We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints, fine for a business stay”
Review of Tanoa Plaza Suva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanoa Plaza Suva
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Suva
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“No complaints, fine for a business stay”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, the food was good (and the service pretty quick), and the price was reasonable. I'd be quite happy to stay there again - but it was my first stay in Suva so I have nothing to compare it to.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Bula Vinaka Monica G,

Thankyou for your review, very pleasing to read this. From me and my team, we always appreciate feedback. See you soon on your next trip

Vinaka Vakalevu


Mere Rakoroi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    67
    47
    20
    8
See reviews for
23
29
18
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Amman Governorate, Jordan
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Was there twice on a business trip and liked it there. Price ratio is ok, the view, especially in the morning, is really nice. All rooms face the ocean and the town since the hotel is located a 5 minute walk up the hill and the building is higher then the rest.

The rooms are ok, nothing special, but clean and having all it needs. Coffee and tea is for free but internet is quite expensive (normal in Fiji). The Service is nice, especially at the reception. Room is approx. 200 Fiji Dollar (around 100 USD). In Suva the best price ratio.

Room Tip: In my first stay I was at the 3rd floor and I liked it better since it has a wooden floor. But 8th f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Bula Vinaka WailerYoko,

Thankyou for your review, i love the view too, for your next trip please let me know, I would love to show you the Executive Suites,it even has balconies of their own and beautiful view of Suva.
Our rooms do require work, so that's my goal to improve the current facilities we offer to guests

Let me know when you in town, and again much appreciated for your feedback

Vinaka Vakalevu


Mere Rakoroi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlemaine, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

we stay here at least annually for between 4 and 10 days and is generally like a favourite old shoe - kindof just ok, familiar, comfortable but a bit shabby and inconsistent service-wise. This time around, there was a noticeable improvement in service across the board from the restaurant area to the porters and concierge. New uniforms and an improved menu helps with perception. Being evacuated late at night for a fire alarm, alas, remains a constant (this time set off by the use of a hairdryer in a bathroom several floors down without the extractor fan on), it is one way to meet your fellow guests!

Room Tip: If you can afford the rates on the 6th to 8th floors the carpeted rooms definitely reduce the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imogen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Bula Vinaka Lincatm,

Thankyou for your feedback, much appreciated for noticing changes and that is what i would like to see and her from guests. We have indeed come a long way and will keep moving forward to provide a guests with that comfortable stay.

Again Lincatm, thankyou for your review, and we are addressing the fire alarm in my next project and totally agree with you, we do get to see all guests as well.

Have a blessed day

Vinaka

Mere Rakoroi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viti Levu, Fiji
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Loved the rooms, the food was great, the service however has changed, staff seem slow and unhappy compared to my previous stay, during check in and checkout, perhaps have more front desk staff on duty rather than only one, waiting more than 15 mins is annoying.
Overall an okay stay and hopefully i'll be back again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Local Tourist T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Bula Vinaka Local T,

Thankyou for your review, and letting me know what is happening during stays, i will look into the following and ensure that more customer service training is provided to our people. For the waiting time, we will assign more people upfront to avoid guests waiting for too long.

We do our very best to do this right for guests coming through and enjoying their stay in Tanoa

Thankyou again for your review and looking forward to seeing you back

Vinaka
Mere
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

There are very few options in Suva for hotel choices and all are way over priced. The Tanoa central and is ok and about the best price option without going too down market. The rooms and bathrooms are a bit tierd looking and un ned of a spruce up.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talsker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Bula Vinaka Talsker

Thankyou for your review, i agree with you, we do have limited hotels here in the City, for our rooms, alot of work is going to be carried out and certainly work in progress from here.

When you in town, let me know, will be great to catch up

Vinaka Vakalevu

Mere Rakoroi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Not a good experience. Hotel room needs fresh pillows and sheets. It could do with a renovation. Bathroom was cleanish but old. I didn't sleep well and couldn't wait to check out. On the other hand, staff were quite pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
2 Thank Raziya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Raziya S,

Thankyou for your review, we are in the process of going through soft refurbishment for all rooms, and also since linens are outsourced, we will be receiving fresh linens to improve the quality sleep for all guests and will make sure of that.

Our staffs are always here to assist and once again, thankyou for your review, hope to see you soon.

Vinaka Vakalevu


Ms Mere Rakoroi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Suva hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

nice location handy for business
great views from top rooms facing sea
staff very slow on service sat a long time waiting drink and longer for meal to come yet plenty staff around
food overpriced especially bar food and drinks
plenty of new eateries in Suva just a couple dollars for taxi well worth the spend
dont think I would go back though some more central better value options

Room Tip: choose top levels less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun soul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Bula Vinaka Sun Soul B,

Thankyou for your review, and appreciate the time you have taken to tell me about your stay. Reading through your feedback, I will look into the service delivery and ensure that our staffs are trained & retrained as per Tanoa standards.

Again, thankyou for your review and if you are ever in Suva, please dont hesitate to contact myself, will be happy to show you what we have done since your review.

Vinaka Vakalevu

Ms Mere Rakoroi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 13 in Suva
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peninsula International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Quest Apartments-Suva
3.2 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
5.9 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Plaza Suva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Plaza Suva

Property: Tanoa Plaza Suva
Address: Corner Gordon & Malcolm Street, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanoa Plaza Suva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tanoa Plaza Suva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Plaza Suva Hotel Suva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing