We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great family resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“A great family resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

My partner and my two children have recently returned from 6 nights at the Outrigger. It is definitely worth the 75 minute drive from Nadi. Upon arrival we were upgraded into a Ocean Breeze Bure. The Bure was a good size, really clean and tidy and the best thing about it was its close proximatey to the beach and pool . We enjoyed a very lazy holiday and basically lounged by the pool all day and did a lot of swimming. The restaurants were all great (you must get a fillet steak in the Sundowner), food of a high standard and the service staff in the restaurants were really friendly and welcoming. Part of our package deal was 4 days of MeiMei (nanny) service. We signed up for this but quickly realised that the kids were expected to be with the Nanny for 8 hours every day. My girls are 8 and just wanted to be by the pool and swimming so we flagged that. In hindsight it would have been better for the girls to come and go from the kids club as and when they wanted to as opposed to having a dedicated nanny. The MeiMei service would be much better suited to those travelling with babies and todlers. My partner and I used the gym. It was well equipped and maintained. We had such a lovely time I am reluctant to mention the negatives but...... We had one pool waitress whose english was so bad she couldnt write down an order. On two occassions I had to rewrite the order docket when it was given to me to sign because what I had ordered and what was written down were to completely different things. The biggest disappointment to me was the music volume coming from the cocktail bar at night. This got progressively louder from about 11pm and woke my family. On the Saturday night it was particulary bad and went on until about 2am. I think this is really unacceptable at a resort that is full of families with small children. I appreciate that there were weddings most days that we were there but for the sake of all the guests at the resort (and not just a handful) the music should be killed by midnight. I asked to speak to the manager about this but no-one fronted.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwiggyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Bula TwiggyW
Greetings and a very big “Bula Vinaka” from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
We thank you for your review! I was delighted to read that you, your husband and your two girls had such a memorable holiday.
We have noted your comment in regards to young lady serving you around the pool, not being able to speak English – We apologise for this occurrence and we have taken the appropriate action. We have also addressed the issue in relation to the volume of music coming from the Vakavanua Lounge!
Thank you for your wonderful comments relating to our restaurants – We rate our restaurants as the best in Fiji!
TwiggyW, once again we thank you for your comments. Hopefully we will see you again at some time in the not too distant future.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,922 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,824
    715
    263
    77
    43
See reviews for
1,464
834
37
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (924)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

Peter and the staff at the Outrigger were fantastic, from the time you entered the resort it was just like going home. They were so friendly and helpful you could not ask for more. Food and service was excellent, you could not want for more. We will be recommending the Outrigger to everyone we know that are looking to go to Fiji for a holiday. They just seem to go that extra bit further to make sure that everything is alright for you. Fantastic place, love it.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear Michael B
A huge “Bula” from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
Thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday. We also thank you for your positive feedback. Your comments on our food and service are very mush appreciated. Yes, our team do go that little bit further when it comes to service!
Michael B, thank you for your wonderful comments – All of my team looks forward to the day when you return for your next visit to our beautiful resort!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Bula, and Vinaka to everyone at the Outrigger on the Lagoon, Fiji, where there is something for everyone.
I was fortunate enough to be staying with a large group of family and friends for my daughter's wedding. It was an absolute dream and delight. If you're looking for a destination wedding, the Outrigger is the place to go. Amongst the group of 49 people, we had every combination possible. The mature couples, the young couples, couple with young children, couple with teenagers. Everyone was well looked after by the amazing friendly staff where they treat you like family.
We also had every type of accommodation from the Superior room, Ocean Deluxe room and family Bure. Again, everyone was happy with their rooms, and the service was excellent and friendly. Some things are done of Fiji time, but hey, that's fine, why rush, we're there to relax.
Amongst the group we managed to try everything the resort had on offer. From the Mei Mei service, the Kids Club, adult spa treatments, dining at every restaurant, kayaking, snorkelling, water aerobics, swimming, golf, coconut bowling, crab races, cocktail making, tapa painting.....the list goes on. Every day there were cocktail of the day, and we tried to have every one.
The buffet breakfast was magnificent with a different smoothie shot to try each day. The Ivi Restaurant was a truly wonderful experience of fine dining. The food was beautiful and the service amazing. Meals were prepared at our table and the crepe Suzette is a must. As are the liqueur coffees. The Baravi Bar was a great choice for lunch or cocktails by the pool, and the Sundowner may be famous for it's pizza, but they do a magnificent steak too. The Kalokola Bar is the perfect spot for adults to sit, and unwind in the quiet surrounds.
The wedding was absolutely perfect. The Chapel offers amazing views and everything is planned down to the finest of details. The banquet staff were fantastic, and made the wedding that much more memorable. Their attention to detail was faultless. And after lots of encouragement, joined in our dancing and singing, which topped off the night. Vinaka vakalevu to all involved, it was perfect.
We also had a fantastic morning at the Kulu Eco park that is a short walk under the road from the resort. An informative, and wonderful experience was had by the adults and children, with lots of snake and reptile handling. Well worth a visit.
The Sigatoka River Safari is also a must do. A magnificent time on the jet boat, and an uplifting experience in the village, where we were welcomed with a traditional kava ceremony and had a wonderful lunch prepared by the women of the village.
Others in our group experienced a variety of activities that can be arranged by the resort; a visit to Sigatoka town, Sigatoka Cave tour, sailing around the islands, diving and even a helicopter trip for the wedded couple.
Our time at the Outrigger can be summed up by this remark from one of the kids when we arrived back in Melbourne, "I'm sure we left something behind, can we please get back on the plane and go get it" Everyone is talking about 'next time' already.
Som moce for now, but not for long.
Vinaka Vakalevu to everyone at the Outrigger

Room Tip: I stayed in a Superior Resort Room and it was ample. No-one in our group complained about any of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear LeeW27
An outstanding review!
Thank you for taking the time to provide positive comment on your recent holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji. We are delighted that we could provide you, your family and all of your friends with such a memorable holiday experience! I seriously enjoyed reading your commentary on all of the activities that each and every age group got up to! As you have clearly stated, we cater for all ages at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
I also appreciate your wonderful feedback on the wedding. Our wedding planner, Asmeen and our Banquets Manager Jack Johnson do a superb job in looking after our wedding clients. It was also good to see that your group ventured out of the resort and visited the Kula Eco Park and also undertook the wonderful experience of the Sigatoka River Safari. This is the best thing about a holiday at Outrigger – There are so many adventures within easy driving distance of the resort.
LeeW27, once again we thank you for your comments! In closing let the children know that they did leave something behind at the resort – lifetime memories and lots of friends!
All of my team looks forward to the “next time”!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burwood East, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

The staff are wonderful. Rooms are amazing. Food is fantastic in all areas of the Resort.Singing at meal times was the greatest part of my evenings just the fantastic atmosphere you get from the sounds of their voices. All areas of the resort are looked after to make your stay one of the great adventures of a life time.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the beach are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Glenn526
Greetings from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji - We sincerely thank you for your comments! We are delighted that we could provide you with such a relaxing holiday!
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the wonderful entertainment from our serenaders. We have 3 troupes of serenaders that just wander around the resort entertaining our guests. Personally I think it beats electronic music any day!
I was also pleased to read that you enjoyed your meals in our restaurants.
Glenn526, Once again we thank you for your review! We look forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, VIC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This place is proof of just how much difference good service makes to a holiday. In all honesty there were a few gripes that we had with the rooms etc but the service was just so friendly, the staff made us feel so much a part of their greater Fijian family, that I would feel disloyal to tell you about them. Instead I will give you an example of the type of service I'm talking about. There is a crèche beside the breakfast buffet that you can drop the kids into for free while you finish your breakfast in peace. After leaving our 14 month old baby there I returned after less than half an hour to find Maria, who we had never met before, locked in a cheek to cheek embrace with our baby and it was hard to know who was enjoying it more, they were both so clearly deeply lost in their happy place! Now I don't doubt for one second that Australian crèche workers do an incredible job but this is something again - how the staff here can treat every child like their own niece or nephew when they must deal with so many new children every day that are gone again tomorrow means that this attitude is not just part of the job but a deep seated part of their culture. And it's not just with the kids it seems to be almost everyone doing every job with such joy that it is absolutely infectious and does manage to make any gripe seem unimportant. This was our first time in Fiji though so I can't compare it with any other Fijian hotel - perhaps it is just the fantastic Fijian people that make it so good and as such this level of service can be expected throughout Fiji...?

There was just one gripe I had though that even the best service could not make me overlook and that was the food. The buffet breakfast was good as was the food at the Sundowner Restaurant but the rest needs work. Enough said.

Room Tip: Bures are essential for a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappiestAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear HappiestAway
Bula and Sunny greetings from Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
It sounds like you and your family had an amazing holiday! Thank you for your comments on our meimei nanny service – We are definitely blessed with a wonderful team of professional nannies! I loved your commentary on the wonderful bond between your baby and her meimei nanny, Maria! As you found out it also allows Mums and Dad’s to have quality time together and actually get to have a holiday!
HappiestAway, once again we thank you for your warm and generous comments – we look forward to the day when you and your family return to Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

This resort was wonderful. The staff here were so friendly and welcoming. It made the whole experience that extra bit special! The room was as described and pictured on the website. If you purchase the meal vouchers you are able to eat at three different restaurants, including a buffet, and can order either an entrée and main or main and dessert (per person).
Food was great, service was great and the room was great!
The buffet breakfast has absolutely EVERYTHING and the Bebe day spa is an experience you will never forget.

Room Tip: The deluxe ocean view rooms are great. The also come with the Talai butler service (nightly canapés...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaijay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Dear kaijay123
Sunny greetings from the Coral Coast!
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji. We are delighted that you had such a wonderful holiday experience!
As you have described, it is the staff that make Outrigger so special! I also thank you for your positive comments in relation to our meals – We seriously believe that the cost of meals at the resort is very reasonable indeed! I also love our buffet breakfasts – so much to choose from!
Kaijay123, Once again we thank you for your review. My whole team looks forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort, at some time in the not too distant future
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My family and I traveled to Fiji in September 2011. Two adults and a 9 year old child.
To start of I don't have a single bad thing to say about the place. It's amazing. The only draw back would be the distance from the airport, it took us a while to get there, over an hour and a half, on the other hand it is very well located when it comes to hiring a car and visiting all sorts of attractions, like the cascades. The resort is very well appointed and you get this relaxing island feeling as soon as you step of the bus. The staff at reception were extremely friendly, just like every other staff member at the hotel. We were offered an upgrade to an ocean view bure for a ridiculously low amount, a deal we just couldn't refuse. This, probably made our holiday even better than we could of hoped for. With the ocean view bure came a private butler. She was amazing, helpful and so very friendly. We mentioned that our wedding anniversary was coming up in a few days, she remembered, brought in a cake with the number of years we were married for written on a cake as well as a choir that sang a wonderful sounding song.
The food at the main restaurant was very well prepared, the verity was outstanding and the entertainment was not too intrusive, just right. The food by the pool during lunch time was very tasty, especially these tiny chicken sliders.
The pool was great as well, our son spent most of his time in it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamg0d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear iamgOd
Greetings from the isle of smiles! We thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us! As you have highlighted in your commentary, we are blessed with a wonderful resort – How beautiful are our staff! They seriously enjoy engaging with our guests and ensuring that they have a wonderful holiday experience!
iamgOd, once again we sincerely thank you for your comments! We look forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
30.6 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
30.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
15.9 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing