We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Suva”
Review of Holiday Inn Suva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Suva
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Suva”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Hotel Staff in bar and food service is generally very good. I learned a valuable lesson, check your final bill before you depart because once you're gone, good luck getting any response from management getting a corrected invoice. Rooms and hotel are generally dated, really needs an update but as the best thing going in Suva I don't see the chain passing on a full hotel to update facilities. Perhaps the Grand Pacific next door might give them a run for the money, however their current rates are thru the roof...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cooperr61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Suva, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Bula cooperr61

Thank you for review of the Holiday Inn Suva. It is good to hear our service delivered during your stay. We understand your comments regarding our rooms and we look forward to our approaching renovation starting later this year. In regards to your bill I have looked into the matter and the team forwarded a copy of the invoice on the 7th August. Please let me know if you need this sent through again. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards,
Preston Miskelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    218
    73
    35
    9
See reviews for
81
72
32
226
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I recently visited the Holiday Inn Suva and I must say that the staff are amazing friendly people.
I was feeling like a special dish for dinner that was not on the menu. To my surprise after talking with the staff, I received a personal visit from the head chef named Phillip. Phillip advised me that he had the ingredients and that it was know problem at all to make it for me. Further to my surprise my meal was delivered to me personally by Phillip. The meal was delightful and I was not expecting such humble greetings from the head chef.
Well done holiday inn I will be sure to return. A special thank you to chef Phillip, well done on going the extra mile to see a customer happy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Suva, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Bula Grant C

Thank you for your review on your recent stay here at Holiday Inn Suva. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that Chef Philippe made an impact on your stay. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. ​

Kind regards,
Preston Miskelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuxhaven, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

There's a new hotel next to the Holiday Inn, with competitive prices, colonial grandeur and an interesting team of concierges. Still, I prefer the Holiday Inn. Although the rooms here are nothing to brag about, nothing beats their very helpful service - including Mr Eliseo, the Fijian version of Mr Wolf (a man who solves problems). Besides, this hotel has a fabulous breakfast, and the restaurant serves the best chocolate mousse in the world. I stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Suva, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Bula Ralphinto
Thank you for your review on your recent stay here at Holiday Inn Suva. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the range of items offered on the breakfast buffet at our newly renovated Mediterranean restaurant Sirocco. It was great to hear Eliseo made a difference during your stay - it has been fun explaining who Winston Wolf is this week! We understand your comments regarding the rooms and we are looking forward to our upcoming renovation. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Preston Miskelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn for 2 weeks for work. The Hotel is a little old and dated, and the rooms are very basic however it is the staff that make this Hotel so special. The customer service was exceptional - all the staff remembered my name & nothing was too much trouble. It also has a great Beer Garden where you could eat and drink and i thought the prices were very reasonable, i sat there most nights doing work while having dinner.

Overall - it may not be the prettiest Hotel in Suva but its good value for money with fantatsic staff. I'd definitely recommend staying there if you are on a budget or there for business.

Room Tip: I'd pay the extra for a room with Ocean view - my room was overlooking the carpark of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Suva, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Bula James K
Thank you for your review on your recent stay here at Holiday Inn Suva. We're delighted to hear your comments regarding the exceptional customer service you received from our staff and we're most proud of that. We're also glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and drinks by the pool
deck. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Preston Miskelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muswellbrook, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

NB We did not stay here and offer no comment about the accommodation other than you would want to try too hard for an ocean view room as you probly get to look at the pollution, floating about. staying at my brother's place up the road and so,Yeah great relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant round the pool just watch the onshore breeze it can get cool. At there twice during a recent visit. Pizza on the first occasion (seafood) and good old spag bol for lunch on the second visit. Pizza could have used some garlic but the spag bol was ok, filling enough for lunch with two bits of garlic bread without garlic.. go figure. Staff super attentive and all most friendly. The margaritas on the first night were good oh as well!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rojpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Suva, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Bula rojpix
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you found the staff attentive and enjoyed our pool deck for a casual meal. it certainly is one of Suva's best spots to take in the sunset over the water. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you can stay with us next time you are in town.

Kind regards,
Preston Miskelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
utah
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was absolutely amazing. Loved it, so comfortable, so nice, so close to everything in town, infact walk down the street a bit and get the yummy bugers for 5 dollars each. Will stay again and again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slader801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Suva, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Bula slader801
Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay here at Holiday Inn Suva. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will return again. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Preston Miskelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The legislation in Fiji is that smoking is not allowed in public areas, anf responsibility of the owner/ operators to designate. "Designation of smoke-free zone in eating-houses" :
13.—( 1) The proprietor of every eating-house must designate not less than one half of the area of the eating-house available for the use of the public as an area in which smoking is prohibited, to be known as “the designated smoke-free zone”.

We recently had to sit having dinner but with the smell and disturbance of smoke from other guests. The staff we talked to said smoking is allowed between the pizza area and the main building. This needs to be clarified by the managers and please do designate smoking areas so the eating area can still be a safe place for everyone including children. thanks, Tui

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holiday_Inn_Suva, General Manager at Holiday Inn Suva, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Bula Tui L

Thank you for your feedback. The hotel does have plenty of designated non-smoking public areas, including in our outlets and from our perspective we are confident these are meeting requirements. Thank you for highlighting this matter and we will review this appropriately.

Kind regards,
Preston Miskelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
0.1 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
487 reviews
73.5 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,120 reviews
45.4 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
6.1 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
74.2 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Suva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Suva

Property: Holiday Inn Suva
Address: 501 Victoria Parade | G.P.O Box 1357, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Suva 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome. Enjoy fine harbour views and a warm Fijian welcome at Holiday Inn Suva, just steps from the city's key sights. Leave the city bustle behind in the cool, open-plan hotel Lobby at Holiday Inn Suva. You'll relax as you stroll through palm-fringed gardens and cool off in the sparkling freshwater pool. Nausori Airport is 22km away and we have ample complimentary parking. All of our bright, modern Guest rooms have high-speed Internet and a balcony. Holiday Inn Suva is well-located for business, within 5 minutes' walk of major banks, embassies and the EU headquarters. Our 3 flexible meeting rooms, with wireless Internet and harbour views, provide a unique backdrop for events and you can catch up in the 24-hour Business Centre. Work out in our glass-fronted Fitness Centre, facing Victoria Parade and historic Government buildings. Vikatoria's restaurant is a laid-back setting for fresh fish while waterfront Bati ni Wai serves pizza al fresco. Enjoy an icy-cold beer with big-screen sport in Tapa Lounge Bar, or listen to live music and enjoy Suva's sunsets from the pool deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Suva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Suva Hotel Suva
Suva Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing