We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Outrigger. (for a friend's wedding). Having our holiday all booked thru a travel agent everything went extremely well--from the moment we arrived at Nadi airport, greeted warmly and whisked away in minutes. (the drive was an experience in the dark with sugar cane trucks, dogs, pigs, horses and people crossing or stopped on the road--but all adds to the experience) Our greeting at the Outrigger was '5 star'--Bula! bags taken, cool face towel, cold drink, and an upgrade to an 'ocean view room' --we also had interconnecting rooms (4 adults). Our Breakfast was included so this was our 'big' meal of the day and I mean BIG! Champagne and canapes delivered to your room in the arvo is a real treat (if you miss it they leave a note and you can request it up until 11pm) Because we were with a big group we did venture outside of the resort for a few dinners and found them very nice and a bit cheaper.The Seafood night was a big hit with our family as was the Fire Dancing and Village visit. The Service and friendliness of the fijians far excels your expectations (considering their extremely low wages--they definitely should be paid more!) The wedding went off beautifully (the resort hairdresser and makeup ladies were great). We had a wonderful time and look forward to going to Fiji again but for longer!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Harley050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,954 - 2,960 of 3,212 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2008

The Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji is an unforgettable place to holiday. Everything from the rooms, amenities, the Bula service and the magnificent personalities working within the hotel everyone is willing to chat on Fiji time and will go out of there way to help you. Recommended for everyone to visit with this prestige location, wonderful beach, pool and Bebe spa its one holiday you will never forget.
I look forward to going back to the Outrigger next year.
BULA everyone...

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TEJA86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

What a FABULOUS place to stay! My partner and I had the best week @ the Outrigger. We stayed in the ocean deluxe room which was very clean and modern! The staff were lovely and so were the free afternoon drinks and snacks! The food was great, especially the pizza/cocktail bar that overlooked the beach - sitting there of an afternoon sipping cocktails and watching the beautiful sunsets was great. We can't fault this place @ all... From the cheap poolside massages, cocktails by the pool, village visits, friendly staff, daily activities, lovely fijian music, yum food.... the list goes on! It was great to be able to walk 5mins down the beach and find a couple of little resturants too. Since our stay @ the Outrigger we have recommended this place to everyone. We can't wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank rach_and_daniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2008

After our first visit, 2 years prior. Our family (2 boys 11,7) once again
had a wonderful holiday at the Outrigger. It's a friendly and pleasant
hotel with excellent service and staff. The service was even better
than two years previous. They have a huge range of activities and most are complementary. I would recommend this property to most
families, but even some couples wanting a real Fijian resort feel would enjoy it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank hedfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

My kids and I spent 8 days at this Outrigger resort which began badly and got worse as time went on. Firstly the room didn't have enough beds for the 4 of us which was surprising as the certainly knew how many of us were booked in. To be fair they gave us a bigger room.

Secondly the food was appalling. It is advertised to have a five star rating however only one restaurant in the resort has this rating and kids are not allowed to eat there. The other eateries were terrible and excessively priced. I as paying more for poorer quality food than I would have in Australia, for example a basic pasta was $25 AUD which I thought was not even very good. The kids who are usually not that discriminating would not eat the kids buffet, which was the same five options every night including such delights as pigs in blankets and steam carrot, so I brought them meals. Also the resort actively tried to stop guests going out to get meals nearby were the quality as better and at least half the price.

Thirdly the tours were insanely overpriced. We ended up finding a cab driver who took us to various spots at good prices. This allowed us to create our agenda and stop were we liked. The resort only had the standard packages which it must have been adding its own margin on to as we did the same tours at up to 25% of the price.

In terms of the resort, it was nice though there claim to have the largest pool in Fiji is dubious, though it is nice and he kids enjoyed it. I sat by the pool waiting for the bar staff to bring drinks which usually took around 30 minutes to arrive from the bar (a distance of around 10 meters away). The grounds were nicely manicured and the tennis, gym and golf facilities were good.

I would not stay here again even if it was free. Bad food, expensive, poor service.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Impavid_Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Great place to stay and ideal for young children. Check out the free kids buffet at lunch and dinner as the food is ideal for kids - healthy and interesting however we were not told about it on arrival so you need to ask. Also little things like the lunch specials at the Sundowner Bar are great but again you tend to have to discover these for yourself as again they dont get mentioned by the hotel.
The pool is great and well designed for kids to have a safe and fun time and there is plenty of places to watch the kids from while relaxing or having a Fiji Bitter.
Rooms were excellent - large and very clean and all the staff were very friendly as expected.There were plenty of activities for
those that were more energetic.
When it comes to food its well worth checking out a couple of the local eateries. While the choice in the resort is fine the prices are quite steep and if like us you enjoy a glass of wine(or 2) it soon adds up.
We found a quick five minute walk down the beach - high tide permitting - rewarded us with some delicious curries, excellent burgers and friendly service. Johnny's beachfront restaurant is a must for those that want to get out and experience the local area. The food, beer and wine is all well priced and the kids enjoyed the pool table.

Stayed: September 2008
2  Thank Sarnia_Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

If you want a relaxing family holiday where you do little but play in the pool, eat and relax then this is a good choice for you.
It's pretty "resorty" with manacured gardens and pastiche fiji around the place (a bit of a contrast from the real fiji which seems quite poor and simple) but for a family break it's pretty good non the less.
The outrigger has a great pool which kids love and the kids are kept entertained, which gives the adults a break,.
Don;t go for the extras though. The room upgrade isn;'t worth it. Our FJ$350 a week upgrade to a superior room was in reality just a move one floor up, with exactly the same room size, facilities and a marginally better view of the distant sea. The personal butler really wasnt anywhere to be seen and although we did get a nice sundowner glass of fizz, we could have bought it for half the price down at the bar.
The Meal Packages are also a bit of a con. Ours cost $470 a head for 5 days. You were restricted in where and what you could eat so, for example, I had to have a Mongolian BBQ lunch on a day I just wanted a sandwhich and was forced in to having just one main course on an evening when I felt like having a starter and a main. We saved very little money on the deal, in ffact I think we probably would have spent less not going for it.
The food is a bit hit and miss here. We had two good meals two bad ones and the rest were reasonable. The prices are on the whole okay, with some things being a tad expensive but mostly alright - $20 for a pizza, up to $45 for a steak meal. Drink similar, cocktails $15, beer $7, glass of wine $10. There are offsite restaurants and I can recommend the Bendarra (I think that's what it is called) just 5 mins walk down the road. Breakfast is good so I'd recommend going for a Band B deal iff you can.
The kids club is great with lovely staff. our 4 year old had a ball. There is also a good babysitting service at $7 an hour.
The pool is great, and the beach okay. not much sand and a tide that goes out qutie far. Our 4 year old managed to do a bit off snorkelling on the beach and saw fish etc, so it worked well ffor us.
The Eco park across the road is well worth a visit and the Robinson Crusoe island tour is very well done and great fun.
Look for a deal with your travel agent that includes transfers to the airport as a taxi is $110 one way. Ffiji island specialist tour operators are apparently the way to go.
The Spa is fine but a bit overpriced. If fyou don't mind paying and you have the money it is a nice diversion - certainly the setting up on a hill overlooking the resort is a good one.
Overall we had a fun time and I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginnyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,796 reviews
25.8 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Sigatoka
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#6 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,382 reviews
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
16 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range: £122 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing