We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent pefect family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent pefect family holiday”
Reviewed 16 March 2011

travelled to the outrigger with my husband and two children.Was our first overseas trip as a family.On arrival was greated with a big Bula by the friendly man at the front gate.Excellent start to our holiday.
The ladies from front desk were also exceptional and friendly on arrival.
Were taken to our Bure where we were greeted by a note from our butlers Tave and Zak.Couldnt do enough for us during our stay.Ventured to the pool were my kids spent the next 8days doing all the activities and being kept amused by the boys from the activities hut Joe,Tai ,Masi and the others all were fantastic and got my boys involved in teverything that was on offer during the days.My boys were dressed up and helped Tai and JOe with the torch lighting ceremony that is performed every night what a great experince for two young kids to be allowed to do.Could not fault any of the facilities at this great resort.
Personally i have worked in hospitality for the past 20yreas and this place i could not fault.Food great,Service exceptional and friendly and the boys from activities well what can i say excellent excellent excellent.First time to fiji for my family and we are going to make it a yearly holiday very very very impressed.
Talai butler service was exceptional and even catered for my boys Tave and Zak a job well done. All the staff knew my boys boys by name after day two and always made them feel welcome.
A great holiday would highly recommend this resort for any oneand families you can get a great deal and stay in 5 star style. see you all in 2012.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nelly224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JasonZvatoraFiji, Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 March 2011
Bula Nelly224,

Thank you for your kind feedback. Our team was delighted to read your comments, particularly your Talai Butlers (Tave and Zak) as well as Joe, Tai and Masi from our ever excited Activities team. We are pleased to be able to provide a uniquely Fijian experience to your children with their participation in our torch lighting ceremony. I am sure that this will be one of the many great stories that they will tell to their friends back home.

Nelly224, we are delighted that you have had an “excellent” holiday and even more so that you will remain with our Outrigger Vuvale (family) and return for your yearly holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Vinaka and warm regards,

Jason Zvatora
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,852
    728
    271
    78
    43
See reviews for
1,491
849
37
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (933)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2011

After a 2 hour bus ride to the resort, which at times is tedious, bumpy and seemingly forever (the infrastructure in this country is a best wanting, underlined by witnessing a horrendous crash) we arrived at the resort, a most impressive and welcoming sight at 10 pm, the Lobby and reception desk were an oasis, all the previous few hours were washed away.

Service is exceptional and the Fijian staff, eternally effervescent are a credit to the Australian (70%) / Hawaiian (30%) run business and it is this face that is the key to its success.
Room (727) was very comfortable, well equipped and had what I can confidently say is the most comfortable bed ever.....We even looked at the manufacturers details and will be getting one of those......(sad I know, but it is fact...the bed was superb)

The daily champagne and canopes to the room was a nice touch.....but if I see another resort reccomended spa / activity on the TV I'll.......State TV in some Communist countries would do well to check this out.......
The beach is OK, and not a strong feature of the resort.....hence the largest resort pool in the South Pacific........the pool / restaurant/ bar facilities here are very well set up and familiy friendly with plenty to do throughout the day if you want to participate in the numerous activities that are well communicated and broadcast regularly by the resort animators who pump out the volume with their mobile speaker box and mic.....

You are a captive audience here so watch closely your spend, it is all to easy to 'book it to your room sir'......and get a compound accumulative shock at the end of the vacation. Prices within the resort are strangely inflated given that three minutes down the road on a hotel trip to visit a 'village' a large water and soft drink cost half as much as one water in the hotel, . A hotel of this grade should have your bill available for review at all times in your room, food for thought Mr Hopgood? Or maybe not ;)

Paying cash seems to freak the system at the bars......try it...

Wet weather program is well communicated and was pressured into service during our stay, the food is very good and varied, of particular note was Restaurant Supervisor Tamarisi, she was attentive, professional and made us feel very very welcome. I run a large Operational Team and would recognise her as a business asset immediately.... a real gem.
With the Sundowner bar out of service for the next few months (I would love to see the Gantt chart plan to refurbish this building) this sees a 25% reduction in bars and restaurants on the resort.

A great stay that met all our criteria for rest and relaxation, but the resort is a great candidate for 'all inclusive',

Loved: the Fijian quiet and serenity

Disliked: The 'book it to you room' inflated prices business model.....

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 March 2011
Dear Princesscardiff
The team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji, are absolutely thrilled that we could provide you with a relaxing, revitalized holiday!
Tamarisi, our restaurant supervisor is an absolute legend! She actually won the best employee award in all of the Outrigger Hotels, worldwide last year!
We were pleased to note that you enjoyed the many and varied activities around the resort! There is plenty to do at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
We were somewhat surprised by your comments on the price of our food????
I am not sure that you would find too many other resorts where you can pick up a pizza for AUD$12.00, full buffet dinners for under AUD$35.00 per person and for that matter a High Tea for 2 people for under AUD$12.00 a couple! The prices down at the corner store are certainly cheaper but you would find this situation anywhere in the world!
We have noted your comments regarding cash transactions and we have addressed this issue with the relevant staff in our Baravi Bar.
Princesscardiff, once again we thank you for your positive feedback on the resort! We look forward to the day when you return to Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

My partner & I (and his sister) stayed at the Outrigger for 5 nights in May last year and it was awesome all around. So awesome that I have to do it in dot points:

- we were given an upgrade to two adjoining rooms. The rooms were very very spacious, very clean and so comfortable. Absolutely no complaints whatsover.
- the breakfast buffet was my favourite meal of the day. There are so many choices and all of them were delicious.
- the service was exceptional & all smiles.
- there are a few restaurants in the resort that you don't even have to venture out. We went to the 5-star fine dining resort (the Ivi) and had a great night. We also had pizzas and cocktails at the Sundowner Bar. There are themed dinners at the main restaurant where the breakfast is served (Vale ni Kana). And the pool-side restaurant is also worth going to especially if you fancy a day lounging around the pool.
- the pool wasn't very big but still big enough to get away from the kids. Thankfully, school holidays just finished when we went.
- on our second night, we were invited to a free drinks get together at the bar on the top of the cliff which is just gorgeous!
- the spa & the ladies that work there are heavenly. I went for a massage twice (fell asleep on the second one because it was so relaxing) and a pedi/mani. the facilities are clean and obviously well cared for.

All in all, it was a very relaxing holiday. There were a few annoyances but not even worth mentioning. As I said in the title, my partner & I, our family and our friends are all going back to the Outrigger in October 2011 for our wedding. I know that we're all going to have a beautiful time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Dear Globality
Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji in May last year!
We are delighted that you and your partner and his sister had a wonderful, relaxing time at the resort!
It sounds like you had an unbelievable treatment at Bebe Spa – The girls tell me that falling asleep is the ultimate compliment!
The team at the resort are really looking forward to welcoming you back for your wedding in October! We will most certainly invite you back up to the Kalokalo Bar for sunset cocktails!

Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We arrived at this resort for the first time with our family of 6 and 2 friends. We generally stay in australian resorts. WOW what a difference, aussie resorts can take a leaf out of the book of hospitality of Fijians. BULA!!!! to our of our new found friends Keylera, Anna, Aseri, Marica, Naomi , Basil and many more who made our stay the best we could ask for.
Nothing was too much trouble for our Talai butler service, buggy drivers, house maids and restaurant staff. Our Beach front Bures were kept beatifully clean, the cocktails were great and the IVY restaurants steaks the best we have ever eaten.
We will be back next year, we had planned doing Hawaii but after this hoiday its hard to imagine anything better. Congratulations to the GM Peter Hapgood on providing this unforgettable holiday.
Vinaka
Bruce Fenton

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muzza2235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2011
Dear Muzza223
Bula Vinaka from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
They were absolutely thrilled to read your comments on Trip Advisor!
We were all delighted that both yourself and your friends and family enjoyed their Outrigger holiday!
The individual staff members, mentioned in your review, will be acknowledged at our Employee of the Month awards!
The hospitality of the Fijian people is second to none! I personally fell blessed that I have the opportunity to work with these wonderful people!
Muzza223, we are all very excited that you have decided to return to the resort next year! By this time, we will have completed our new Sundowner Bar and Grill, where I am sure we will catch up for a coldie!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We were there for a friend's
wedding recently. It was all you'd expect from a 5 star resort in terms of aesthetics. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. But there was no rush about anything. If you order a drink by the pool, prepare to wait 15 minutes for your change and another 10 for the drink. This didn't really bother me but my friend got very frustrated by it. Any suggestion of hurrying up is met with a relaxed comment about Fiji time.
We dined at the ivi, the gourmet restaurant. The food was excellent, but we booked for 7pm and didn't get our mains until after 9pm.

The other issue is paying for your drinks and food. They want to charge it to your room, but this doesn't work when you're sharing with a friend. It seems paying cash is a big irritation to them, but the whole roomcharge system works on an honesty policy as they ask for no proof of which room you're in. When we got the bill, there was over $300 charged in error. A couple had charged a dinner to our room, some restaurants charged us even though we provided vouchers, and there were spa treatments on the bill as well.
It took a long time to fix and was generally a poor experience upon checkout. I thought perhaps giving the door keys specific numbers, and requesting to see those before charging things to the room, would save a lot of drama - plus everything we deleted off our bill would have been free for someone else.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mipanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Dear Mipanda
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
A holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji is all about relaxing and taking time out – We apologise if you found the pace a little slow!
Our pool service staff do not carry change, hence the time it would have taken to provide you with change for your beverages! 99.9% of our guests are quite content to room charge!
We have noted your comment in relation to your account being incorrect on check-out – we apologise for this occurrence – We have addressed this issue with the relevant staff!
Besides this unfortunate occurrence we were delighted to learn that you found our staff to be both friendly and helpful!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the not too distant future!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

This was our third trip to Outrigger but this time we came with our five adult children, their partners and three small grandchildren - fourteen in all. Our previous butler Koroi was now head butler and we were welcomed like old friends. He did not cease to amaze us with his wonderful charm and consideration. He knew everyone's names soon after we arrived and seemed to know who was doing what at all times. The staff in all areas exceeded our expectatiions in regards to kindness and friendliness. Our butler Jonatani put up with our boy's antics and provided them with an ice filled eski and even had a go at aussie rules handballing.

This time around we found plenty of activities to do at the resort (and won a few prizes) and we also ventured out to play golf at the Shangrila resort and shop at Sigatoka. We found taxis an ideal way to travel and much cheaper than hiring a car. We were provided with a taxi van and baby seats for our day trip. The beach, although not like the island beaches still provided fun for the grandchildren and kayaking for the adults.

The bures are lovely at this resort and everything is beautifully maintained. Our family was impressed with the beautiful tapa in each bure as well as the attention to detail in the cleanliness of the rooms.

Bebe spa is my favourite spa. It is a wonderful place to have a champagne and tapas overlooking the ocean, have a luxurious treatment or laze on the day beds. Our therapists were kind and considerate.

The level of service in this resort would be hard to surpass and we know we will return again. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for the staff at Outrigger.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueUlysses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 March 2011
Dear BlueUlys
The team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji, sincerely thank you for your kind words on Trip Advisor!
We are absolutely thrilled that you could come back for your 3rd visit and bring with you the extended family!
Koroi, our Head Butler is an absolute legend! I am not sure if you were aware, but he has 5 children of his own! I am always amazed how the Fijians remember everybody’s names??
We were pleased to note that you enjoyed the new and improved facilities at the resort. The whole team are doing a wonderful job in making sure that all aspects of the resort present immaculately at all times!
I am also a big fan of the Kalokalo bar above Bebe Spa. Quite often my partner and I, pop up there for a chilled sav blanc and Tapas, to watch the stunning sunsets!
BlueUlys, once again we thank you for your positive feedback on the resort! We look forward to the day when you return to Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji for your 4th visit!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

This was my first trip to Fiji with my brother - from the moment we arrived at the hotel it was great Vanessa at reception is fantastic. We stayed in a Bure that had a Butler who where both great and extremly helpfull. We had four nights quick getaway from our busy workplaces. It was extremely relaxing with a lot of options to do on the days. From tennis, golf, kayaking, diving, snorkling, water sports and grass sports. The food was also great must go to the buffet it is really nice so are all the staff. I would definetly recommend this hotel to other people as it was truely fantastic even for our short 4 night stay. The hotel swimming pool is fantastic you can always find a place to swim by yourself it is that large.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BON3S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 28 February 2011
Dear Bon3S
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to advise other readers of Trip Advisor, of your recent holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
We were delighted that both yourself and your brother had an enjoyable and relaxing holiday!
We thank you for your comments about Vanessa at reception. She is a beautiful young lady who fully encompasses the warmth and friendliness of the Fijian people.
It sounds as though you experienced a great number of the activities that we have on offer and yes, the pool is enormous!
Bon3S, once again we thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip Advisor! Hopefully we will see you back at the resort for a longer stay at some time in the not too distant future!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
30.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
15.9 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
30.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing