We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the place to stay in Fiji”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not the place to stay in Fiji”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Wish I had read the review by Aly5860 before I stayed here.

Totally agree with the comments made by Aly5860! And their photos certainly tell the truth!

Some places in Fiji are very basic and nothing flash but this place is woeful.

Woeful accommodation, woeful food, woeful security, woeful service, and staff who looked like they didn't want to be there....and who could blame them.

Really.... do yourself a huge favour and stay somewhere else and enjoy the real Fiji and its wonderful people.

I have been to Fiji a number of times now and can honestly say this is something I have never encountered before.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vonu_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    157
    59
    30
    26
See reviews for
27
221
79
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

As part of our feejee experiance me and my gf stayed here for one night only, we had stayed at various hotels around fiji and understand that there are basic huts ie traditional Fijian accomidation. However the hut we stayed in was like being in a horror movie! Exposed floor boards, creepy crawlys everywhere along with the most scary bathroom imaginable to man. Along with this we had the elements to battle with the roof exposed letting in the wind which made the hut umbaerable.. It was so cold even under the duvet that we both had to put several layers on under the duvet, Plus side we stayed there for 1 night.The beach was ok although like many other reveiws on here there are better places to stay, please don't let this put you off places in fiji as there are some amazing places to stay and the people were amazing & friendly including at this hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adams32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoFiji, General Manager at Mango Bay Resort Fiji, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Bula Adam,

It is with great disappointment we read your review.

Most of our room specially the Beachfront Bures & Safari Cabins have gone through renovation and we are surprised why this issue was not brought to Management attention? Fiji is a tropical country and you are bound to see insects that are part of the beautiful environment.

We are delighted to hear that you have at least enjoyed our beach. We hope you have enjoyed rest of your time in Fiji.

Vinaka
Mango Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on our first night as part of the feejee experience. Me and my partner stayed in a private bure whilst our friends all went in the dorm. The grounds and reception were beautiful. Was slightly disappointed to our bure as t Looked very basic and in need of an update. Was a cold night, and as our bure wasn't completely closed at the top by the roof it got rather chilly through out the night. Our mosquito net for the bed had also seen better days . Was bearable for one night as the grounds, bar and pool/beach area made up for the bure. The staff were ever so friendly and the food was good. Amazing g views over the sea of the sunset.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zimmy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We spent 1 night at Mango Bay Resort as part of our Feejee- Whole Hula Experience Tour, we were very impressed with the reception area, the beautiful grounds and gardens of the resort, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, however when we were directed to our Bure we were extremely disappointed, our Bure was right down the back of the resort, well away from the reception, bar and dining areas and certainly no where near the beach and away from our co travellers who were staying in a dorm Bure. Going up the stairs to the Bure there were no rails or anything to hang onto, the Bure appeared to be very old and tired, the wooden slats did not close properly. We did have a very entering night, met the owner and his wife who were just as friendly as the Fijian staff, we did observe the next morning as the owner told us the night before he is in the process of refurbishing the whole resort. Do not think we will be returning to this resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MangoFiji, Owner at Mango Bay Resort Fiji, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Bula Dianne912,

Thank you for your feedback as always we welcome both positive and negative comments to assist in improving our service.

Feejee Experience are contracted to book dormitory & Safari Cabins that has garden views but option to upgrade to a Beachfront Bure is available at additional cost subject to availability. We are glad that you had a chance to meet our new owner as you have mentioned the resort is going through refurbishment & renovation the cabins are going through facelift and is definitely looking better.

Our staffs are our great asset that ensures that our guest have an enjoyable stay. It will be our pleasure to share our newly finished garden view rooms should you decide to come back and stay with us!

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed your rest of your time in Fiji!

Vinaka Vakalevu,

Mango Bay Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and i visited Mango Bay Resort for 10 days and we loved every second of it! It is not only a very relaxing place but also has a friendly and inviting vibe and we made friends (staff and other guests) that we will never forget.
The beach front bure's are definately the way to go! Small but everything you need. The food is great with specials for every lunch and dinner session. They also accommodate for vegetarians, vegans etc. with dishes of your liking. The staff are incredibly friendly and they run a lot of activities throughout the day that are fun and a great way to learn about fiji. We were worried that we would have to leave the resort to do the activities we wanted but mango bay has every activity on offer that you can think of!
One of the staff even went out of his way to take us on a beautiful, private waterfall hike as it was our last day and we missed out on the session prior. He explained all the plants, wildlife, traditions and answered any questions about fiji that we had and made it an unforgettable trip!
If you want somewhere cheap, adventurous, relaxing, or fun, mango bay is perfect!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Britt9332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We liked the stay the first time we were there in 2012 so we went back to find new owners and a resort that is improving by the day, as all the accommodation (as far as I'm aware) is being refurbished as we speak, the reception area has already been redesigned and looks awesome as the gateway to the resort.

Awesome views from the bed in the Beachfront Bure and waking up to the sound of breaking waves on the shoreline which is only about 10-15 metres from the door of the Bure is so relaxing and refreshing.

The staff are very welcoming, they greet you as a friend, nothing is too much trouble to do for you (within reason). If an activity isn't available just ask and they'll make it happen.

The food on offer is delicious and are decent serving sizes, there are specials every Lunch/Dinner so there is good variety on offer, enjoy the sunset while you have dinner with your Pina Colada.

There's no phone or tv in the room so you're really encouraged to get away from the technology and actually relax. There isn't air conditioning but it is not needed as all you have to do is open the windows to get the beautiful sea breeze while you listen to the waves crashing on the shore.

If you want an affordable, relaxing holiday don't overlook Mango Bay Resort you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: Beachfront Bure is a must to do, virtually your own front yard to the ocean, but not to close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveD1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Let me begin by stating that the experience I had during my 7 days at Mango Bay in January 2013 was simply life-changing. I had an ephiphany of sorts when during one of my usual morning strolls along the unspoilt pacific beach. I was approached by what appeared to be a rastafarian prophet of sorts, dressed in a long gown. I got this impression by his dreadlocks and red eyes. How wrong I was! He was a devout christian of the Assemblies of God church. There is one of these churches located in the neighbouring Namatakula Village (where the famous rugby player Lote Taquiri is from). Well, he taught me the most valuable life lesson. "Always remember...god gave you life and god fills your pockets". Not being particularly religious myself, the message struck truly and deeply nonetheless. But regards the hotel (the intention of the review), it is A Class and dirt cheap. Beachfront luxury for about $100 AUD a day!

Room Tip: Bure No. 10 is far from the noisy dancefloor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBossBronno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
27.3 mi away
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
3.6 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,620 reviews
11.0 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 9 in Sigatoka
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,049 reviews
19.4 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
638 reviews
6.5 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay Resort Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay Resort Fiji

Property: Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Address: Off Queens Highway Namatakula, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sigatoka
#6 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#7 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mango Bay Resort Fiji 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lush… Balmy… Unspoiled…. These are just a few of the idyllic thoughts that will cross your mind the moment you arrive at Tadrawai ('Dreamwater') Valley, home to the beautiful Mango Bay Resort. Prepare yourself for blissful relaxation and rejuvenation of spirit while nestled among 12 lush acres adorned with a rainbow of tropical colours; where greens, blues, aquamarines and white (sands) blend into a tranquil cocktail of natural harmony. It's what you expected and exactly what you deserve, a Fiji experience you will both savour and treasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Mango Bay Resort Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Sigatoka
Mango Bay Sigatoka
Mango Bay Resort Fiji Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing