We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort, Great Location, Pricey Food & Drink”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed at the Outrigger at the beginning of May for a week and really enjoyed our stay there. The resort seems to be a hub for wedding celebrations and families and it seems to cater well for this crowd. However, if you are looking for a quieter, more relaxing area for adults there is also an adults only pool equipped with a swim up bar and an eating area which was the pool we used mainly.

We got a taxi from Nadi airport which took a little over 1 hour and cost about $90FJD and upon arrival the staff really know how to great you with warmth.

BULA BULA BULA!

The staff at this resort really stand out, always smiling and making conversation. In fact the Fijian people in general seem to be one of the nicest people I've come across to date from my travels. They are 5 Star!

Our room was beautiful and clean, with a stunning view of the ocean. They offer kayaks, snorkeling equipment and paddle boards for complimentary use daily which we used often. The reef is pretty good also. Go a little further out (but not beyond the limits) and you tend to see more variety of coral and sea life. We spotted so many different types of fish, bright blue starfish, brittle starfish, an eel tucked away in a hole further out and a banded sea snake... not dangerous unless you attack it :p

The only negative for me was the price of the food and drink which seemed a little steep. After all it is Fiji and the prices should reflect that of the country you are in but instead it was the same if not more expensive than some places in the city centre of Sydney or London. We did spend a couple nights at a different resort where the food and drink prices were much more reasonable. Also the internet is very expensive if you wish to use wi-fi. These are the reasons I gave a rating of 4 instead of 5.

There is a local bus for only 1FJD to the town of Sigatoka which is worth a visit and the hotel does have many different daily activities which are either complimentary or come at a small additional cost. If you wish to book any other excursions, I would recommend the rafting on Upper Navua River and the Jet Ski Safari. Both of them were really good and they will pick you up and drop you back at the hotel afterwards.

Vinaka Outrigger, we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattSK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear MattSKO1

Bula and sunny greetings from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji! We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable holiday experience at our beautiful resort.
As you found out, it is our staff that makes the difference – unbelievably friendly and engaging! I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the snorkeling and sea kayaking from the front beach of the resort!
I have noted your comments regarding the price of food and beverage at the resort. As I have commented upon in several previous reviews our prices are very competitive indeed when compared to like resorts in Australia. One of our challenges in Fiji that a 42% import duty is placed on all goods imported into the country – This makes for very challenging times as we have no other choice but to import items such as wines, beef, lamb and many other items.!
MattSKO1, Once again we thank you for your comments - All of my team looks forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort.
Regards

Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,482 - 1,488 of 3,237 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Visited with adult family for 7 nights in an Ocean Breeze Bure. Reminded us of the Fijian Resort of 30 years ago with friendliest staff and the garden/beach atmosphere. The setting is spectacular with facilities to rival any resort in Fiji. Our bure was excellent with ample room and all 5 star facilities. The "butler service" each evening was a nice touch which you soon look forward to. The "adult only" pool is a great idea as this resort is definitely a favourite for families with young children. The only criticism I have is the price of food and beverages which are a bit over the top. I note that their management compare their prices to Australia but for these prices in Australia the quality is better and Australian wages are 5 times higher. Fortunately their are outside dining options if you are on a budget. Overall a fantastic resort especially for young families. I would love to visit again with my grandchildren who would have a ball.

Room Tip: Bures are the way to go especially those near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunshineCoastDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear SunshineCoastDenis

Sunny greetings from Coral Coast!
I am absolutely thrilled that you and your family had such a wonderful holiday experience at our beautiful resort!
It is easy to understand why Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji was voted as the “Number One Family Resort” in all of Australia and the South Pacific at the recent Trip Advisor “Traveler’s Choice” awards.
As you found out, our location with the reef and lagoon directly in front of the resort make for wonderful snorkeling and exploring opportunities. Whilst I agree with most of your comments in your review I must admit that I do not agree with your summation of our restaurant prices. After managing a large number of resorts in the Whitsunday Islands, Cairns and the Sunshine Coast, I can clearly state that the price of meals in Fiji are approximately 40% less than Australian resorts of the equivalent standard – PLUS – You are looked after by the friendliest, happiest staff you will find anywhere in the world!
SunshineCoastDenis, we sincerely thank you for taking the time to provide comment on your recent holiday at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji. We look forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort.
Vinaka and Warm Regards

Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is fabulous, the location is perfect, the staff were very friendly, the food is great & everyone loves kids there. Perfect ! There are boats/ kayaks and snorkelling, you can snorkel in the coral reef by the hotel.Fiji is wonderful and so are the people.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarlingM677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Mia D

Bula and sunny greetings from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji! We are delighted that you and your family had such an enjoyable holiday experience at our beautiful resort.
As you found out, it is our staff that makes the difference – unbelievably friendly and engaging! I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the snorkeling and sea kayaking from the front beach of the resort!
Mia D, Once again we thank you for your comments - All of my team looks forward to the day when you return to our beautiful resort.
Regards

Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Outrigger for 7 nights in early May. We had an amazing room that was metres from the water, and was great for watching the sun come up over the ocean :)
All staff were very friendly and went out of their way to ensure that we had a good time. They all seemed genuinely interested in getting to know the guests and making you feel part of the family.
The food and drinks were quite expensive. We purchased a 'meal package' ($159 FJD) for 2 days, which included breakfast, lunch and dinner. The vouchers can only be used at certain eating establishments, and even at the ones that accept them, certain things on the menu, require you to pay more for eg. steaks at the Sundowner Restaurant. We bought some food from the nearby town, and ate that some mornings, and tried some local restaurants that are situated next to the resort.
The Adults only pool was great to get away from all the kids and families, as well as the swim up bar :) There is a lot of Families and big groups, so if you want a quiet relaxing stay, may not be for you.
Make sure you head up to the Bar above the BeBe Spa, it's great for watching the sun go down over the ocean.
We went snorkeling most days in the coral reef located just off the beach of the hotel. You can also use the sea kayaks, stand up paddle boards, etc. Best time is when the tide is in, as it's easier to swim through the reef.
The bus to the local town Sigatoka is $1 FJD each way and it takes around 15mins to get there. There is also a local village tour which was a good way to see how the locals live.
Outrigger is also in a good spot if you wish to do any tours down in Pacific Harbour which is only 1 hour away. We went white water rafting, and a jet ski safari.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fortberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear fortberger

Greetings from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your holiday at our beautiful resort. As you found out our staff make all of the difference!
You can clearly understand why Outrigger was voted as the “Number One” family resort in the Australia/ South Pacific region as adjudged by respondents to Trip Advisor.
As you found out the price for food and beverage at the resort is very reasonable indeed, particularly if you use the meal package – AUD$90 for breakfast, lunch and dinner is outstanding value!
fortberger, I am absolutely thrilled that my team could provide you with such a memorable holiday experience. We all look forward to catching up with you again at some time in the not too distant future.
Vinaka and Warm Regards

Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have stayed at outrigger properties before and the Lagoon Fiji did not disappoint. The grounds are beautiful. The main pool is very nice but I enjoyed the adult pool the most. The food was very good at all the restaurants. We had a meal package which provided vouchers for 3 daily meals. Breakfast choices are the buffet or alacart rest. The buffet provides a larger endless selection. The alacartis a plate service of the buffet choices. Lunches have choices at the buffet and 3 other rest. The vouchers provide you with a appetizer or desert with entree choice.for lunch and dinner. The regular cost of all daily meals alacart would be 120 fijian dollars or 75canadian, 65US, 75AU. THIS DOES NOT INCLUDE ANY DRINKS. ALL DRINKS other than juices for breakfast are about 12-20fijian dollars. Alcoholic drinks are all in the 20filjianrange or 10US, 12 Canadian. recommend to buy bottled water offsite as a 1litre bottle of Fiji water is 8.50fijian. We went to a store offsite and bought 1.5Lbottles for 2.89 each Large difference and you will drink a full bottle each day in the heat.

The staff are all very nice. Semi, the room butler was exceptional. He brought a friendly refreshment to our room each afternoon which was complimentary. Semi was awesome.

We did two island excursions. Treasure Island and Castaway Island. The cost per person was around 200fijian or 120 Canadian. The Outrigger is about 1.5hrs from Denarau harbour, so the day is long. Each excursion was about a 13hr adventure half of which is travel on land and on the water. Castaway would be my recommendation if you chose one island excursion. It was paradise on many levels. Treasure island had better snorkelling right off the beach.

Overall a very good experience. Outrigger was a very nice property with good food. I was not crazy about the meal vouchers and the conditions but the alternative is alacart which will be expensive.Fiji is once in a lifetime for me and itwas a great experience.

Room Tip: Request a higher number room.away from the main lobby which can get noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Laen27
A huge “Bula” from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji!
We are absolutely thrilled that we could provide you and your family with such a memorable holiday. As you found out the best thing about a holiday at our beautiful resort is our amazing staff. I will most definitely share your comments with Semi, your talai butler. Thank you for your comments regarding the day tours that you can go on whilst staying at the resort – Castaway Island is also my favorite!

Laen27 – Once again we thank you for your comments - We all look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji, at some time in the not too distant future!
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood

General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed at the resort for a friend's wedding and decided to make it a decent holiday so booked ten nights. We have two small children (4 years old and 18 months) and we shared a Superior Resort View Room (i.e. the most basic room type at the resort, and lowest priced option) and it was lovely. We requested two double beds and just pushed them together in the room so we had one gigantic bed for the four of us! After reading some of the reviews on this site I was a bit concerned about the condition the rooms would be in - people who had bagged out the resort as not being a true five star accommodation etc - but the place was lovely. The thing you need to remember is that whilst Outrigger on the Lagoon might be considered below five star standard by those who have stayed in five star accommodation in countries like America, Australia, and the UK, the fact is that in Fiji, this is five star. You only need to take a stroll 10 minutes down the road from the resort to see the kind of poverty that some of the villagers live in...this resort is beautiful and whilst it has clearly been around for a while - there is the usual wear and tear in rooms, bathrooms etc - it is still a lovely place to stay, with scenic tropical gardens all about the place. It is relaxing, the staff are beyond friendly, they make you feel so welcome all the time and nothing seems to be a hassle or too difficult to organise. Staff were great at remembering our names - which is fab considering there are hundreds of guests staying at a time!! We were in the 'hotel block' style of accommodation and had no issues with noise from other guests or the pool and bar areas. We were right near the adult pool/bar which was also the venue of several wedding receptions throughout our stay but we were never disturbed by the noise.
The main pool is great with plenty of shallow spots for the little kids to splash about while parents enjoy a cocktail close by...there are loads of poolside chairs (these could do with being updated though as they are quite worn) but thats a minor issue! Poolside entertainment was great. Races and 'bomb' competitions for kids and adults, aqua aerobics, pool volleyball...all created a fun atmosphere to be a part of. Food at all outlets was great. Plenty of options. Dinner buffet is quite pricey and my husband and I found it hard to believe anyone could eat enough to justify the cost, but you are also paying for entertainment I guess (which is great each night!). In terms of food and drink prices overall though, its pretty much on par with a regular cafe or restaurant in Sydney. So I really dont think the complaints on this site about the cost of food and drink are warranted. If you go to the resort prepared for the fact that you will be paying to 'eat out' everyday for every meal, you wont get such a shock about the costs...overall this place has a beautiful atmosphere thanks to the gorgeous friendly nature of the Fijian people. And lots of convenience in terms of the little shops at the resort, food and drink options, child minding options, gym and tennis courts etc. We barely left the resort for the ten days we were in Fiji! Finally, the Bebe Spa...bliss! I enjoyed a one hour massage and it was awesome. The view is amazing too. Do yourself a favour and book a treatment at the spa if you can afford to, you wont regret it!!

Room Tip: We had the most basic of rooms and it was still great. Two adults and two small children can fit eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wootwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Debra Wootoo
Greetings and a very big “Bula” from the team at Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
Thank you for your review! It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful holiday at our beautiful resort.
I was delighted to read that our staff took such good care of you. As you found out they are very engaging and love coming to work!
It is easy to understand why Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji was voted as the number family resort in Australia and New Zealand at this year’s Trip Advisor awards!
I have noted your comments regarding the state of the pool chairs – These will all be replaced in 3 weeks time!
Wootoo Once again we thank you for your comments - hopefully we will see you back at our beautiful resort at some time in the not too distant future?
Vinaka and Warm Regards
Peter Hopgood

General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Best customer service around. We stayed in an ocean view room for 8 nights. There were plenty of activities to choose from every day. We also took time out to relax by the pool. Child care was amazing! Rooms were clean and spacious. Food was delicious.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmwilliams62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Cmwilliams62

Bula and sunny greetings from Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji.
We are absolutely thrilled to read that you enjoyed your holiday at our beautiful resort! As you found out, we are blessed with the friendliest staff that you will find anywhere in the world. All of my team looks forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful resort at some time in the not too distant future!

Vinaka and Warm Regards

Peter Hopgood
General Manager
Outrigger on the Lagoon . Fiji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,816 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Sigatoka
1,159 reviews
30.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.8 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
16 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range: £117 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing