We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent. Wonderful. Sweet.”
Review of Holiday Inn Suva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Suva
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was absolutely amazing. Loved it, so comfortable, so nice, so close to everything in town, infact walk down the street a bit and get the yummy bugers for 5 dollars each. Will stay again and again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slader801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Suva, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Bula slader801
Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay here at Holiday Inn Suva. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will return again. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Preston Miskelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Suva
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

The legislation in Fiji is that smoking is not allowed in public areas, anf responsibility of the owner/ operators to designate. "Designation of smoke-free zone in eating-houses" :
13.—( 1) The proprietor of every eating-house must designate not less than one half of the area of the eating-house available for the use of the public as an area in which smoking is prohibited, to be known as “the designated smoke-free zone”.

We recently had to sit having dinner but with the smell and disturbance of smoke from other guests. The staff we talked to said smoking is allowed between the pizza area and the main building. This needs to be clarified by the managers and please do designate smoking areas so the eating area can still be a safe place for everyone including children. thanks, Tui

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Suva, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Bula Tui L

Thank you for your feedback. The hotel does have plenty of designated non-smoking public areas, including in our outlets and from our perspective we are confident these are meeting requirements. Thank you for highlighting this matter and we will review this appropriately.

Kind regards,
Preston Miskelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have stayed at the Holiday Inn, aka Travelodge in years gone by many times. I've stayed next door at the Grand Pacific when it was almost derelict. I have stayed in many hotels in Suva. But the Holiday Inn is the one to return to.
Why? the staff.
From security, to janitor, receptionist to room lady. The staff here are brilliant.
For them BULA means something. It is not just a word. It is a greeting each and everyone of them greets guests, sincerely, with a wonderful, genuine smile. They know your name after a couple of hours. They really are wonderful.
The pizzas are to die for, the restaurant ok, the bar is fun.

But not all good. The building is in desperate need of a refurbishment. The carpets in the passages have that tropical mouldy smell. The ones in the guestrooms almost as bad.

Next door, the GPH is a sparkling new jewel. The Holiday Inn needs a makeover quickly. But whatever you do, keep your staff. They are brilliant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank donalddaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Suva, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Bula donalddaniels
Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Suva. We're pleased to hear that you've enjoyed yet another stay with us and the staff have made your stay an enjoyable one. We're glad you enjoyed the wood fired pizzas - we're most proud to say that we are
the only place in Suva to offer this. We acknowledge your comments regarding the refurbishment and we look forward to our renovation in the near future.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Preston Miskelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Holiday Inn, Suva is a little gem in the heart of Suva, Fiji where many people from all walks of life converge for an afternoon sunset on the terrace by the pool. The moment you walk in you are greeted with warm, beautiful smiles from staff with smart looking Fijian attire. As you proceed to the bar and then outside to the terrace, no one is a stranger but you get the immediate feeling that you are home. I love the true Kaiviti way of hospitality and genuineness that comes through when you are there. The outdoor pizza oven is a hit! The wine and beer club is suitable for most pockets and always served fresh and friendly. Thank you Holiday Inn for setting a great example to Fiji and the Pacific of how hotels should treat locals. It is truly a local getaway for the local discerning customer!

Room Tip: End rooms and rooms upstairs of the lobby have the best views.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Suva, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Bula Lynda D T
Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Suva. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and the facilities provided.
We're glad you enjoyed the wood fired pizzas by the pool and the service provided by our staff. It makes us proud to hear comments about our staff regarding the
genuine hospitality they provide. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Preston Miskelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I just love the Holiday Inn! The rooms are clean and tidy. The staff are friendly. The food is good (and quick). Everything runs smoothly. There's TV with a few channels if you want to unwind. The location is great, right in the middle of town. And the view is pretty nice too. I didn't try the pool, but that also looked fine. Just what you need for a few days in town. It was a stress free visit!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AussieTraveller454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Suva, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Bula AussieTraveller454
Thank you for your review on your recent stay here at Holiday Inn Suva. It is much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room facilities and the food provided. Once again thank you for your feed back and we look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Kind regards,
Preston Miskelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Quiet expensive really for the rooms but what can you do when its the only 4 star one in suva. Rooms are Way better than Tanoa, we had the garden view room its big enough for 4, the staff were very attentive which is great. Hotel though does need alot of upgrades since GPH moved in next door, maybe the price will come down abit since theirs competition next door? but all in all if your looking for a room that doesnt drive you crazy then dont bother cheap hotels, stay at HI

Room Tip: The Garden View rooms are much quieter since they are the furthest from the main road (closer to the...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Suva, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Bula Shannon083

Thank you for your review regarding your stay here at Holiday Inn Suva. It certainly made our day to hear about our attentive staff. Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Preston Miskelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

A long journey via Sydney and Nadi took me to the far away island of Suva in Fiji. The long hours on the flight had my sense of time and direction twisted out of shape and I was tired to the core, badly in need of a proper place to rest.
The hotel is 22 km from Nausori airport. It is a two storey building on Victoria parade road with a pool overlooking the sea at the back. The checking in was fast and smooth. My room was somewhere across the reception lobby, across the bar, out onto the pool area, across the garden, in a door, up the stairs, take the corridor and reach your door. The room was comfortable and well furnished. The wash basin was not inside the bathroom as is usual, but out in the room. The balcony faced the garden and sea outside and made for a lovely view in the early mornings. The room tea-coffee maker had an interesting variety of teas sachets. After a quick dinner, I retraced my way to the room on the first floor to catch up on some much needed sleep.
In the morning I woke up to find a lovely rainbow across the sea. At the buffet breakfast, the spread was very well laid out with a wide range on offer. The staff was always attentive, caring and very warm.
During the three day stay, I had to come in and go out twice, maybe thrice every day and each time the smiling welcome at the entrance was a delight.
The location of the hotel was most convenient, as almost everything including the handicrafts market was at five minutes walking distance. By the second day of criss-crossing Suva, all roads seemed familiar and the sight of the hotel from a distance was like homecoming.
The location and the staff attitude are the best offerings of the hotel and I wish all hotels could make their staff to guest interactions so pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiswasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Suva, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Bula BiswasB

Thank you for your review on your recent stay here with us at the Holiday Inn. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room facilities, the food and also the breakfast served at our newly renovated Mediterranean restaurant Sirocco. Thank you for your comments regarding the warm hospitality of the staff - it is something that we're most proud of. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Preston Miskelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
0.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
527 reviews
73.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tanoa Plaza Suva
Tanoa Plaza Suva
#6 of 13 in Suva
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
955 reviews
74.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,154 reviews
74.1 mi away
Sheraton Denarau Villas
Sheraton Denarau Villas
#3 of 8 in Denarau Island
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Suva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Suva

Address: 501 Victoria Parade | G.P.O Box 1357, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Price Range: £121 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Suva 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome. Enjoy fine harbour views and a warm Fijian welcome at Holiday Inn Suva, just steps from the city's key sights. Leave the city bustle behind in the cool, open-plan hotel Lobby at Holiday Inn Suva. You'll relax as you stroll through palm-fringed gardens and cool off in the sparkling freshwater pool. Nausori Airport is 22km away and we have ample complimentary parking. All of our bright, modern Guest rooms have high-speed Internet and a balcony. Holiday Inn Suva is well-located for business, within 5 minutes' walk of major banks, embassies and the EU headquarters. Our 3 flexible meeting rooms, with wireless Internet and harbour views, provide a unique backdrop for events and you can catch up in the 24-hour Business Centre. Work out in our glass-fronted Fitness Centre, facing Victoria Parade and historic Government buildings. Vikatoria's restaurant is a laid-back setting for fresh fish while waterfront Bati ni Wai serves pizza al fresco. Enjoy an icy-cold beer with big-screen sport in Tapa Lounge Bar, or listen to live music and enjoy Suva's sunsets from the pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Suva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Suva Hotel Suva
Suva Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing