We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed for a week over the Easter period. The hotel is about 1.5hrs drive from Nadi. It is located on the south side of the island on the Coral Coast, not far from Sigatoka Township. The resort has a number of different rooms.

The rooms are not overly large but they are comfortable. Ours had a couple of minor maintenance issues like the air conditions was running cold all the time regardless of the temperature setting and the fan in the bathroom died on the second last day of out stay. The rooms can be a little bit noisy depending on the neighbours but otherwise there are fine.

There are a couple of outside activities we did from the hotel. The village tour and Sigatoka shopping tour are both recommended.

Alcohol and Fuji Water are expensive compared to the outside. If you do the shopping trip early in your stay get some supplies from town. You can also get water from the resort general store which is a lot cheaper than at the bars. The tap water is also ok to drink.

The restaurants are good but they can be expensive. We got a package with all our meals included which was the right way to go.

As others have said the beach is not pristine white sand but coral because of the reef around the island. You can still swim from the beach. There are a couple of pools in the resort.

The Fijian staff are fantastic. The are genuinely warm and friendly people with a wicked sense of humour. It is the people which make Fiji.

Room Tip: Request a top floor ocean view or an ocean view bure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpalmer2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Bula jpflying,
Thank you for choosing to spend your Easter break with us and taking the time to review your experience on trip advisor. Firstly, I would like to apologize for the maintenance issues within your room and will address this with our Executive Housekeeper and Engineer. As you have indicated, our resort offers a great value meal plan. This provides breakfast, lunch and dinner at the resort for FJ$154.80 (AUD$90). I am glad you found our team of Fijian staff to be fantastic. They most certainly set our resort apart from our competitors. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jason Zvatora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,837
    725
    266
    77
    42
See reviews for
1,475
843
37
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (928)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Outrigger is a fantastic family resort. Friendly staff that have that friendly village islander feel that help you to unwind from the moment you walk in. The resorts definitely not 'new' but very well established gardens and grounds and well looked after. We got an incredible package deal with MyFiji.com that included everything we needed - highly recommend checking them out if your thinking of going to Fiji. The new adults pool area expands the appeal of the resort beyond just 'family time' (we enjoy couple time aswell on our family holidays!). The shots of the beach and coral overstate how good it is (much better beaches and snorkelling out on the islands) but it is still much better than the Denarau beaches (murky water, dark coloured sand). The Bebe spa on the hill is also a must! We went all out at the spa because we had a 1,000 credit from My Fiji.

Well done Outrigger and thanks for a great holiday.

Room Tip: for families, if you can afford it go the Bure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Sara B,
Thank you for your kind feedback. You have hit the nail on the head as to why we call ourselves a “Traditional Fijian Village Meets 5 Star Luxury”. A great tip in your review to make sure you do not miss our opulent Bebe Spa. Our Bebe Spa has been awarded the best Destination Spa at the Australasian Spa Awards and it is a must do. My personal favourite is the Bebe Vakaviti.
Sara B, thank you again and we can’t wait to welcome you back to Fiji.
Kind regards,
Jason Zvatora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Our family of four stayed at the Outrigger on the Lagoon for 8 days recently and loved our stay. The staff were genuinely wonderful people, the facilities were excellent (the pool fabulous), gorgeous weather, lush grounds. Our children loved the Kids Club and were very sad to say goodbye. Given the size of the resort and number of kids, I can't recall ever hearing a peep in our room (we were in the Ocean View rooms). The beds were soft and the friendly valet service was appreciated.

Our only sad moment was discovering that there really isn't a nice sandy beach, but rather a tidal flat. Upon further inspection, however, the kayaks and snorkelling equipment allowed us to explore the critters and corals in the reef environment.

Be warned: food and beverages aren't cheap, but both are good.

Again, a fantastic trip. Thanks to the staff of the Outrigger.

Room Tip: We were unable to book a Bure, as they were in high demand, but they looked great! Closer to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Bula Smiley D,
Greetings from the isle of smiles. We are delighted to read that your whole family had a great Fijian holiday. The Kids Club most certainly keeps the children entertained so that the parents can also have a relaxing holiday. I also note your comments relating to the beach and you are correct, we do have a coral beach which provides an abundance of marine life to explore. We will most certainly share your comments with our team who will be equally as thrilled to read them.
Kind regards,
Jason Zvatora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Outrigger for a friend's wedding between 20 March 2014 and 27 March 2014. Outrigger wouldn't normally be the type of place we would stay at - we don't have kids so we normally go for the smaller boutique type accommodation. However, in the interests of convenience, we stayed where the wedding was. We were in a Garden Bure and it was very clean, spacious and comfortable. We prefer not to use air conditioning and there were great cross breezes but the aircon was freezing cold when required. The resort is immaculately presented and constantly being groomed by the ground staff. This is a family resort, so if you're anti-kids there is an adults only pool and bar area to escape the little terrors. The buffet breakfast is huge and covers all dietary needs - TIP - for peace and quiet, try going down to breakfast after 9.00am - most of the families have left and you can have breakfast without little Johnny beating out a drum solo on his high chair. Food and drinks are not cheap but are of a high quality and the exchange rate is in our favour by about 60%. Local beer and spirits are the cheaper option. The snorkelling is great once you get out a bit and there is plenty to see under water.

We had the "talai" butler service with our package and our two - Jonatoni and Celera - made the trip for us. Can't thank them enough, both beautiful people. Get to know your butlers, they are a wealth of local cultural and practical information. The afternoon champagne and canapes were different every day and something to look forward to, as were the night cap liquors and dessert canapes.

You must try the local cafe's and restaurants just down the road from the resort - we recommend Koko's. They have a courtesy van that will collect/drop you off. Go for the Carnivore burger and get the free beer!! There were no negatives on this trip, if the resort thing is what you are after then this would suit you to a "T". The wedding was beautifully done, the chapel is stunning, food brilliant and the local dancers awesome.

Only blemish was finding out that Outrigger still stung our dive operator for commission, even though none of the bookings or enquiries were done through Outrigger and no Outrigger resources or staff were used. I found the dive company on my own, Outrigger had nothing to do with it so this doesn't seem fair. If Outrigger had recommended the dive company or had done anything to earn their commission then fair enough, but this just seemed to be a money grab.

On the whole a positive experience and we would recommend Outrigger to others, especially those with kids. Not an ideal couples retreat, but they do manage the compromise between families and couples very well, which is no easy task.

PS - I had the best sapphire martini ever here and worth the price tag. The local vodka is cheap but also fairly nasty. Fiji Gold vs Fiji Bitter? Gold wins hands down. If you arrive via a private car transfer, ask your driver to stop at a market in Sigatoka to grab drinks and snacks for your room. That way the beer will cost about $4 FJ not $9.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a garden or beachfront bure - more secluded and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear darren m

Bula and sunny greetings from Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
We are absolutely thrilled to read that you and your wife enjoyed your holiday at our beautiful resort! As you found out, we are blessed with the friendliest staff that you will find anywhere in the world. I will most definitely pass your comments onto Jonatani and Kelera. I have noted your comments regarding the dive operations at the resort – I have addressed this issue with our activities team.
darren m, once again we thank you for your comments. All of my team looks forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort at some time in the not too distant future!

Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stopped off here on our way round the world for 10 days last year, took the advice from Auz travel that this was the place to stay ,"beautiful sandy beach etc" how wrong could we have been.
Beach is made up of broken corals from the reef that surrounds it and you need to wear something on your feet all the time. Staff are brilliant but thats about it, food is average and weather is hit and miss.
From what we observed its a great place if you want to come and dump your kid's off with the nannies so the parents can get pampered all day.
Very expensive place to stay as the whole resort is based around getting money out of you. If you are looking to stay here make sure you book the meal deals otherwise it's really expensive on the pocket.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chris_davies777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear chris_davies777,

Thank you for taking the time to provide review on your recent holiday with us. We are obviously disappointed to read that your expectations were not met. We strive to deliver fantastic Fijian holidays and we sincerely apologize that you did not receive this. I am disappointed to read that your travel agent incorrectly advised you of our beach! We do not hide from the fact that our resort is located in the heart of the Coral Coast. As such, our lagoon is more of a coral base rather than white a white sandy beach. However, we do provide reef walkers and we encourage our guests to get out and explore. The reef system directly off the resort is full of marine life and well worth an afternoon of snorkelling or one of the guided reef walks at low tide. Further to this, I am sorry to read that you found our Food and Beverage and the weather to be hit and miss. Whilst we cannot control the weather, we most certainly can control our Food and Beverage and as such, we will be sharing your information with our F&B manager and Executive Chef to address. We are known to have some of the best restaurants in Fiji. Whilst we appreciate we are not the cheapest, we honestly feel that we provide exceptional value in a great 5 star resort.

Kind regards,
Jason Zvatora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avoca Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Our experience was beyond our expectations. The location, hospitality, and the beautiful people of Fiji made our stay at Outrigger on the Lagoon one holiday we will never forget. Five Star all the way

Room Tip: Such a large property, every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazzy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Bula Shazzy2014,

Vinaka (thank you) for your kind words and comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and holiday at our beautiful resort. As you have mentioned, our staff are very special and go out of their way to provide a fantastic Fijian holiday. This is just one of the many reasons why we are continually rated as the best family resort in Fiji! We hope to see you back!
Kind regards,
Jason Zvatora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Travelled to Outrigger in September 2011. We had such an amazing time we are returning in July this year. The staff were outstanding particularly Finau (talai butler) and Ana (poolside service). I really am hoping that we will see them at the Outrigger when we return in July. The kids club was great, food was fantastic and overall environment, out of this world. So excited to be returning soon. Hope it is as good a place as it was last visit.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe ocean view room last time and have booked the same again. Would have loved a Plantat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejays12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Outrigger_Fiji_2013, Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Bula thejays12,

Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted to read that you will be returning in July this year. I am pleased to advise that both Ana and Finau are still with us and you will most certainly see them in July. I am sure they will be equally excited. Further to this, we have made quite a few improvements to the resort since your last stay and I am sure you will notice them. We can’t wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Jason Zvatora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
30.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
15.9 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
30.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing