We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly & cheerful staff. ”
Review of Bedarra Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bedarra Beach Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Sigatoka
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very friendly & cheerful staff. ”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Rooms are decent enough and the location is great.
Staff are very friendly and helpful and clearly been working together for a long time.
Food is good too.

If your looking for an all inclusive resort type place this isn't for you though.

We were quite touched by the farewell song sung to us. They have some awesome voices and the cathedral like reception/bar helped too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    211
    31
    10
    4
See reviews for
238
530
67
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

The hotel room is basic but clean and comfortable. The real treasure at Bedarra beach is its wonderful staff who welcome you with genuine warmth. Happy hour is a great way to meet other travellers and compare stories. The Band play every night and are fantastic. Making a reservation for dinner is essential as restaurant is usually full with diners from other resorts who have heard the cuisine is 1st class and prices reasonable. Staff are happy to arrange excursions for you, if you're looking for excitement I recommend the Jet Boat tour but if you just want to chill out ,sitting by the pool with a cocktail is great therapy. All and all a great place to stay. Bulla to Vani, Vesi,Jonathon,Roslyn,Wise,&Sali. Vinaka .

Room Tip: Try Deluxe Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larabris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our family stayed twice for weekend getaways. It was a very relaxing time, with plenty of nearby activity if we chose it. Great location. Staff was helpful, honest and accomodating. Loved the live music each night in the lounge.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The warmth and friendly nature of the Fijian people are without equal and culminated in a "goodbye" song from the staff the night before our departure that was very moving. The sense of humour of the locals is what sets them apart and they are likeable and easy to get along with.

My wife spent some time in the on-site spa and claimed that it was the best she had ever had (and that says a lot, coming from her!)

The food was good, and everything was relatively clean and hygienic.

No phone or TV - not really an issue, but with three days of continuous rain - I would suspect if you had kids they might have been climbing the walls.

There are a few issues to consider.

1. the rooms mostly surround the pool, that is next to the restaurant, that is next to the reception that is right at the entrance! That means you get up when the earliest (noisy) person decides to get up. That meant being woken up around 7am (5am Ozzie time) every day. Of course, kids cannot have fun without expressing it with volume, so do not expect lazy, peaceful - late sleeping! Also, no-one, the other guests, nor the staff - seem to consider that there are people actually wanting to sleep past 7am - so the hammering starts as well (must be maintenance) Yup, lot of noise from all and sundry.

2. the shower leaked profusely, the curtains could not cover the whole window(Which was a bit of an issue as our room looked directly on to the restaurant), the fan made a ticking noise while it was running, we killed 3 cockroaches in the room, there was no warm bed covering for the one or two nights it actually got cold. Nothing major or warranting a complaint.

And then, nothing to do with the hotel -

3. There is so much broken glass on the surrounding beach area, and care must be taken when walking - best not done barefoot. DO take a torch with, if you need to walk outside at night, there are no streetlights and a torch is an good optional extra.

4. And finally - everything is overpriced. It is obviously aimed at the Australian tourist market and everything is priced to suit, with the FJ$ price and the equivalent AU$ price next to it. This would be the main reason most people would come, enjoy - but never return as it would just "not be worth it" Do not be fooled by the official Foreign exchange rate of FJ$ to AU$ of F$1.70 to AU$1 -you will be hard pressed in getting it that good. Transfers are a rip-off, with it starting at $60pp (but you can take a taxi straight from the airport for $90, for the whole taxi, to the same place??) and a good coffee costs 50% more than one in OZ? Hey, how about paying AU$6 for a bottle of water! or $17.50 for a cocktail?

I Certainly am happy I did the trip, the people are really special - but truthfully, probably not again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank iP0kerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilFiji, Owner at Bedarra Beach Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Bula iPOkerman,

Thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a review. Guest comments are always welcome and go a long way to help prospective guests make a decision. For that reason, I felt that a few comments on your comments would be in order and might perhaps clarify some of the issues you mentioned.

You are 100% correct with regard to the gentle, warm, fun loving nature of the Fijian people. Our team is a wonderful example of this and they are our pride & joy.

Great to hear that the Spa team met (or possibly exceeded?) your wife's expectations. We're a small property but we like to do things with a 5-star pezzazz!

As for your room, I believe you stayed in one of our Standard rooms which, as described on our website, can be a little noisier since they are in the main building. Our Deluxe and Superior rooms are in a separate block and therefore quieter and, shall we say, detached from the traffic of the reception, etc. The noises you heard of hammering were probably from the construction site across the street as we have a rule here that our maintenance crew live by - no hammering until after 09.30...

You made a couple comments about the room and I am sorry to say I am disappointed that you didn't come and tell us. If you has a leaky shower or ill-fitting curtains or needed an extra blanket, had we known those would have been fixed for you. Shame on us that it happened but please understand that if we don't know, we can't make it right for you...

Now for the things that you said were NOT our fault:
Broken glass on the beach: Yes we agree - that's why we have staff clean our entire beach every day, 365 days of the year. It's a shame that it exists but we do all we can to make sure it never happens at Bedarra. Transfers: We didn't arrange those for you. You appear to have booked them from Oz, so we cannot comment. Prices: Yes there are certainly places that we consider overcharge for goods and services. Our prices are; Bottled water AU$2.50, Specialty coffees AU$4.40, Cocktails AU$15 less 50% at Happy Hour, so hopefully we helped relieve some of the sticker shock you experienced elsewhere...

I do hope you'll come back "home" to Bedarra one day - and this time, if there is the slightest blemish on your Fiji holiday, seek me out and I promise you IT WILL be fixed. It's our job to give you the best of holidays in these beautiful Islands.

Vinaka
Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

everyone was so friendly especially to my daughter she would take them every where all round the resort to find lizards, over the road to get coconuts or just to play at the beach she is only 3yrs they all loved her!! great food and prices we will be going back on another holiday hopefully they will remember us

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sunlover Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Inn has great views over the coral reef (get room 19) and we had a large, clean room (about 80m) and the people were very hospitable in typical Bula style. It is well priced for a 3-4 star but we hadn't appreciated that the Coral Coast has a micro-climate that is quite different from e.g Denarau. While we experienced wind, rain and choppy seas, in Denarau it was sunny with a light breeze. Also the pool is very small, there were few kids and most families spent the day at Outrigger (10 minute walk) to be able to entertain kids and get away from the wind.
The restaurant was well patronised by guests and outsiders but breakfast was limited choice and complicated by our wanting some additional items to the incl continental. So we had to negotiate for credits for the things we didn't want to order. Not what you need on vacation.
Good place for more mature patrons who want a few quiet days and don't need resort facilities.

Room Tip: Room 19 is large with best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougxrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A excellent place to stay for R&R in between Nadi and Suva. The Bedarra Beach Inn was fantastic, the staff where very friendly and helpful, the rooms where large very clean and well set out there is on TV in the rooms but hay who need it! Happy hour each evening is great, while sitting at the bar you have some of the locals sing etc in the back ground. you could not fault the food or the service in the dinning room. once again the Beddarra Beach Inn is a fabulous place to stay, come and try it for yourself on your next trip to Fiji far better that your large resorts etc.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, with very good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alister L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigatoka
12.7 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,492 reviews
5.3 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
30.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.0 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
15.6 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedarra Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedarra Beach Inn

Property: Bedarra Beach Inn
Address: Sunset Strip | Korotogo, Sigatoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Sigatoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sigatoka
#1 Spa Hotel in Sigatoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bedarra Beach Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer the personalized, intimate & friendly service of a small Inn with the luxurious accommodation, exquisite cuisine and special attention you'd expect from a large international resort costing twice the price. Our goal is to welcome you as guests, care for you as family and remember you as friends. 2 Great restaurants, unique cocktail bar, pool, lagoon beach, all rooms air-conditioned. Near Outrigger on the Lagoon Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bedarra Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedarra Beach Hotel Sigatoka
Bedarra Beach Inn Fiji/Sigatoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing