We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“picture postcard! best place i've ever been!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Sigatoka
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Travelling with my boyfriend we were meant to stay at another resort which turned out to be shut! so we got moved to mango bay and upgraded to a beachside bure. Hanging hammocks, on a lovely beach! The staff here are some of the loveliest people i have met. Justin and his activitie guys are great, we loved our surfing lesson with him, he also sorted us a trip to the volcom fiji pro, which was awesome!
free breakfast in lovely in the bar area and meals at dinner are lovely. Saturday night entertainment the polynesian dancers are amazing, and the international crab racing is a fun night.
theres always something to do! from 8.30am fish feeding time, jewlery making classes, cooking lessons and kava nights.
the only downside is the nearest supermarket is quite far away so either pick up some food on the way to the resort, or be ready to pay for meals and drinks from the bar!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPALSuva, Guest Relations Manager at Mango Bay Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Bula Vinaka Lucy H,

We are delighted to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay in our small paradise. Our Staff and Management go over and beyond to make all our guest stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in near future.

Vinaka
Mango Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (507)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

It's a very pretty resort. The beach is lovely, with hammocks, a beautiful sunset and a bar - what more can you ask for!
Our room was clean and spacious, the shower completely gave up on us a few times which wasn't great but it didn't effect my view on this place.
It's very isolated from any shops so you have to eat and drink in the restaurant. The food is good, the drinks are quite expensive for what you get but you don't really have a choice. And they do what they're designed for!
Very chilled atmosphere, perfect for doing nothing and enjoying the view.
The only definate downside is the WiFi. It costs a lot ($10 a day, $25 for 2 days, $35 for 3 days ect...) and only works in the restaurant so it's a little annoying. I had to do a good few hours of work and it can be distracting. But I did keep reminding myself it was very calm and beautiful which helped!
Probably not perfect for backpackers but if your a couple or its a relaxing holiday then go for it. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: The safari room was lovely. But if you have the cash, the beachfront bures look perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KTB9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MPALSuva, Guest Relations Manager at Mango Bay Resort Fiji, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Bula KTB9393,

Thank you for your great feedback . We always welcome both negative and positive feedback as not only it gives us the chance to improve our service it also gives us the chance to do a little better next time.

Our resort is 10 minutes away from a small shopping centre. The other eating places are available but are more expensive than Mango Bay Resort.

We are a flashpacker resort therefore, our price margins are done according to our market and spending powers of most of the guest.

Wifi does works in all around the property but yes we have been having problems recently and are hoping to get it fixed as soon as.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future with better service.

Vinaka
Mango Bay Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Mango Bay Resort was a great resort, although in the middle of the nowhere it was a great place to start our holiday in Fiji. Very relaxing, reasonably prices on drink and on most food. Free breakfast was great, and we got upgraded from a twin lodge to safari room which was really nice. Despite getting bitten loads by mosquitos.... but i guess thats tasty blood for you. The resort offered surfing lessons, diving, and kayaks (only had one, but it was free to take it out) and free snorkelling. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I dont think i would have wanted to stay longer then the three days we were there as there was nothing around the resort. The beach was great, and nice clear sea. The pool was nice too at the resort. They offered activites throughout the day but we were there when not many backpackers or tourists were there so it was pretty quiet.

Room Tip: dont get dorm rooms, go for safari, twin rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBell25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

I travel to Fiji a lot, but only ever want to stay here...
The staff are awesome, the owners are intent on making your stay memorable, and the location is fanastic. If you've got money that you want to throw away then head to the Warick or some other 5 star "facility", otherwise there is nowhere better on the mainland to stay than Mango Bay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RatuCameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We loved staying at Mango Bay. Not only was it close to the surf, but it was also quiet and relaxing. The food was ok, but the massage hut was by far the best massage we had in Fiji. Accomodation (safari cabins), were peaceful and clean. The owners were particularly welcoming and made everyone feel at home. You can snorkel directly out the front and there are also other activities close by. The only problem was that the surfing boat was hired out by a group of fisherman all week and my boyfriend was unable to go surfing at Frigates (which was the whole point of our trip).

Room Tip: Beach front rooms are the nicest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cellypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

'Flash packer' resort with lovely beach front accommodation. Prefect for singles and couples, with day time activities and trips, and night time entertainment. Do as little or as much as you want. The staff are really friendly and the food and drinks are yummy! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _ES1_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This is a great resort aptly marketed as a Flashpacker Resort. The resort is relaxed and small which adds to its appeal without the crowds of people and no kidlets! (Occupancy was not at its maximum while we were there). If you have no expectations of anything but a upmarket budget resort you will find this resort quite charming. The staff are friendly enough, some more so than others. Although marketed for the younger traveller, we are 48 and 52 and did not feel out of place. There is something for everyone, whether it be a planned activity or relaxing, slipping away to enjoy early nights or party on 'til late.
Bures are excellent with outdoor showers which was our pre-requisite for choosing a resort. We had a beachfront bure which was very close to the beach.
The beach is not the best (it is located on the coral coast after all) and when the tide is in, it is still very shallow. There is deeper water near the reef if you want to swim (also the pool is good for that).The water is crystal clear and looks gorgeous when the tide is in and good for a float around. The small bit of beach in front of our bure could have been our own private beach.
There are two other types of accommodation for the backpacker type traveller, which definitely did not appeal to us.
The food is pretty basic fare, good but not excellent and reasonably priced. I took advantage of the local fish meals most days as opposed to western style steak or lamb chops for example.
Breakfast is very ho-hum but having read previous reviews we took our own seed/nut combo. Cooked options are available and are fine. Lunch also is good with a variety of options.
It is advisable to stock up on water before you get to the resort as the water is not safe to drink so purchase at airport or stop at supermarket in Sigatoka on your way to the resort - slightly cheaper at the supermarket.
There is complimentary water in the Bure but it was not replenished, possibly due to our own supply. There is also fresh water in the restaurant available at all times but you cannot use it to fill your bottle.
Lots of frogs (harmless) and lots of mosquitos at night. The odd one or two still manages to find its way in through the mosquito net.
The bed linen is past its best and pillows are pretty yuck but you get what you pay for.
If the resort invested in new linen that would be a huge bonus!
For a reasonably priced resort on the mainland this is a good option to get a taste of a traditional Fijian island experience. The 2 hour drive to get there is a negative in our opinion but is worth getting away from the upmarket "Denarau Experience".
We stayed 6 nights and enjoyed our week immensely. My preference would be to stay at Mango Bay for 5 nights and have 2 nights at some other place for a change of scene.
In the past my choice of destination has been the outer islands for 7-10days and that is still my preference but Mango Bay has been the next best thing.
Indulge in a massage - you will not be disappointed. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Blythe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
3.6 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,750 reviews
18.4 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
995 reviews
16.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Sigatoka
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 10 in Sigatoka
417 reviews
27.3 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
#10 of 10 in Sigatoka
126 reviews
25.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort Fiji

Address: Off Queens Highway Namatakula, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#7 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range: £48 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango Bay Resort Fiji 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush… Balmy… Unspoiled…. These are just a few of the idyllic thoughts that will cross your mind the moment you arrive at Tadrawai ('Dreamwater') Valley, home to the beautiful Mango Bay Resort. Prepare yourself for blissful relaxation and rejuvenation of spirit while nestled among 12 lush acres adorned with a rainbow of tropical colours; where greens, blues, aquamarines and white (sands) blend into a tranquil cocktail of natural harmony. It's what you expected and exactly what you deserve, a Fiji experience you will both savour and treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mango Bay Resort Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Sigatoka
Mango Bay Sigatoka
Mango Bay Resort Fiji Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing