We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Delicious food. Amazing beaches. Super friendly staff!!! Nice place to relax and enjoy fiji time!

Be sure to check out the cave and old village ruins when you´re here. Sylvia is a great cook and SImon is a great tour guide. We really enjoyed our stay-- we felt like family!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    36
    9
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
50
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The name Namuka Bay resort is a misnomer. If by resort you conjure up visions of lying by a pool, sipping creamy cocktails , lots of activities and day trips, nightlife and shopping, then it has none of these things, and you will be disappointed. It should be called Namuka Bay Hideaway or Retreat, because if you want isolation, seclusion and time to think, read and walk along long stretches of lonely beaches and swim in the sea and snorkel then this place is for you. Take appropriate footwear for beach walking as there is a reason it is called the “coral coast". Take bubble wrap if you want to take home the colourful shells you find revealed by the tides.
Things to know: There is no electricity from 6am to 7pm “ish” at night. This is not a problem
as there is plenty of light to read, plus you need to remember to charge any electrical
equipment at night. There are overhead fans and no air-conditioning. Because of your
proximity to the water and the constant sea breeze the fans are perfectly adequate. There are
no small refrigerators or tea/coffee making equipment in the rooms – not much point if there
is no power during the day.

There is no pool, but there are endless beaches. The beach side villas are so close to the water that you can almost touch it from your verandah. You will spend a lot of time on your verandah just watching the water and the changing weather. You will be lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves.
There is nothing to do other than what you bring to entertain yourself. I suggest lots of books and a laptop, with DVDs for the night time. Parents, for your own sanity and that of other guests, this means that your children will be hideously bored so take them to a resort with a kid’s club.
Take everything that you will need, including toiletries as they are not provided, and there are no shops close by. I suggest you take anything you need such as chocolate, duty free alcohol and mixers (the staff can put these in the main refrigerator for you – yes it stays cold during the day when the power is off) snacks etc., or in the very least ask the driver to stop on the way to Namuka so you can pick up anything you might want.
Internet access is occasional and only managed when the planets align. Mobile phone coverage with Digicell is good. I always have my mobile on in case of emergencies, but don’t use it otherwise. If you can’t be without constant internet access such as the need for Facebook updating, then this place will not suit you.
The food is excellent. Take the $65FJ three meals per day package. Actually, there is nowhere else to get food, but you won’t be disappointed. Lots of fruit, fish (the “ikavakalolo” – fish in coconut milk and the “miti” – cold fish soup with coriander are exceptional). The chicken and fish curries are excellent and nicely spiced. No junk food in sight.
The staff are willing to please, and like the Fijians in my previous experience (this was my 4th trip to Fiji) I found that they hate to disappoint you so they will not answer direct questions about such things as the weather, and yes it does rain in Fiji, sometimes for days and nights on end without a break. Get used to Fiji time, don’t fight it and don’t look at your watch. The main thing is that they just need to get you to the airport on time for your flight home. The airport runs on the same time as the rest of the world.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jgr54354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at Numuka bay for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time there. The beach villa was spectacular with stunning views of the Pacific Ocean, coral reef, crystal clear water, pink sunsets and surrounded by coconut trees. The most impressive thing about this place was that it was secluded, no noise only the sound of the ocean waves. A number of activities are on offer including kayaking, horse riding, line fishing and guided tours to nearby caves and the old settlement on the hill. We enjoyed the bonfire on the beach. On our second evening we were lucky to view a whale breeching beyond the reef from our balcony. This is a family run business and everyone is warm and friendly. If there is anything you need just ask: nothing is too much trouble. As a couple Namuka Bay was perfect for us - peace and tranquility which is just what we needed. Thank you for a wonderful stay, we hope to return one day.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We agree with most of the other positive comments so we won't repeat them. We had a nice relaxing time but there are some annoyances. The following should better prepare you if you decide to stay there.

- we paid for 5 nights in the “all inclusive villa” (direct to Namuka Resort on the web) and received a free night but this apparently did not include meals (not told to you before booking). We were charged for six extra meals just before leaving! (approx. $20 FJD each). We felt this was unfair, especially, since we were away from the resort for three days traveling and did not eat six lunches which we had paid for).
- there isn't much coral or fish to see while snorkelling, much of it is either dead or broken and what's left is not very colourful. The reef is very shallow which makes it only practical to snorkel at high tide but you will still need to be very careful that you don't get scratched by the coral. One lady received quite a few scratches on her stomach while we were there, we hope she doesn't get permanent scaring. (We had our own equipment so can’t comment on their equipment). If you get coral cuts/scratches rinse them thoroughly under clean water and disinfect with hydrogen peroxide as soon as possible. It's not possible to swim out past the coral wave break where you might be able to snorkel in the open sea. It's highly recommended that you bring Croc rubber shoes for walking on the beach (lots of sharp broken coral) and also for swimming.
- the showers in the Beach Front Villa's don't have much pressure and sometimes don't have hot water (one hot water system shared by two rooms). The shower is outside of the villa without a roof so it can be cold from wind and rain drops from the roof.
- the beds are quite short, so if you're over 170cm it will be a little uncomfortable.
- we could hear the other couple coughing through the wall that separates the rooms in the villa.
- transportation to the resort is awkward because it is about 6klms (seems much longer) along a rough, hilly dirt road off the main road so you can forget about walking especially if you have luggage. We paid $100 FJD for a taxi from Nandi Airport which is about an hour long trip. A cheaper option would be to get a taxi from the airport to Nadi (pronounced Nandi) for FJD $15 and an express bus to Cuvu (closest town just past the resort - pronounced Duvu) for about FJD $20 and get a carrier (un-marked local taxi to the resort for $10 or $12 FJD). 99% of taxi's will try to overcharge you, so find out what you should pay from a reliable source (a local perhaps) before you take one, and get the safest looking one. It's not recommended that you take a minibus as they often are involved in accidents from speeding to make more money. Almost every trip we took we saw an accident. One head-on accident we saw involved a govt car which was speeding that ended up on its side on fire - two dead, and two injured in the other car. On our way back to the airport we were almost involved in a head-on collision when a speeding car was overtaking on a blind bend, luckily our taxi driver reacted in time by braking heavily and swerving half way off the road. The main road around the island is in very poor condition. We only saw one bicycle and one motorbike the whole time (in about 12 hours of travelling on the main island to Nadi, Suva, etc.) and I personally wouldn't attempt it. We caught an express bus to Suva (3hrs one way) nothing to see there, the museum is less than ordinary, wouldn’t recommend it at all. Nadi is good for shopping (again don’t pay label price for anything, start haggling at 40% or less – some souvenir shops you can start at 10% or even less). Sigatoka hill fort and sand dunes are interesting – pay about $20 for a taxi to take you to these from Sigatoka town, they are not far from town. Watch out for scams while in the towns, don’t tell your name to men who will carve it into a knife so you must buy it, don’t donate money for a school library collected by “student” not in uniform.
- be sure to select a kayak without holes in the bottom, the ones with holes will fill up quickly making them uncontrollable and you are likely to get a nasty coral cut when you fall onto the sharp, shallow coral beds. They are extremely heavy so you will probably need help getting them into the water.
- only one small bar of soap is provided in the sink and no shampoo or conditioner, so make sure you take those. Two towels are provided but you can ask for more.
- of course we brought our own duty free alcohol (and mixers), there is no fridge in the room but other guests asked to keep theirs in the kitchen fridge. The water from the kitchen is ok to drink (never drank the sink water in the room) and tastes quite good. We brought our own bottles of (Fiji) water for convenience. We took snacks with us but didn't really eat them as the meals filled us up. There is a small supermarket in Duvu were you can get supplies.
- no mosquitoes in the room or the villa porch (in August) but we did get bitten a bit while eating in the open dining area in front of the kitchen.
- when visiting the cave take a pair of glasses (if you wear them) because you won't see much with sunglasses in a dark cave. If you go with one of the staff they will provide torches. If your legs are sensitive you may get rashes or itchiness walking through the long grass wearing shorts.
- book your horse ride well in advance, we missed out as they only do it for a single person per day (only one saddle available).
- the vegetable garden had been moved since the last big floods so isn't very big and is very "informal" and probably doesn't produce much.

Room Tip: It may be cheaper to not get the inclusive meal package if you don't eat three meals per day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Beachabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

If you are travelling to Fiji u MUST MUST MUST stay at Namuka Bay Resort. It was the most amazing ten night holiday of my life and we are already planning our return next year!

Where to begin:
-The people-the most amazing "family" of people work at Namuka Bay and they continuously do anything and everything to make your stay lovely. From surprise birthday cakes for my friend on her birthday, to bonfires on the beach, amazing day trips to the mountains, mud springs, fireshow, horseriding and walks to the ancient cave, rigging up the TV aerial and watching the football with me and for arranging fresh coconuts, sugar cane, pineapple and prawns on our request. Every memeber of the staff goes out of their way to make your stay amazing.

-The location-situated on a natural lagoon with fantastic snorkelling and golden sands with a backdrop of beautiful rainforests and too many coconut trees to count. It is the perfect environment to relax, recharge and reconnect. It's isolation from other tourists actually makes the holiday more special and if you are worried about being cut off from society, Rez or Mr Ali will be happy to take you into town with them and their are many day trips available for a very cheap price.

-The food-amazing amazing AMAZING! Every meal is fantastic and will have you bursting at the seams. They will bring it up to your balcony or you can go down to the restaurant/bar and enjoy your fine cusiine there.

This was such an amazing holiday in every way. BOOK AT NAMUKA BAY RESORT AND IT WILL EXCEED ALL YOUR EXPECTATIONS!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the beach front villas. You will wake up to the most amazing view each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

This place is amazing! All the food is grown on site and the fish are caught fresh. It is a true Fiji experience. You can participate in bonfires on the beach and lovo and cava ceremonies. The views are breath taking, the accomadations are comfy and welcoming, and the staff is there to assist you in any way. You can visit caves, hike, see ancient ruins, snorkle, kayak, learn to line fish, go horseback riding, or just lay in a hammock. You need to be prepared to be virtually closed off from the rest of the world. There is no internet or phone service and you only have electricity from 6 p.m. to 6 a.m. everyday. This turned out to be one of the reasons I loved this place so much. You have to relax and just enjoy the Fijian lifestyle. :)

Room Tip: Stay in a beach villa. It is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I have been travelling now for 7 months and this has to be the most amazing place I have been. After reading some of the comments I was unsure, bbut once I arrived I was soooo glad I had chosen this place. The beach is the most beautiful I have ever seen. Everyday my brother and I walked there I felt privileged. Why? Because, firstly we had our very own coral on our doorstep (we were the only two snorkeling on the beach!) and secondly the water was crystal clear. It was the beach I had dreamed of seeing whilst travelling.
Now, back to the hotel. This hotel is unlike any other I have stayed …in a good way. The service is more than 5 star as you feel so welcomed and anything you ask for they will be more than happy to provide. We had friends staying at other very expensive hotels nearby and I have to say the food at Namuka was in my opinion better… this is because it is traditional home cooked Fijian food and it is something special – I could eat bacon and eggs or sushi anywhere in the world, but the fish in lolo and breakfast at Namuka was amazing. This was always accompanied by freshly picked fruit and all served on a beautiful and tranquil terrace. (I will add at this point that I am half Italian and my dad is a chef so I am fussy, but this food was lovely and the portions ample!)
The accommodation is of a great standard. This is a new resort and as yet relatively undiscovered so everything is very clean and well maintained. We saw the dorms which were better than 80% of the hostels I have seen and the villa was amazing. There are few places you can stay and fall asleep listening to the waves crashing on the coral!!
Finally, the staff. I would like to thank all of them on behalf of my brother and I. Mr and Mrs Ali (the owners) are sooo accommodating! I read a review about additional charges – THIS IS NOT TRUE! They make so much effort to meet your needs and if you need transfers as we did, provide a much cheaper and reliable service. Silvia, Zee and Rez do a wonderful job in the kitchen; Simon is a very friendly, kind and knowledgeable guy and organized a great tour for us to the caves; Sosi and Solo made a great lovo and were always smiling and very helpful!! THANKS FOR A GREAT TIME FROM MARCO AND ALEX!
This is a wonderful place and so good in fact I am going back for another week next week!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Segoviano81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
16.3 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#4 of 9 in Sigatoka
353 reviews
11.0 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,021 reviews
27.3 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,539 reviews
2.8 mi away
Gecko's Resort
Gecko's Resort
#5 of 9 in Sigatoka
335 reviews
11.3 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort

Property: Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort
Address: Nadiri Junction (right handside) before Cuvu | Cuvu, Sigatoka, Viti Levu P.O BOX 251, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sigatoka
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Namuka bay lagoon is more of a hideaway than a frilly resort it offers wellness in its serene and unpulluted surroundings, adventure in its limestone caves and historic archelogical sites and activities ranging from mountain biking,kayaking, horseriding, massage,meditation,snorkelling,hiking to nearby Fijian village or to nearby 5 star rssorts.The Namuka Bay lagoon is very safe for kids and it is the last part of the mainland which still has live coral.Namuka bay promises a healthy you, through our resorts gardens and corn fed pultry and meadow fresh milk and eggs. If you want to feel alive again try us..you wont be disapointed Namuka is Fiji's newly discovered paradise its not only for a new breed of eco-travellers but its for those who want to rejuvenate themselves and return to mother nature itself A unique blend of nature and adventure awaits you ...hidden amongst rolling hills of a tropical rainforest. Namuka Bay promises more than just a holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Namuka Bay Lagoon Hotel Sigatoka
Namuka Bay Lagoon Resort Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing