”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Comfortable, beautifully cared for home that supplies all your needs for a wonderful relaxing family holiday. The house keeper and staff add to your experience with the knowledge of the local Fiji culture. Lots to explore in the Area from resorts, Local markets to the wild life, even the odd power cut added to the adventure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners of the property were Fantastic
Liked least: The Power cuts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Oct 2016
Glad you made the most of your stay - yes power cuts since Winston have been a little more common. We are in the process of getting a backup generator organised though. Vinaka for your review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKwithJ
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 12 days in Tokoka Kalou in July 2016. This was a very enjoyable and relaxing time. The accommodation and its location is superb. The beach and jetty is only 10 minute walk down the hill. Having renting a car, we could visit local attractions, such as Sigatoka Sand Dunes National Park and Kula Eco Park, as well as could relax in numerous resorts on the coast. Tokoka Kalou is a great place to stay.
We will remember Sereana for her kindness and helpfulness, and her husband Ben for showing us his skills of climbing palm trees, playing local music and preparing lovo. We truly recommend Tokoka Kalou as an excellent holiday destination and would love to return there again some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The people (Sereana and her family) and the house.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
Vinaka for your kind review. Sereana enjoyed hosting her first Polish guests and would be delighted to do so again one day. We are very pleased that you had a memorable holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simmons26...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place and people”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful Spirit is right, this is Fiji. The people, the surroundings and our Sereana are more than beautiful. The house was spacious and filled with the Fijian touch and modern touches. Everything was immaculate.
This was a truly amazing experience for our children especially to mix with locals and learn so much of the Fijian culture. My son and daughter had the most memorable experience thanks to Sereana and her beautiful family.
The house was so spacious, and with the bedrooms at either end of the house my husband and I had our own space (retreat) and our kids had their own private sanctuary. Maui Bay was a great place to stay. The wharf was a great place for our kids to meet other kids their age and have a great time. The water and the sea life was truly amazing. I cannot fault anything about Totoka Kalou, I must mention Kerry the owner is the kindest and most generous person, always available to email or speak to you no matter what time of the day it is. We truly loved our experience and on our next holiday to Fiji we will definitely return to Totoka Kalou. Thank you Sereana and family for your kindness and ongoing friendship and thank you Kerry for a memorable stay in a truly beautiful home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The scenery
Liked least: Power outages
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2016
Wow....we are truly humbled by your review and kind words, and so glad to hear your stay was made memorable by Sereana, her amazing family and the lovely locals who hang out at Maui Bay Jetty. Sereana adores hosting wonderful loving families like yours and looks forward to your return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bauanrose
Afghanistan
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Recommend”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My brother Jon and his wife Zoe thankfully found Totoka Kalou by accident online when they were looking for a big enough place to accommodate his family of 4 (including his wife), my parents, our other brother and myself. Well I don't think it was by accident that they stumbled across Totoka Kalou but a blessing in disguise for us.
The house was absolutely beautiful and views from the balcony to die for and one could only dream of when in Fiji.
I totally recommend this beautiful house to families wishing to have their space and the staff that work their are so friendly more so Sereana who looked after us during our stay here.
Thank you Totoka Kalou for having us and we will definitely return when the family get together again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing not to like
Liked least: Nothing was very pleased
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
It was a delight for Sereana and our team to host your lovely family. We have been very blessed to find this healing view and look forward to sharing it again with you next trip. Vinaka for staying with us :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenelle M
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Take me back to Totoka Kalou”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Loved every single moment at the house in beautiful Maui Bay. Gorgeous views to wake up too, beautiful " house angels" that are now friends - Sereana and her family are beautiful, friendly , helpful, fun people - lots of laughs and lots of "fiji hyper" times together! Amazing lovo nights, delicious curries cooked by Sereana, clubhouse a good resource to be able to use but I was always more hot from the walk backup the hill than going down! Great opportunity to get the heart pumping!
Would probably choose to go back NOT in monsoon season! Very humid when we there- tropical depressions and cyclone warnings! Lack of power due to the upgrading of all power lines across Fiji- so completely out of any ones control - limited power to work fans and air con made for some sticky moments.
All part of the experience and a fantastic one at that. Thank you Kerry for allowing us to experience the beautiful spirit that is Totoka Kalou.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
You are very welcome - it was a pleasure. Cyclone/Monsoon season was worsened this year by the elusive El Nino....but we are hoping to improve our back up power system very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Still dreaming of Totoka Kalou - we miss you!”
Reviewed 10 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

It is hard to do justice to Totoka Kalou with written form. Words are not able to explain the richness of the experience. The nine of us - two families - had amazing week and I think a 'beautiful spirit' captured us!

We arrived in the evening and we were warmly greeted by the House Angel, Sereana. She really is an angel and had prepared a lovely chicken curry for our dinner. The house was easy to find with comprehensive instructions provided by Kerry via email. In the morning we stepped out onto the balcony and had the most amazing view of the coast. It was a peaceful and calming experience to be able to sit and watch the morning unfold.

We had hired a car which made it easy to visit the local resorts and use their facilities. We also used the Maui Bay pool and club a number of times. It was an easy 10 minute walk, though it is pretty steep, but easily done unless you are frail or quite elderly. There is plenty of beach and reef to explore and there are kayaks and paddle boards and a pool you can use.

The highlight of the whole week was the Lovo that Sereana and others prepared. We had a big feast - eating like a Fijian! There was music and dancing and Kava. Some were nervous about Kava but it was easy to take and the small amount didn't affect any of us.

The house is amazing, Kerry (the owner) was always available on sms to answer queries and Sereana and her family are angels. She kept the house spotless every day, she cooked when asked and her kids and husband Ben are gorgeous, friendly, funny and charming.

Our second week was spent at a resort which we enjoyed, but I think we have Totoka Kalou in our blood. We miss it and are already planning a return.

We will have to go back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Vinaka Andrew for your kind review! Those open to the spirit are easily captivated and Sereana and family had a wonderful time hosting you all. I think they grew very attached and would love for you to visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing