We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, convenient and friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Five Princes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Five Princes Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Suva
Sydney
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient and friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Five Princes was a good place to stay for its convenience (5 minute taxi ride at about FJ $4) into Suva and for its sense of being away from it all. The old home has a wonderful verandah at the side and rear which was lovely to breakfast on but also a nice place to sit in the evening. While it was a work trip, it was a nice restful and relaxing place to come back to and the staff were warm and friendly.
I stayed in a garden cottage which had a small kitchenette but limited to a bar fridge, toaster and kettle plus some crockery. It would be fine if you wanted to self cater for breakfast or make a sandwich but not much more. The bathroom was clean and the towels were plentiful and were replaced. There was reverse cycle aircon plus ceiling fan but as it was winter (27degrees celsius) not really required. If you like blankets or a hairdryer, you may have to ask for these as they were not provided in the room.

There was a supermarket a few hundred metres up the street plus a decent restaurant and bakery up the hill but not too far away. We did not have dinner at the hotel but it was available. We had organised full breakfast but this was a simple affair so don't come with expectations that this will gird your loins for the day. Eggs made to order with a small garnish of tomato and bacon was what we had each day. There was a coffee machine on the breakfast counter and this did make decent coffee.

Room Tip: It may be worth paying more for a garden cottage if you prefer privacy. In the main house I think ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foreignforays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    32
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
15
9
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nadi, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Its a lovely hotel which is not really far from the city. I'm actually kinda picky on hotel rooms, but the one that I stayed was great, its CLEAN, the high water pressure shower is good and the staffs I met are so friendly and helpful. I'd definitely come back again if I have chance to go to Suva again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSEINOCEANIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We enjoyed a relaxed and easy 2 night stay in one of the bures which could not have been more comfortable, especially as we were travelling with out 2 year old. A cot and bedding was provided upon request, and there was plenty of room in the bure to accommodate it along with a couch, table and chairs, a fridge, toaster, kettle and everything we needed to make out stay homely and easy. Out every window we only saw lush green gardens and it felt very private and safe.

The room and main building had plenty of Pacifica charm, and we enjoyed our sunset drinks on the balcony overlooking Suva, along with a delightful steak dinner at the restaurant, which our expat friends described as 'the best in Fiji'.

All the staff were lovely and we were always greeted with a warm smile, making us feel right at home. If you are looking for accommodation in Suva with character in a lovely tropical garden environment chose Five Prices Hotel :-)

Room Tip: A bure is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenp_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Arrived late from Nadi for a one night stay only but the hotel staff were ready, friendly and showed us to a big room with large bathroom. Watched the rugby on TV! Wifi available at a charge but was reasonably fast.
Breakfast was good, fruit and bread / pastries with eggs available at an additional price. The hotel is a bit out of town but a 10 minute taxi ride can get you to the market and the museum.

Room Tip: We were at the end of the building on the road side but the room was quiet. The hotel also offers v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mld1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

When I arrived the internet wasn't working. As it was a business trip, this was a major inconvenience. When I heard about the internet rates I was shocked, upwards of $25 a day, with $5 for 30 minutes. This is quite excessive as you can get a month of internet for $25 at Vodaphone.

Of course when I arrived it was directly after my flight. They asked if I wanted to make a reservation for dinner and I decided to do so since the hotel is so far out of town. However, once again, the dining experience was incredibly inappropriate for a business guest as it was a fine dining setting with live music, white table clothes and one waiter for each table. I think most business travelers are just looking for simple casual meals. They offered different course packages that started at 59FD and ended at 300FD or some crazy price. Who wants to eat a 5 course meal alone?! They let me order just an entree, which was nice. But it was still too much, too much attention and formality, not at all the casual dinning experience that I had wanted. I wish I had asked to have the meal in my room, that was my fault. It's a very nice place for a special occasion - it's too bad they don't offer a simpler option.

I haven't had breakfast here yet. The continental is $20 FD, which is a pretty high price for coffee and toast. Hopefully it's more than that.

I must say that the decor is quite nice. The room has beautiful hard wood floors, the bathroom has pretty blue tiles and a nice big shower. A nice big bed with quite a firm mattress and cotton sheets. The common areas are quite nice as well. Their only issue on the aesthetics is the awful carpet they have put in the hallway leading to the rooms. It's really terrible. There's a TV and DVD player which is nice for these rainy nights. Nothing on TV of course but you can get cheap DVDs in town if you're stuck in the rain like me.

I'm enjoying the stay, my issue is that I feel the room rate is quite high and I'm not getting enough value. I feel that at this price I should be getting a few amenities for free, like breakfast and internet. The continental breakfast should definitely be included, especially since I have been so inconvenienced with having to sort out my internet needs since theirs isn't available. They haven't made any effort to correct for this inconvenience which is disappointing and frankly I think its inconsiderate since they've called many taxis for me today knowing that I'm having to sort out the internet issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, USA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Though well within the City of Suva and close to everything, it feels more like a mountain resort with the reception, restaurant and some rooms at the top of a hill and other rooms (along with the pool) accessed by a short trail down the side of the hill. The rooms are nice, comfortable and have a very pleasant, homey feel that is welcome after travels with stops at international style hotels that look the same everywhere in the world. Friendly people, decent food that is well prepared (though a bit pricey for the area) and nice surroundings make it one of my favorite places in Suva for short stays. It is right next to one of the campuses of the Fiji National University and along the street are several very good Indian and local food restaurants as well as shops. Downtown Suva is a 20 minute walk or a 5 minute ride.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are particularly nice but all are quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunnyguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Five Princess is located outside of the downtown belt and off a well used road, but it offers travelers homely comfort and quiet. The rooms are cheery and the staff was solicitous and efficient but low key. I had a friend staying in an international chain hotel at the same time I was at Five Princes, and when we compared rates and experiences, we determined I paid half the rate and had the more satisfying experience.
The only thing to note is that the food, including the continental breakfast, is rather expensive. During a stay, consider taking a quick and inexpensive taxi ride into town for your dinners.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
1.8 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 12 in Suva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 12 in Suva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
1.3 mi away
Quest Apartments-Suva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Peninsula International Hotel
1.5 mi away
Tanoa Plaza Suva
Tanoa Plaza Suva
#6 of 12 in Suva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.1 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Princes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Princes Hotel

Property: Five Princes Hotel
Address: 5 Princes Rd | GPO Box 704, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Suva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Princes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Five Princes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing