We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice But Pricey”

Sundowner Bar & Grill
Ranked #8 of 22 Restaurants in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice But Pricey”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Staff very attentive - perhaps a little too much. Great views. Music okay. Food ranged from good to excellent. I had spare ribs and they were to die for. But very pricey. Had better meals elsewhere for significantly less.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    39
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average service, bad food.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The food here was very boring, normal grill stuff, steaks were average, no better than from a supermarket, sausages were dry and horrible and the pizzas were bland and bare.

Staff were snooty when making a booking but lovely once you were sat down. My husband did not enjoy the singer with the odd hairdo.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Icecreamy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Loved this place!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We traveled as a family with grandparents and a small child and we loved this place. We ate lunch and dinner nearly every day of our stay at Outrigger on the Lagoon as well as celebrated my parent's 50th wedding vow renewal. The cocktails are amazing. We tried nearly all of them and our son loved the Bush Man mocktail. As far as food... we loved the tapas for lunch. For dinner we enjoyed the half chicken and squid the best. We would order sides of salad and it was really filling. The garlic breads were all nice as well. The kids menu was great. If the little one didn't want exactly what was on the menu, they were able modify the meal. The staff were super friendly and nice and welcoming. They remembered our names and made our dining experience enjoyable. We loved watching the sunset over the ocean as we had our dinner while having someone sing and play the guitar. Definitely be back next time we are in Fiji!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CristinaLepre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Beautiful location right on the beach front. A little pricey however worth a visit. Try and visit around sun set as you can see the sun setting over the water.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AllyM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This restaurant was beautiful andvthevservice was great.
But this wasbtrulynover priced. Two adults and two children. Two steaks (no salad or accompany men's ) one child's spaghettini and a bread dip for our other daughter who was not hungry.
Some wine and we were presented with a bill for 280 aud. although t was great to go somewhere else for a meal (we were staying at SHangrila) it make me realise as a family we would never stay there and be able to afford the prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sundowner Bar & Grill also viewed

Sigatoka, Coral Coast
Sigatoka, Coral Coast
 
Sigatoka, Coral Coast
Korotogo, Coral Coast
 

Been to Sundowner Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing