We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay in a beautiful and friendly resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A relaxing stay in a beautiful and friendly resort”
Reviewed 23 January 2010

After a long tiring day of travelling we arrived at Outrigger where we were welcomed with an amazing view, revitalising face towels and a cool iced tea, we were escorted to our Deluxe Ocean View Room which was beautifully furnished with all the mod cons (hairdryer/aircon/tv) too buggered to explore we ordered room service and the meals were great, our friendly butler delivered canapes and champagne and an early night was had on the very comfy bed.
Woke up to a breathtaking view and a beautiful day, We asked reception for a pin (to get a splinter out) after an hour we gave up and went for a walk, another hour later and to their credit a sewing kit appeared.. "fiji time" is something you just have to get used to!! A tour of BeBe Spa privvied us to even more amazing views as we sipped on some strong freshly made coctails while deciding which massages to book, and a lazy arvo was spent relaxing and reading by the pool.
Next day we went on Sigatoka River Safari which i would highly reccomend. That night my partner went to the resort gym while i went to the BeBe hairdressers and we had dinner at the Ivi - an intimate experience with softly spoken waiters & delicious food, the price was great in comparision to the equivelent food/service in Melbourne. Finished the night off with a few too many coctails and a dance! Regarding hotel prices for drinks, if you venture into Sigatoka you can pick up a slab of local beer (Fiji Gold) on the cheap.
Next morning more relaxing at the pool , then up to Bebe for our massages, Divine! Got some sun by the beach which isnt as bad as i expected and went for a swim amongst some pretty fishies. Dinner at the Sundowner eating pizza whilst watching the sun set over the pacific ocean is something you dont get everyday.
Last day began with inroom breakfast, which astonishly changes significantly every day even though we kept ordering the same thing..good for a giggle i guess, and went for a slow horseride along the ocean with a top bloke named Jerry.
Was the perfect place for a relaxing 5 night stay.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mischievousjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2010
Bula Mischieviousjac,


Many thanks for your kind feedback! We are so glad to hear your Outrigger on the Lagoon experience covered all your essential requirements for a perfect holiday. It was great to have you as our guests at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji and we appreciate you taking the time to providing review of your experience with others. We strive to provide our guests with memorable vacation experiences; we appreciate your comments about our “friendly staff”, “beautiful resort”, “Activities” and the “great food”! Thank you for recommending our Bebe Day Spa, we certainly do pride ourselves in offering Fiji’s finest Spa facility. I look forward to passing your feedback onto the team.


Again thank you for recommending our property on Trip Advisor and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.


Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,872
    738
    274
    80
    43
See reviews for
1,514
859
37
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (944)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2010

We have just returned from an 8 day stay at the Outrigger. This was our first time in Fiji and my children (ages 12, 10 and 7) certainly had a wonderful time at the resort. They were kept occupied with volleyball, pool volleyball, a scuba diving lesson, kayaking, snorkeling and of course spending time in the magnificent pool meeting new friends. I agree to some extent with other comments on this site that the resort could easily be anywhere in Queensland. I would encourage people to get out of the resort and explore. We did an organised tour ('Whale's tale') which although expensive was excellent. We sailed on a timber schooner out to the islands where the snorkeling was wonderful. We took a local taxi to a nearby village where a villager acted as a guide to take us to a great waterfall (where we all swam), educating us about Fijian life on the way.This was a much more cost effective option for a family of 5 than the 'official' tour. We paid to see the Fire Walking show at the hotel which was short and a little disappointing - I have a lot of respect for anyone who walks on hot rocks but it all seemed a bit 'ho hum' for the dancers who seemed to laugh and joke through the whole performance. I couldn't help but feel we were being taken for a ride. We found the food at the resort to be plentiful and generally good, especially the buffet breakfast and the Fijian and Indian themed nights at Vale Ni Kana restaurant. Kayaking and snorkeling at the resort can only take place at high tide which was never a problem for us and we greatly enjoyed both activities. Be braced for the litter issues in Fiji - outside of the hotel the beach was kept clean but 5 mins in either direction there was garbage strewn about and many bits of broken glass. Quite a change from Australian beaches. As I mentioned the service at the Outrigger was very good. We had a problem with our air conditioning unit at 9.30 pm but maintenance appeared and fixed it within 20 minutes. Overall we had a relaxing family holiday and found the Outrigger to be a lovely resort.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 1 February 2010
Bula Jetsetter031,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your recent stay at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Outrigger on the Lagoon experience. Regarding the fire walking show, your feedback is noted and will be addressed to the team. We strive to provide a wonderful guest experience and your feedback re-enforces the success of our training program and will be shared with the resort team. The staffs take great pride and will be pleased to receive your comments. We look forward to your return to Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji in the near future.

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

It was our ten year wedding anniversary and we decided last minute to go to Fiji. We were recommended to stay at the Outrigger from our travel agent and we are just so happy about that.

The hotel and its staff are just fantastic. We travelled with a toddler and my mother came along for a holiday and babysit. We all were treated with professionalism and care. We cannot rave about it enough.

We renewed our wedding vows on the beachside and then enjoyed an amazing dinner at the Ivi restaurant. Our butlers covered our bed in flowers while we were out which just added that special romantic touch and reassured us that we picked the right hotel.

Food was just too good and we ate too much on our meal plan that included all meals. We were amazed at the cost of drinks as we were told by our driver that it was expensive, but we found everything to be reasonably priced.

The Bebe spa was one of the best spa experiences ever. I was lucky to have some 2 for 1 vouchers from their website and used it towards not 1 but 4 treatments. I loved it and if we stayed for longer, would do more.

My only negative comment would be that there needs to be a small area of the pool to be under shade.

We would love to have stayed longer and will go back next time, If you need to chose, chose the Outrigger as you won't be sorry you did.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nattygee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2010
Bula Nattygee from Sunny Fiji!

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your stay with us. I appreciate your wonderful feedback on the service you received from our staff. I am delighted

to note that your special day was well organized by the team and you had really enjoyed your dinner in IVI. Our staff is our greatest asset and your comments reflect their hard work and dedication to guests. Your comment on pool to be under shade has been noted. Bebe is the perfect get away whether it is for a wedding celebration, a quiet cocktail at sunset or, of course, our relaxing spa. We certainly appreciate your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji Vuvale (Family).

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxton near Liverpool
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

After a four week tour of Australia we wanted somewhere to just relax and unwind. We weren't disappointed. Our room was lovely and the staff were the nicest, friendliest people you could ever meet. We had a wonderful meal at the exclusive Ivi restaurant and even though they got my name wrong on the birthday cake, I very much enjoyed it when the staff sang happy birthday to me. It was also our last night and my wife and I had a lump in our throats when the staff sang their very moving farewell song to us.

We're already saving up to go back again. Yesterday we received a postcard from the hotel in which they hoped that we had had an enjoyable time (we did!).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevewinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 January 2010
Bula Stevewinelover from Sunny Fiji!

Many thanks for your kind feedback! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Outrigger on the Lagoon experience.

The staffs take great pride and will be pleased to receive your comments. Thank you for recommending our property on trip advisor.

We look forward to your return to Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji Vuvale (Family).

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mosman
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2010

After staying at the 5 star Hilton Denarau last year, we decided to give this a go. After a private transfer in an unairconditioned vehicle with plastic covers on seats, our 1 1/2 hr trip and then 45 mins to check in we were excited at our 2 bedroom bure. Its was very nice but very tired, the bath had enamel missing and the shower old and horrid. The butler service was great but we were paying $800 AUD a night (not including breakfast!). If you can get past the dead flys in the yogurt and stewed fruit, it was bearable!. The trouble with the resort is it advertises as a 5 star resort but also attracts very cheap deals where familys who are paying a much lesser price than us squeeze into the apartments and are all meal packages. Therefore the guests were from many walks of life. If you were going for a 5 star experience you will be disappointed. The kids club we were happy with but were misled at it quoted "we'll keep them busy all day!" not true, they open between 9-10 where you register them, but cannot leave them unti 10! they are shut between 12.30 and 2pm then again at 4pm and reopen at 7pm til 9pm. So, the best bit was the hotel refunding our money after 6 days and we managed to get back to the delightful Hilton ! If you get a cheap package, this is a great place, if you are paying top dollar be prepared for disappointment. Also, the staff half are amazing half are really rude.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank takeaholidaymosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMOutrigger, Resort Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 February 2010
Bula Takeaholidaymosman,
Thank you for your feedback. Whilst I understand your disappointment, I feel your review is an unfair reflection of the product and service we offer. From our records we were able to ascertain that your private transfer was not with our recommended chauffeur service. I have passed your comment on to the company who provided this service. Your housekeeping was certainly a concern I have addressed these issues with our team.
In regards to your comments about flies and stewed fruit, let me assure you that this is very much an isolated event and definitely not a reflection of our normal offerings at breakfast.
We have noted your comments about the kids club the timings. The current timings have been established based on the recorded preference of guests. We will ensure your comment is taken into consideration when reviewing this service.
We certainly take your comments on board, however given the short period of your stay and the contrary feedback given on check out we find your review lacked credibility.
Vinaka & best regards

Leon Pink
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We had been to Castaway first for some major R&R after a 13 day tour of Australia. We decided to stay for a week on the main island after that at the Outrigger. Glad we had done all of our water sports first at Castaway. The day before we left a Cat. 3 cyclone headed straight for us! the resort handled it extremely well. They had back up power and water and it was well built to survive the battering winds and downpours. By the next day most things were back to normal!

The staff are great and very friendly and helpful. the only major down side is the price of everything. We ate at the hotel one night and it was about $32F each for a little plate of pad thai! I mean really...how much do noodles cost??? We had read about a couple of other places just outside the resort that were 1/2 the price. Turns out it's only about a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Our fav. was "Le Cafe". good food, cold Fiji Bitter and fun staff. If you're facing the ocean it's to the right. the first cafe has taxi service that is cheaper than the hotel and very accomodating.
Hope this helps out!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the price of everything
  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bethanytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We have just come back from FIJI for christmas and new years. The Outrigger on the Lagoon is a lovely place (but do not get your washing done there. We had clothes missing and come back half the size). It is purely resort living as there is nothing to do outside the place. You can only do so much diving and snorkling. The staff were lovely but it is definitely not 5 star!. It is about 2.5 bus ride to Suva (we got robbed there so if anyone comes up to you wanting to show you anything tell them no thanks. They make out they were on the bus with you and work at the same resort you are staying. They have done their homework because this guy mentioned bars, restaurants and even people that worked at our resort! BEWARE!!!! We had a man called Toni pull a knife out on us and got away with $200AU. Nadi is where you land and as all the towns are full of bars on all windows and the town looks dingy. We have been all over the world and I must say FIJI is not what we were expecting. There is so much crime there and after that experience it put a damper on things. We wanted to experience real FIJI, we could have stayed in a resort in Australia and felt the same experience. If you want a holiday where you dont just sit, drink and eat go to Bali or Thailand. You will have a better time.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank breakfreeduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBOutrigger, Resort Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 January 2010
Bula Carmelnigel,

Thank you for your feedback. We certainly appreciate all feedback as it assists us in improving our product and service. I was pleased to read your overall impression of our resort was positive. Your experience unfortunately tarnished by laundry issues and service that didn’t meet your expectations.
Regarding your laundry, our laundry team takes great pride in the services it offers. I have investigated your comments and cannot identify any report of laundry issues. Any issues raised at property are promptly investigated with the aim of delivering a resolution to the guest as soon as possible. The events described were an unusual occurrence for our laundry team. They are trained to be aware of garment sensitivity and laundering garments in a manner that is appropriate to the material used. I have highlighted this matter to our laundry manager to ensure this issue is not repeated.
Regarding your comments on service. The Outrigger team strives to achieve the best possible service experience. We continually train our team on five star service delivery. As such I was sorry to read this was not reflected during your stay.
It was a shame that you felt the resort and Fiji in general lacked activities. In fact we offer much more than just diving and snorkeling. Our Activities Team manages a daily program of both sporting and cultural activities in addition to other leisure facilities such as the tennis courts and driving range that are available for use at your convenience. In addition to all activities available at our resort our tour desk offers an enormous variety of tours including the following:
Adrenaline rush: Jet boat – Sigatoka River Safari, white water rafting, zip lining, water kayaking, Jet Ski safaris, fishing adventures
Cultural experience: Village tours, island tours, traditional ceremonies such fire walking, Meke dance, cava ceremonies, Polynesian fire dances
Other activities: 3 championships golf courses all within 1 ½ drive, day trips to the islands,
The options are endless and I am sure very similar to other destinations mentioned.

Your robbery ordeal must have been awful. I read your experience with great surprise as these occurrences are extremely rare. I can totally understand this experience placed a dampener on your holiday overall, however Fiji is a safe destination and incidents like this are extremely rare.

Thank you once again for your feedback. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me via this address. rm@outriggerfiji,com.fj

Vinaka & best regards
Leon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,538 reviews
30.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
9.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
30.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Address: Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#3 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger On The Lagoon Fiji Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Lagoon Fiji
Outrigger Hotel Sigatoka
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Resort Sigatoka
Outrigger Sigatoka
Fiji Outrigger
Fiji Lagoon Outrigger
Sigatoka Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing