We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great staff, great location!”
Review of Tanoa Plaza Suva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tanoa Plaza Suva
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed at the Tanoa Plaza for three nights on a recent trip to Suva for my cousin's wedding. Had stayed at the Tanoa Skylodge Hotel in Nadi overnight upon arriving in Fiji which was not so nice - so was pleasantly surprised by quality, decor and just general level of hotel professionalism demonstrated by the staff. As mentioned, the hotel is a short distance from the main street of Suva which is perfect in terms of noise levels. Room was very spacious and comfortable for the time we spent there. Food in the restaurant I thought, as with most aspects of Fiji, was a little too expensive for what it was. Despite this, ate breakfast a few mornings at the continental buffet (cereal, fresh fruit and yoghurt), which was fine.

Staff were very friendly and very hospitable - especially when my travelling companion and I decided to leave Suva one day early, as we had a very early flight back to Australia and did not want to risk missing it. Staff were fantastic and very helpful to advise my friend how to go about lodging the correct details to obtain a refund for the missed night.

All in all, great stay at the Tanoa Plaza and would be sure to recommend it, if not stay there again should I ever visit Suva in the future!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheds29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Bula Vinaka Sheds29,

Thankyou for your review, surely appreciate the time you have taken to share your travel experience with us. We are so pleased to hear about our people and product we offering is just what guests are looking for.

Will be great to see you back at the hotel, again thankyou for your review and keep in touch

Vinaka Vakalevu

Mere Rakoroi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Tanoa Plaza Suva
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

On arriving at the Tanoa Plaza, a three star hotel, we were welcomed and quickly checked in and shown our room on the 2nd floor. Although not situated on the main street of Suva, it is on a corner and at night it was quite noisy even with the windows closed, along with very loud people in the adjacent room. Having said that, the room was very comfortable, with a Queen bed, a lounge, small table and chair, tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom had a very good sized shower and everything very clean. I needed to have some papers photo copied and when I asked Ruth on reception if this could be done, she was most obliging. We had a light meal in the dining area on one of our two nights there and chose to have breakfast at a nearby cafe. There is a good sized pool in the grounds. Checking out was just as quick as when we arrived.

Room Tip: Request a room on the other side of hotel, away from traffic noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Bula Vinaka Janet1807,

Thankyou for your constructive feedback and i get to learn more about our hotel product and services, just reading reviews after reviews. Our people are always ready to help and assist you and we are looking forward to seeing you back soon in Suva.

Once again, thankyou for this Janet1807 and see you soon

Vinaka Vakalevu


Mere Rakoroi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

A good hotel probably has a very good view from the top floor. The staff were friendly. The room facilities were good nothing to blare about. Overall a good place to stay in Suva and definitely comes with a price. Didn't get a chance to eat at the restaurant as we mostly ate outside.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ChrisTall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Bula Vinaka Chris Tall M,

Thankyou for your review, great views are always from the top. Much appreciated for your acknowledgement with our staffs and again if you are coming down to Suva, please let me know, will be great to catch up.

Vinaka Vakalevu and see you Again


Mere Rakoroi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. The staff were very friendly, the room was clean and comfortable, the food was good (and the service pretty quick), and the price was reasonable. I'd be quite happy to stay there again - but it was my first stay in Suva so I have nothing to compare it to.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Bula Vinaka Monica G,

Thankyou for your review, very pleasing to read this. From me and my team, we always appreciate feedback. See you soon on your next trip

Vinaka Vakalevu


Mere Rakoroi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Was there twice on a business trip and liked it there. Price ratio is ok, the view, especially in the morning, is really nice. All rooms face the ocean and the town since the hotel is located a 5 minute walk up the hill and the building is higher then the rest.

The rooms are ok, nothing special, but clean and having all it needs. Coffee and tea is for free but internet is quite expensive (normal in Fiji). The Service is nice, especially at the reception. Room is approx. 200 Fiji Dollar (around 100 USD). In Suva the best price ratio.

Room Tip: In my first stay I was at the 3rd floor and I liked it better since it has a wooden floor. But 8th f...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Bula Vinaka WailerYoko,

Thankyou for your review, i love the view too, for your next trip please let me know, I would love to show you the Executive Suites,it even has balconies of their own and beautiful view of Suva.
Our rooms do require work, so that's my goal to improve the current facilities we offer to guests

Let me know when you in town, and again much appreciated for your feedback

Vinaka Vakalevu


Mere Rakoroi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

we stay here at least annually for between 4 and 10 days and is generally like a favourite old shoe - kindof just ok, familiar, comfortable but a bit shabby and inconsistent service-wise. This time around, there was a noticeable improvement in service across the board from the restaurant area to the porters and concierge. New uniforms and an improved menu helps with perception. Being evacuated late at night for a fire alarm, alas, remains a constant (this time set off by the use of a hairdryer in a bathroom several floors down without the extractor fan on), it is one way to meet your fellow guests!

Room Tip: If you can afford the rates on the 6th to 8th floors the carpeted rooms definitely reduce the noise...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imogen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Bula Vinaka Lincatm,

Thankyou for your feedback, much appreciated for noticing changes and that is what i would like to see and her from guests. We have indeed come a long way and will keep moving forward to provide a guests with that comfortable stay.

Again Lincatm, thankyou for your review, and we are addressing the fire alarm in my next project and totally agree with you, we do get to see all guests as well.

Have a blessed day

Vinaka

Mere Rakoroi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Loved the rooms, the food was great, the service however has changed, staff seem slow and unhappy compared to my previous stay, during check in and checkout, perhaps have more front desk staff on duty rather than only one, waiting more than 15 mins is annoying.
Overall an okay stay and hopefully i'll be back again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Local Tourist T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tanoaplaza, General Manager at Tanoa Plaza Suva, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Bula Vinaka Local T,

Thankyou for your review, and letting me know what is happening during stays, i will look into the following and ensure that more customer service training is provided to our people. For the waiting time, we will assign more people upfront to avoid guests waiting for too long.

We do our very best to do this right for guests coming through and enjoying their stay in Tanoa

Thankyou again for your review and looking forward to seeing you back

Vinaka
Mere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 13 in Suva
479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Town House Apartment Hotels Suva
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peninsula International Hotel
3.2 mi away
Novotel Suva Lami Bay
5.9 mi away
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Plaza Suva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Plaza Suva

Address: Corner Gordon & Malcolm Street, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Price Range: £88 - £264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanoa Plaza Suva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tanoa Plaza Suva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Plaza Suva Hotel Suva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing