We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best home from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best home from home”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

This was our families 4th time at outrigger in last 3 years, we are now planning, having already booked to return again for the children's birthdays in august.... Our family doesn't want to go anywhere else as we have never been disappointed with the hospitality and family friendly staff, the beutifull surroundings and the briiliant service..

Room Tip: we have never had a disappointing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Idsy
Greetings from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji - We sincerely thank you for your comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at our beautiful resort!
As you have rightly stated, our biggest asset is our warm and friendly staff – They are by far the best you will find in Fiji!
I guess your comment “Best home from home” sums it up!
Idsy, once again we thank you for your comments! We look forward to the day when you and your family, return to Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji for your 5th visit!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,920
    755
    283
    80
    43
See reviews for
1,560
873
38
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (960)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Amazing resort! Truly beautiful and caring staff, we had an amazing time staying for the week. From the giant Bula welcome when you enter the gates, to the daily Butler service, the incredible locals selling their jewellery and wood crafts through to the conversations with the staff over dinner about their village, culture etc we just could not fault this resort. The resort is great for families, but as a couple we had a very enjoyable time.

Only one small negative is how far away it is from Nadi and therefore most of the major tours. Means you have to do a bit of travelling back and forth but it is do-able and Outrigger is well worth the travel. A good idea may be to have a couple of nights in Nadi to do most of the tours and then a few nights at Outrigger to relax and make the most of the activities available (and the BeBe spa). There are some great tours down that way as well though - so make sure you do the Sigatoka River Safari tour (visit a village for the tour, an amazing experience) and the Zip Line.

All the restaurants are incredible, we didn't have a bad meal and ate in the resort most of our stay (we made sure to try every restaurant and the in room service) - the best is probably the Sundowner Bar followed by Ivi. Breakfast is great, huge selection - the fresh fruit 'bar' was our favourite.

We were very sad to leave - there was tears when it was time to say goodbye to some of the staff who we had formed bonds with on our stay. Cannot wait to go back again, to be married in the Chapel and share the whole Outrigger experience with our friends and family!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brodie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Brodie F
A huge “Bula” from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday! We are delighted that we could provide you with such a memorable holiday experience! We are thrilled that you have decided to come back to the resort for your wedding!
We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience at the Sundowner Bar and Grill and also took advantage of our huge breakfasts!
I have noted your comments regarding activities and excursions from the resort! Next time you return to the resort contact me direct and I will give you a few local tips!
Just down the road from us you can undertake surfing tours, jet ski tours, white water rafting, plus you also have the neiheihe cave tours!
Brodie F, once again we thank you for your warm and friendly comments! We look forward to the day when you return to get married at our beautiful resort!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The Fijian staff at the resort is absolutely awesome! The rooms are great. However, if you are looking for a Fijian experience, this is not it. It's more like a little Disneyland for families with young children. There is really no swimming in the ocean/lagoon nor is their any snorkeling...or at least nothing worth while. Because it's a lagoon and not any open water. For families with young kids maybe this is the place to go as there are lots of activities and babysitting available. For a chance to visit Fiji and the way of life, this is not the place to go. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed...not in the staff, the Fijians or accommodations but this resort could be plunked anywhere in the world and you wouldn't know the difference. Not easy to get to any kind of shopping or "outside" world...just a big resort. Really disappointed. Since we only had breakfast included, we did eat out every night. The first being at the resort which was extremely expensive just for a pizza and salad that we shared. After that, we learned to walk out of the resort (towards the ocean) and turn right...going up right after the resort ends. Along the street are some much better and more affordable places to eat. Our favorite, by far, was KoKos at the end of the road which is about 1/2 mile pleasant walk. The Bedera Hotel was also nice as was Le Cafe. Make sure to eat there as not only better food but at least half the price!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms seemed to be what we thought was best. Quiet and a view. I certainly would not wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Julie C
Greetings from the isle of smiles! We thank you for your review!
We are obviously disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us! I have noted your comments stating that your experience at Outrigger was not a Fijian experience. Of all the resorts in Fiji we fully embrace the Fijian culture! I am not sure if you had the opportunity to attend the fire walking ceremony, or the torch lighting ceremony, attend the lovo feast or in fact spend some time with the Fijian staff to talk about their culture and their lifestyle! I not sure if you took the time to visit the local villages or undertook the neheihei cannibal cave tour. On top of this you could have undertaken the Sigatoka River safari to the villages in the middle of the island! Seriously there is so much to do which provides you with a Fijian experience it is not funny!
I have also noted your comments regarding our lagoon – as our name suggests Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji, we are located on a lagoon. There is wonderful swimming, snorkeling and kayaking from mid tide up to high tide and back down to mid tide????
If you were looking for shopping – totally wrong place – maybe Hawaii would have suited you better! Whilst we have 6 retail outlets at the resort, the main attraction for our guests is the stalls set up by the Village Ladies who sell their local arts and crafts (Once again another wonderful Fijian cultural experience).
In regards to restaurants, Outrigger on the Lagoon. Fiji is recognized as the number one resort for restaurants in all of Fiji! We have superb quality restaurants offering char grill, pizza, Asian, fine dine, and buffet dinner dining options!
Julie C, once again we thank you for your comments! To be honest I don’t think this was the ideal resort for your requirements!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

This was our second trip to Fiji and was due to our friends getting married at the Outrigger resort.
The resort is an hour and a bit drive from Nadi, but is located in a very picturesque part of Fiji near Sigatoka. We discovered that nearly all of the staff come from the local villages and we found that seemed to make a big difference to the service "care factor". The resort would be the primary employer in the area and staff seemed to take great pride in their work, their country and their guests. This was quite different to our last stay at the Westin Denarau, where the resort was gorgeous, but the service so-so.

We travelled with 6 other families including 12 kids b'w 7 and 18. The kids had a ball due to the excellent lay-out and facilities. Though the weather was only good about 50% of the time, they used every available second of sunshine to play water volleyball (amazing fun), go to the beach or just hang out around the lovely pool. The adults enjoyed the pool, the bars, the day spa (try the "Romantic couples massage"...excellent), the golf driving range, the gym, tennis, and the on-site night life. One of the highlights (other than the wedding!) was the Sundowner bar/restaurant by the sea with incredible coastal view, talented live singer/guitarist and great cuisine. Each night there was local entertainment, of surprisingly good quality, in the main buffet hall. Breakfast was also in the main buffet area, and whilst nothing exceptional, was very pleasant.

Another highlight was the cocktail making lessons which were absolute mayhem, thanks to young-gun cocktail expert, Usaia V who was a lot of fun. The only real downside was the cost of the extra's we incurred without really trying very hard. The shock when we got the final bill was a downer, however we should have been more careful with our (and our kids) poolside ordering. Be aware!

There were good onsite laundry facilities too, which meant we didn't have to waste money on expensive valet services. In summary, a great self-contained resort for families, weddings and a tropical break.

Room Tip: Careful of the misleading named "Ocean View Rooms" as very few of them have actual ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul_mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Paul_mac
What a great review!
You have truly captured the essence of what we are all about at Outrigger at the Lagoon . Fiji! Lots of fun and activities, yummy food, outstanding accommodation, beautiful gardens and most importantly, the best staff that you will find in any resort in the Australasian Pacific region!
You are 100% correct about our team - they are very, very happy and extremely proud of their resort!
As you have found out, the Bebe Spa is an unbelievable couples retreat! In fact it was voted the number one resort spa in the Australasian Spa awards in November 2011!
Paul_mac, once again we thank you for your warm and friendly comments! We look forward to the day when you and all your friends return to our beautiful resort!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

The resort was beautiful. A few thoughts:

The beach:
It was an okay beach. It was corally and rocky and low tide seemed to be frequent. Saw some jellyfish while kayaking, so didn't want to snorkel (when it was available during high tide).

The food:
Breakfast was amazing every morning. Fruit cart, made to order omelets, smoothie shots, and something sweet made fresh (waffles, doughnuts, banana crepes, oh my!) Apaisai (restaurant manager) and Mahendra were great and helpful. They made us feel like special guests and always took care of us.
The Sundowner had a great location. Pizza was just okay. Had a salad that wasn't the best but mentioned it to the executive chef (Shailesh) who took care of us.. A little overpriced if you ask me (food and drinks).
Ivi Restaurant was wonderful. Definitely fine dining. The special made orange crepes for dessert were amazing. Thanks Shailesh (amazing executive chef)!
You can find some good food and small bar ambiance just off the resort a two minute walk down the beach and the prices are great.

The room:
Nice, but nothing extravagant. Showers are small. Patio chairs aren't the most comfortable.

The staff:
Wonderful staff, friendly, authentic! We almost cried during Ise Lei, a song the reort staff sings to you on your last night...a bitter-sweet, somber, but grateful farewell. We'll miss the amazing people of the outrigger.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bersababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Bersababe
Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji. We are delighted that you both enjoyed your time with us! I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our infamous buffet breakfast! The fresh fruit and smoothies are to die for! I will most certainly pass your comments onto Api and Shailesh! How good is the Ivi Restaurant – We have just introduced a new menu and the feedback has been exceptional!
Thank you for your wonderful comments on our staff – They are what sets us apart from all of the other resorts in the South Pacific!
Bersababe, Once again we thank you for your warm and friendly comments – We look forward to the day when you return to our beautiful part of the world!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamlyn Terrace
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Cannot believe the horrible comments on here about the outrigger we stayed for 10 nights in a ocean front room in lagoon wing and every thing was fantastic the staff were all amazing not fake at all they totally went out of there way to make us feel so welcome.The beds were so comfortable room very clean housekeeping fantastic. The food was great the service fantastic the talai butler service was a great added bonus with great service every afternoon on our stay.The beach was always clean and yes it's shells not sand that's why it's called the Coral Coast.The pool was beautiful and the grounds was so well looked after.I have no negatives at all as we had weddings when we were there and yes they partied till the wee hours but never interuppted our sleep once and now my brother has gone to the outrigger as well as we told him all about our fantastic holiday.We are a married couple with no children and we had a special fun holiday and now my brother is there with his best mate and they can't say enough great things about the outrigger as well and having the time of their lives. Its just so disappointing to see people have such bad comments to say as we went to nadi and surrounds and couldn't wait to get back to the outrigger as this was the real Fiji the real holiday feeling and the people we met on our holiday at the outrigger were all having the same excellent experience holiday as we did.The activities were fantastic so much to do we ran out of time to fit everything in. Yes it is a family resort but us as a couple also had the relaxing holiday we so needed.Plenty of time spent laying quietly by the pool. A huge thank you to all your amazing staff for making our holiday so special.Thank you outrigger and we will be back one day again soon Vinaka big bula to you all :)

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NitaTimFerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Bula Nita TimFerrier
Greetings and a very big “Bula” from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
We loved your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed the friendly service from our team! We have the best staff of any resort in Fiji and our team are what sets us apart from all of the other resorts! We definitely offer a true Fijian experience! I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the many and varied activities at the resort – There is seriously so much to do, both at the resort and also in the local region!
My recommendations for day trips are the Sigatoka River Safari, Whales Tale sailing expedition and the Pacific Bay Jet ski Tour! For the ladies you can’t go past the Bebe Spa and for the gents a round of golf at Natadola International Golf course is exceptional!
Nita TimFerrier, once again we thank you for your wonderful comments! We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort at some time in the not too distant future!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We decided to go to Fiji as it was closer to home and cheaper then going back to Club Med. I reviewed all the the resorts to see which had the best kids club and food and chose the Outrigger. The flight was good but then there is an an hour & half car trip to the resort which was not to bad.
The main problems we encountered were that my daughter and I both got a bad vommitting and diarrhoa bug, assuming from the food which took us both a couple of days to get over.

The kids club was not very good in comparison to Club Med (we were spoilt). My daughter was bored and asked not to go back after the first day where as at Club Med I couldn't get her out!

The buffets was average and there was no night entertainment.

The worst thing for my husband and I was that there was nothing to do in the resort itself apart from lay by the pool. If that is what kind of holiday you want then this is perfect but we like to do things like water aerobics or yoga or kayaking and apart from the gym which was small there was no other activities you could do apart from the ones you had to pay for. We went for a walk one day outside the resport but there was not much to see.

The other negative for us is that you cannot swim in the beach so you are limited to the pool, which I must admit is lovely.

When it rained we were bored so we got a taxi into town but the shoppong is poor so don't waste your time or money.

Of course the highlight for the kids is getting their hair braided, but book in early!

Unfortunately we won't be going back and Im not sure if I woudl rush back to Fiji at all.

Room Tip: Make sure you pick th Deluxe Room as the butler coming to your room every afternoon at 5 with a glas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear SuzieWoods
We have noted your recent comments on Trip Advisor and we are obviously disappointed that there were aspects of your holiday that did not meet your expectations!
For this we sincerely apologise!
I have noted your comment regarding your daughter and yourself becoming ill! I assure you that the quality of our food is exceptional and it would be highly unlikely that you had contracted food poisoning! Unfortunately at the time of your visit, there were several guests that had viral infections which resulted in tummy bugs – I can only assume that this was the reason for your illness!
I am somewhat surprised by your comments regarding our Kids Club and activities at the resort! Our Kids Club is rated as the best in Fiji and the feedback from our guests is extraordinary! We offer a wide range of activities at the resort! We do provide snorkeling, kayaking, water polo, pool aerobics, tennis, scuba diving, golf driving range plus many other activities! You can also book tours to go fishing, Jet Ski tours, jet boat tours, sailing trips, white water rafting plus many other adventure activities!
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed swimming in our monster swimming pool and also took advantage of the hair braiding!
SuzieWoods, we thank you for your comments!
My team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji are all about delivering an exceptional holiday experience! We are all disappointed, that in your case, we have not achieved this goal!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,620 reviews
30.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
30.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing