We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTSTANDING OUTRIGGER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2009

We just returned from our 5th trip to the Outrigger. We always combine out Holiday to Fiji with a trip to the Outrigger and the Ourtigger never stops amazing us. This time we combined the Outrigger with a Captain Cook Cruise for 3 nights which was excellent.

IBefore I say thanks to all the staff, I would just like to say that we love the new cafe with the free internet access, that was great, very helpful. The new room for the kids club is also great, gives the kids more under cover space to play.

A special Vinaka vaka levu to Moreen, Lusia and Salote in Talai for spoling us rotten, we stayed in the Ocean Breeze Bures and they are amazing and the service was exceptional, I just loved walking back to our room after dinner to the fresh flower smell and the night caps and desserts. Lusia it was so nice of you to stay with us till we were picked up by our transfers to say good bye the kids were so excited and got some great photos with you.

Vinaka to Marie, Ruthy, Lolla, Liku and Maria at kids club, the kids had a blast as always and miss you guys already.

Tama at the Bavari Bar for going out of her way to say Bula! each and every time she saw us.

I had 3 treatments at the Bebe Spa during my break and each and every one was exceptional and different. Vinaka!

The Ivi was great as always I love watching the staff make my 'in the tropics' it is yummy.

Vinaka to Moreen & Peter for making our stay extra special you guys really do go out of your way for your guests.

Anyway we will be back again, I can't wait.
Vinaka
PS I almost forgot! Vinaka Uncle Jim for the chat at the driving range.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mad_Travel_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DarrenFiji, General Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2009

Bula Mad_Travel_Girl,

Vinaka for your wonderful review and, more importantly, your repeat patronage!
As you know, after 5 trips to Outrigger Fiji that our staff do genuinely care and love to see guests return.
After a few visits, some of these guest/staff relationships develop into friendships, which sounds very much like your experience.
Thanks for highlighting a few of our facility improvements since your last visit.

I look forward to passing on your wonderful comments to the staff members mentioned,

Vinaka
Darren Shaw
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,812 - 2,818 of 3,173 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2009

From the moment we stepped onto the shuttle at the airport until we got back on the plane to NZ our senses and minds where stimulated by the culture and hospitality of the local people. Our stay was only 5 nights but in that time we looked for and found local traditions, the hospital, ambulance service and looked for the differences from those that we enjoy in NZ as 2 health sector workers. The dedication with limited resources is staggering and something we will remember for years to come. The warmth and kindness we got was fantastic from every person we talked to throughout our stay. This will be a destination that we will revisit without doubt. Vanak to all you wonderful people.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmboNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2009

Bula AmboNewZealand!

Vinaka Vakalevu for your wonderful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Outrigger ‘Vuvale’ (Family).

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We booked the Outrigger Reef Hotel after some research from Trip Advisor and other sites. We were not disappointed. After arriving at Nadi airport we were transported to the Outrigger which is around an hour's drive. Smoothly booked in, we stayed in an Ocean Breeze Burra, a self contained cottage nested in a tropical garden. From start to finish our two weeks delighted us with the friendly, dedicated service, delivered with a smile. The ambience, food, setting, and everyone who works at the Outrigger made this a great holiday. Was it perfect...no! The weather did not exactly perform on cue! We had some great days and some quite tropically wet and breezy days. What would we improve for the wet days....better TV channels (Russian News Channel and Fiji One are limited, and the Australian Channel seemed fixated on Rugby League and Australian Rules Football. Suspect Fiji can capture international satellite signals - maybe the hotel could work on this. But for the warm days (the majority), lazing around the pool, Sublime! The Outrigger offers a lot of local colour and entertainment. The firewalkers are spectacular. The Village singers and dancers ... who performed in the main restaurant... great. and Ofa Ali and her local muso's entertained us well each day and night.... everyone worked so hard and well to make us welcome...and the Fijiian farewell made us want to come back...which we will. Great two weeks...to expectation and beyond. Our special helpers Lucia, Salote and the Talai team added that extra effort. And for those that can't rest by the pool - there are lots of activities including diving, kayaking, trips and a great spa. Well done everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanRAnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2009

Bula IanRanson,

Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments about your last stay with other travelers. We are very pleased to receive such positive feedback. Comments such as yours motivate us to constantly strive not only to maintain the service we provide to our guests but also to go beyond their expectations. We will certainly share your impressions with our staff and particularly with your Butlers - Salote and Lusia! Your comment on the satellite options has been noted. We have recently taken on Starworld and Cartoon Network in all rooms. We certainly appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji.

Vinaka& Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Client Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

My new husband and I stayed at the Outrigger for 10 nights in September 2009 and had a truly wonderful time.
We had been to Fiji before, so were used to 'Fiji' time and the local hospitality, and had a fair idea of what to expect, but the Outrigger experience far outshone our previous trip (the Warwick).

STAFF & SERVICE - The staff at the Outrigger are extremely friendly, and provide exceptional service. There can be a little bit of 'Fiji time' delay at the bar, but we quickly found the staff members who were prompt and friendly, and they worked out how often we wanted to order drinks (which to be fair, was probably a bit more than the norm!). My husband soon became known by the Fiji version of his name, with staff rarely having to ask what name and room to charge our food and beverages to.
All staff were very knowledgeable about the whole resort, and very helpful. They were also more than willing to make up the numbers in activities, and to keep an eye on any little kids that were about.

FOOD - The food has to be mentioned as a great feature of the resort. Many of our Australian, pan-Asian and European favorites are available at the restaurants, with a few local touches (everybody should order the poolside Mahi-Mahi fish and chips - SOOO much better than any fish and chips you'll get in Aus). The quality of the produce was excellent, with a lot of variety between the restaurants.
The buffet restaurant (the VNK) had a different theme every night, and the seafood, Indian (Sugar and Spice theme), Lovo (in ground cooking, like a Hungi) and Polynesian evenings were all great (Lovo and Polynesian were island nights, so there was a Meke show (singing/dancing) and Polynesian show (singing/ hula style dancing and fire walking). *it should be noted that on our previous trip to Fiji we had to pay additional costs for these types of show, but they are included in the buffet price at the Outrigger.
The VNK also hosted breakfast, which my husband LOVED as he could have a custom omelette every day, or cut to order tropical fruit plus all the usual breakfast options (toasts and pastries, cereals and fruits, bacon, eggs etc - lots of choice).
The IVI restaurant (award winning) was not included in the meal plan (which didn't bother us, as this was an adults only restaurant and we certainly got our value with the meal plan which included the buffet breakfast, two course lunch and two course dinner daily), which meant it was quieter and more intimate. Exceptional quality fine dining at this venue.
No one seems to know about the adults only bar up at the day spa, which is a shame but was great for us! The KaloKalo bar sits at the highest point of the mountain / hill and you get a great view of the day spa and resort below, as well as the lagoon and coastline, not to mention any storms rolling in and the helicopter (joy flights and transfers - not a lot of traffic, but impressive to watch them buzz in and out every few days). This bar has the premium import beers and a great tapas menu.

SPA - we did a 3 hour couples treatment at the spa which worked out at around $500 Aussie, so was actually really good value compared to home! Treatment included (for both, simultaneously in our own room) foot scrub/rub, coconut wrap, facial and Fijian warm coconut oil massage as well as a couples bath in a coconut milk treatment while enjoying chocolate dipped tropical fruit and a glass of champagne! Highlight of this would have to be that our shower and bath were on an open air deck that overlooked the resort - we were too high to be seen and there were one way curtains available for more privacy or if it was windy.

ROOMS - our room was lovely, with an ocean view, king bed, bath/shower, private balcony and butler service (champagne and canapés every evening, plus he'll make any restaurant bookings that you want etc). Rooms have been refurbed in the last few years. The room was always cleaned beautifully and a bonus was that all the power points were Aussie 240Volt so you can take your normal phone and ipod chargers etc.

SINGLES / COUPLES / FAMILIES - before we arrived a friend advised us that the hotel was very 'coupley' and should be perfect for our honeymoon. We had however forgotten about school holidays when the hotel does get a bit overrun with families. Having said that, the families didn't bother us (just the inevitable screaming kid on the plane...) as there were some adults only areas to escape to, and kids are funny to watch building sand castles etc. There were a few retirees and older couples about the place who were nice to chat to, and plenty of young newlyweds who pretty much kept to themselves!

NIGHTLIFE - There is a late night bar with singers / band plus all the restaurants stay open fairly late, but we personally didn't like when the smokers hung out at the cocktail bar, so stayed at the restaurants or ordered room service wine (which is not any more expensive!!). We weren't after a 'nightclub' style venue as we are quite happy to sit and chat over a wine, or watch a movie, but if you want a dance type nightclub the Outrigger might not be for you.

BEACH - lets be honest - if you're an Aussie, none of the beaches on the Fiji Coral Coast are great as they're not surf / swimming beaches and the sand is coral and shell grit. We did however spend part of every day on the beach (Outrigger is on a lagoon, so it's shallow, but you can snorkel and kayak at high tide - Warwick does have a better beach for snorkelling but it too is not Aussie standard) getting some sun and drinking cocktails. If you want reefs and swimming, take a day trip to an off shore island.

OTHER - We didn't do much in the way of sightseeing and other activities as we'd done all that on our previous trip, but this was all available at the travel desk.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hcatBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2009

Bula hcatbrisbane,

Thank you for sharing your comments about the Service, Room amenities, Food and Bebe spa you have experienced during your stay.
It is always a pleasure to read such glowing reports on our resort and team. Your comments are highly appreciated by all our staff and serve as an incentive, and at the same time as a responsibility not only to maintain but also to constantly improve the services and amenities we provide to our guests. We are pleased with your observation of plenty of dining options and our meal package, at F$89 (about $48AUD) + taxes per person daily for 3 meals is great value. Meal vouchers are now accepted in IVI restaurant with a further cost of FJ$25 per person for two courses.I do agree that on the Coral Coast the sand does consist of fine to course dead coral, our beach is more of a coral beach than sandy beach but this makes for fabulous snorkeling when the tide is in. I note your point on promoting our KaloKalo bar and will be addressed.

Again thank you for recommending our property on Trip Advisor and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Vinaka& Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

My wife and I just returned from Fiji after an 8 day stay for our honeymoon. We spent the first three nights at the Outrigger and the last 4 at LikuLiku Lagoon Resort. The service was excellent and probably the highlight of our stay there. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful upon our arrival. At one point during our trip my wife had lost her sunglasses either in town or at one of the shops at the hotel. She notified the front desk without success initially, but later that night we had the sunglasses delivered to our room after we had already given up on them. It really made her happy, and I appreciate that they followed up on it even though they could have given up on it like we had.

We stayed in one of the deluxe ocean view rooms, which was nice and had a decent view of the ocean. We weren't expecting much because we were at a lower rate room so it was sufficient. Decent size and adequate view of the ocean. The only problem we had was that the bed or bedding had a musty odor probably from the humidity, but at our other resort we did not experience that so that was our only qualm. Other than that the nightly champagne and canapes were a nice treat.

Comparing this to our other resort Likuliku, this was definitely more a family oriented destination. The single pool was large and nice, but was mostly inhabited by families and kids which didn't necessarily turn us off, but we didn't really end up staying in or around the pool much for that reason. The beach was more private, but not spectacular. The activites staff was very nice and helpful. We kayaked and snorkeled, and the snorkeling was decent for us.

since this was our first time in fiji, we did want to experience the main island, so i would say that the outrigger's location was prime. We visited the eco park which was walking distance next door, and also the sand dunes and town (sigatoka), which were a short cab ride from the hotel.

Overall, the service was great and the hotel was pleasant. I would definitely recommend this for families. As for honeymooners or couples, I would recommend it if you are visiting fiji for the first time and want to stay on the main island for a little bit before exploring the more secluded private island resorts, but for romance u might be better off going to a smaller island resort.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jubsnanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2009

Bula Jubsnanu,

Vinaka for your feedback! It was great to have you as our guests at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji and we thank you for taking the time
to share your experience with others. I am delighted to note that you had a wonderful time with us and we appreciate your comments on our 'Talai service’, ‘beautiful resort’, ‘service' and most importantly our staff! We strive to provide our guests with memorable vacation experiences, and hope to see you again in the near future.

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

I had not visited the Coral Coast for many years,always went to the outer islands.My 2 sons and thier family said stay at the Outriggers thats where they go.I wanted somewhere to relax get away from work and destress.From the time I arrived welcome with refreshing drink etc.I had spoken with a lovely lady called Charlotte from NZ before I went there.She and all staff were superb.Did not matter what time of day you were always welcome with Bula.Yes there were kids, where isn't there unless you go somewhere that says no kids or 12yrs and over.Felt the intertainment could of had alittle more get the people cheering etc,but otherwise great.Do not and I repeat miss out on the Bebe Spa centre > AMAZING,free tour etc.I left making a booking until the last day and missed out, never again.Our room was lovely and regularly service if we choose..After I left the Outriggers I went onto the Westin Denurau for 4 days, once again a 5 star,would not go back there,over rated.Thank You to all the staff of The Outriggers.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Destressholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2009

Bula Destressholiday,

Vinaka for your kind feedback! We thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination and I am delighted to note that you had a wonderful time with us. Guest feedback is vital to the continued growth and success of our organization. Our goal is to provide the best possible vacation experience. Please rest assured your comments on entertainment are taken on board and our team will continue to improve on this. We highly recommend our guests’ to pre book treatments to avoid missing on the wonderful treatments offered at our hilltop Bebe Spa. It is certainly regretful to read that you missed experiencing a treatment but we thank you for recommending our Bebe Spa to other travelers.

I will pass on your praise to our team. We certainly appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji.

Vinaka&Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Client Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

We went to the Outrigger for 5 nights for our 8 night Fiji trip to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary in the middle of September. I can't say we got the best of the weather while we were staying at the Outrigger since it did rain a couple of the days, my husband and I still had a fantastic time. We booked the private car through Outrigger to get to the resort (I highly recommend it, much more comfortable than a taxi after a long flight) We arrived really early due to our flight getting in at 5am and at check-in, even though they informed us that our bure was not ready, they were able to accomodate us for an early check-in. Our Talai Lusia showed us around and suggested we went and had breakfast while our room was getting ready. We wandered around the resort with our map and proceed to have one of the yummiest breakfast buffets I've ever had. Try their smoothie shots it was so delicious!

The staff found us at breakfast to let us know our room was ready. We stayed in a "Ocean Breeze Bure" which was great, so close to the coral reef and also close to the pool. We had the Talai service that was so wonderful.We met our other Talai Salote and everyone was so friendly. They were always very helpful when we had any questions. The room was so pretty and they treated us with flower petals all over our bed. It was just a really nice experience all around from the beginning.

We did sign up for 2 different tours from the Rosie Holiday desk at Outrigger. It was very reasonable and very easy to do. The person at the desk was very friendly and helpful. We went with the day trip to Suva (Capital of Fiji) and also the white water rafting trip with RiversFiji. The Suva trip was a long drive (2 hours) from Outrigger but very interesting to be in a big city in Fiji, lots of people and lots of shopping. The white water rafting trip was amazing and since we had rain during the week, the river was high and the views were spectacular. I risked my non-waterproof digital camera to take pictures because I couldn't believe how beautiful it was going down the Upper Navua River (16 miles). We really liked where the Outrigger was located on the coral reef because some of the people we met through our tours who had to take 3-4 hour bus rides from the other resorts near Nadi.

The food was delicious at the resort. We tried the Ivi Restaurant and that is a must do if you stay at the Outrigger. We also had the Lovo night which was the underground cooking of pork, it was delish! We did opt to take a taxi to go down to Sigatoki and got some take-outs one of the nights and if you're adventurous, there are some yummy food for super cheap like chicken curry and rice. We also did listen to some of the other reviews and went to Le Cafe and Beachcomber Cafe, both were a short walk from the Outrigger through the beach and for cheap eats and cheap beers, go during happy hour. All of the food wherever you get it, from Outrigger, from town, from the cafes, were all very good, we even had to try the pizza there one night and not bad for Fiji pizza.

We did join the kava ceremony one night and that was fun to try kava (makes your lips and tongue tingly). We went to Fiji to relax and enjoy each other's company so we were not totally into the resort activities. We did go snorkeling and kayaking one of the days and it was very fun. My husband went to the driving range one day to hit a couple of baskets of golf balls. Some of the activities provided by Outrigger were very catered to kids and they even had a day kids club or something so we would bump into groups of kids sometimes. There were more kids there than we hoped but we didn't let it ruin our vacation and I will recommend it to anyone and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bu77erflyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2009

Bula bu77erflyg,

Thank you for your positive feedback! It was great to have you as our guests at Outrigger
on the Lagoon Fiji and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. I appreciate your fabulous comments on our “friendly staff”, “beautiful resort”, “Bebe spa” and “the great food”! Our focus is to ensure a positive vacation experience and your feedback will be shared with the resort team.

Again thank you for recommending our property on Trip Advisor and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Vinaka&Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Client Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,747 reviews
25.8 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
0.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Sigatoka
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,326 reviews
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
16 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range: £108 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing