We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Bedarra Beach Inn(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gecko's Resort(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Tambua Sands(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mango Bay Resort Fiji(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort(Sigatoka)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beach Cocomo(Sigatoka)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (3,293)
Filter reviews
3,293 results
Traveller rating
2,052
802
303
90
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,052
802
303
90
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbebe spaivi restaurantplantation burebutler servicesundowner barmei meitalai butlera deluxe ocean view roomvale nichampagne and canapeskids clubtapaspeter hopgoodmeimei serviceevery afternoonpool aerobicscoral coast
Filter
Updating list...
2,879 - 2,884 of 3,293 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2010

i got married here, and i cant say it enough, the place is amazing!! for a beautiful stress free wedding, this is the place to go!! praveena the wedding planner is fantastic, u dont have to worry about a thing!! truly, heaven on earth !! and the staff must be the most friendly people iv met, always polite and smiling!! bula vinaka

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2010

Bula Sophie016.

Congratulations on your wedding! It was great to have you as our guests and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others. We are so glad to hear your Outrigger on the Lagoon experience covered all your essential requirements for a perfect holiday. We strive to provide our guests with memorable vacation experiences, and hope to see you again in the near future.

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Bula.We travelled here in the January school holidays so therefore it was kid city but wow what a city. We had two Beachfront Bures and they were fantastic. We were right there on the beach, you had to walk down some steps to get there. Included in our price is full time Butlers who were absolutely fabulous. We had Salotte who was beautiful. Every afternoon she would bring down champange(soft drinks for the kids) and canapes, changing everyday. After sunset we would all go out to a different restuarant every night, pizza, asian, even a adults only experience. When we arrived home our beds would be turned down and Salotte would then leave us a liquor with a matching tray of desserts. Yummo. The Spa is called BeBe and has to be the best in Fiji. They offer a cocoon experience which is out of this world. Everyone enjoyed Be Be and even if you are not into massages etc, catch the buggy up there and enjoy the views. They have the KaloKalo Bar on top with yummy freshly cooked tapas and wonderful cocktails with an incredible veiw. We all enjoyed the Outrigger Fiji but would recommend the Beachfront Bures as the are so central to everything you want in your holiday. Vinaka

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bingarakath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2010

Bula bingarakath,

Thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your wonderful feedback on the service you received from our staff. Our staff is our greatest asset and your comments reflect their hard work and dedication to guests.

It was a pleasure to welcome you on this Outrigger Holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Outrigger 'Vuvale' (Family).

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We spent seven nights at the Outrigger end January/early February and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. We were attending an engagement party in nearby Sigatoka so the location was ideal. Having never been to a Pacific island before, all our expectations were met the minute we arrived at the Outrigger. From the friendly (and loud!) "Bula's" from the guys at the entrance and the bellboys as we arrived, to the most welcome refreshing cool drink and refreshing towels offered as we checked in, to the butlers, waiters and staff everywhere - we were made to feel welcome from the word go.
Our butler, Miri, showed us the beautiful view from the balcony near reception and pointed out our plantation bure below. A walk through the beautiful gardens led us to our bure which was spacious, comfortable and roomy. There was a great shower room with excellent water pressure - always a bonus. We had travelled with friends and they had the bure next door which was very convenient. (Our only little quibble was our mattress which seemed well-worn, with "dips" on either side. Our friends on the other hand had a very comfortable bed, so I guess we drew the short-straw there.)
We had yummy prawn wraps for our first lunch in Vale Ni Kana accompanied by "Fiji Baby (Bitter)" and "Fiji Gold". We were also introduced to "Fiji champagne" - iced water!! That evening we had cocktails followed by really good wood-fired pizzas at the Sundowner Bar, watching the sun setting over the Pacific - magical. The staff here, and at the other restaurants, were all so friendly and warmly welcomed us back each time we returned.
We toured some of the surrounding area with our local friend. The Eco Park nearby is worth the visit. We also visited the shops and markets in Sigatoka - heeding the advice given by previous contributors - and found you just have to be firm with those trying to pester you and avoid eye contact.
The Outrigger's pool was just lovely - especially first thing in the morning and later in the day/evening. There were no schoolchildren as their holidays had just ended, so that was a bonus for those of us who wanted a quieter time.
Food was generally excellent - we particularly enjoyed the seafood buffet at Vale Ni Kana and the pizzas at Sundowner.
There are so many to thank - Miri and Mala our butlers, Josephine in the Takia cafe, Moses, Litia, the lovely "Tiramisu", Mareta, Mere and the wonderful people in the Sundowner Bar - Jim, Adi, Emosi, Marie, Ili, Kalesi, chef Ledua and his assistant - hope we haven't forgotten anyone! It was a touching moment when they all gathered around, along with the musicians, to sing us Isa Lei on our last evening.
Thanks for a great time Outrigger from 'Super Mario' and 'Mrs Mario'. We'd love to come back sometime.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandm63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2010

Bula Jandm63,

Thank you for sharing your comments about the Service, Room amenities, Food and Bebe spa you have experienced during your stay.
It is always a pleasure to read such glowing reports on our resort and team. Your comments are highly appreciated by all our staff and serve as an incentive, and at the same time as a responsibility not only to maintain but also to constantly improve the services and amenities

we provide to our guests. Our staff (all names mentioned above) will be delighted with their special mention! It is great to note the suggestions and feedback you have provided to other travelers in your review.

Again thank you for recommending our property on Trip Advisor and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We decided to spend a week at the Outrigger for my birthday after reading good reviews on tripadvisor .com and it lived up to expectations and more. Having never been to Fiji we were expecting a luxurious and relaxing experience and the hotel didnt fail to deliver at all.
After a long transfer from the airport we were a hot and bothered and the first thing we were greeted with at reception was a cool drink and a refreshing chilled towell, what a great first impression. The staff were all extremely pleasant and helpful, especially outr lovely talai butler Malakai, who greeted us every evening with champagne and snacks. The room and facilities were great. Beautifully set up and spacious. The pool area was just a lovely place to relax in the shade, or enjoy a cool cocktail at sunset.
I loved the range of food available, and if your looking to fill your stay with fun activities, there is always something going on to participate in.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benandzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjita, Client Relations Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2010

Bula RickyandKrissy!

On behalf of the entire team of Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji we wish to thank you for having chosen to stay with us for your birthday.
I am delighted to note that you had a wonderful time with us and we appreciate your wonderful feedback on the service you received and rate your holiday as “ Just the perfect weeks vacation”. The staff takes great pride in providing excellent guest service and will be pleased to receive your comment especially Malakai will be delighted with his special mention!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Outrigger 'Vuvale' (Family).

Vinaka & Kind Regards
Moreen Manjita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Greetings from Sydney Australia,

My partner and I chose Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji because it was rated 5 star and was lured in by the amazing photos in our travel brochure (which in reality must have been taken a while ago).

We did enjoy our stay, however, I feel that the 5 star rating is questionable. I would still recommend it to other travellers as I believe that you need to experience it for yourself as everyone has different tastes and perceptions. Anyway I hope management is paying close attention to all feedback - good and bad.

At first the resort looks amazing, especially at night, but on closer inspection things are definitely starting to wane and age. From small things like the yellowed shower curtain in our bathroom and loose shower faucets to larger things like the natural roofing on the Bures exposing the metal roofs underneath and the stale/old smells of the bures themselves - from the pillows, curtains and interior.

It's still a pretty resort and must have been a real beauty when it first opened. It was Fiji's first 5 star resort but should it keep that rating now?

We stayed 3 nights in a Deluxe Ocean View Room and upgraded on our last night to a Beach Front Bure (the most expensive accommodation at the resort). Surprisingly, our cheaper room was the more enjoyable experience. It was fresher smelling, had a very comfortable bed, amazing views of the resort, and was very private. Only small things let in down like the old shower curtain, loose faucets and some dusty objects in the bathroom. The Beach Front Bure on the other hand though having an amazing location, was let down by the Bure itself. Yes it was immensely enjoyable lazing around on the hammocks and enjoying the ocean/beachfont view and sea breeze, however our Bure was very stale smelling and my pillows smelled of old cabbage. The biggest let down was when you wanted some privacy, you had to close all of the thick curtains which made the room loose most of it's charm and ambiance. Perhaps placing some sheerer curtains as well as thicker ones would be a good idea and although not traditional, some sky lights or something similar I think would definitely improve the mood inside when the curtains are closed.

Now last but not least, the food. Just not 5 star. Yes there were a few different cafes and restaurants to choose from within the resort but from all the meals eaten, I can remember only a few things that were truly enjoyable: the hamburger at the poolside cafe -surprisingly good; the fish curry at the poolside restaurant - nothing amazing but simple and tasy; and the lovo feast (traditional fijian food) which was very healthy and quite tasty. All other meals including deserts were poorly made. Maybe a big assumption on my part but it was like the food was made by people who didn't understand or enjoy the cuisine, as the fish dishes were great. Yes, you can get bad food anywhere in the world, but I had higher hopes for a 5 star resort.

Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank choosernotawisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RMOutrigger, Resort Manager at Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2010

Bula ChoosenotaWisher,
Many thanks for informative report on your recent stay at Outrigger on the Lagoon Fiji. We certainly pay close attention to all feedback whether at property or websites like Trip Advisor. It was disappointing to read our resort didn’t meet your expectations as a 5 star resort. Rest assured the AAA rating assessments are carried out on annual basis and our most recent assessment was November last year.
I have discussed your points regarding rising damp and shower curtains with our Housekeeping Manager. Rising damp is common concern in our climate we do have a variety of measures in place to curb this issue, and are always looking for new remedies.
The bare metal on roofing is the result of a cyclone that passed through Fiji in the mid December. We have been busy repairing all thatching and actually started on Beach front bures this week. This process does take time and we look forward to having all thatching repaired by the end of the month.
Your points regarding food have been noted. Our kitchen team is always keen to embrace other cuisines and our training certainly reflects this approach.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Vinaka & best regards
Leon Pink

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews