We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is amazing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

We only stayed here a night as we stopped over in Suva on our way back to nadi from taveuni and it was really nice. The place was really quiet but it made it even better as the staff were there to help with anything u needed and they even cooked us some noodles for free in the kitchen. The rainforest around is beautiful and you can sit on your balcony outside your room and look over the lake. Would highly recommended this place to
Anyone who dares to go to Suva and to top it all off it's far enough from Suva that you can enjoy it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeydadaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Raintree twice during our Fiji stay. We booked because it was near the small airport that we used to get to Levuka. I wanted to like the place and there were some positive attributes: Quiet and birdy, a central pond, a nice dining deck, and the staff that tried hard. But the rooms were tough to sleep in. We are adventure travellers, mid 50's and OK with simple accomodations if they are clean. We booked a double private room w shared bath. The first visit they upgraded us, unasked, to a bure. It had lots of space, but smelled really musty as if the place hadnt been used in weeks. Worn sheets, old pillows, bad lighting. Second stay was in a double room in the dorm. Wholly empty but us. Really old funky bed, 2 slices of old foam for pillows, very damp and musty, smelly room, very old worn furniture. The place was beat and needed serious cleaning and remodeling. (The dorm was called Hotel California, which I thought eerily appropriate). It did have a nice patio though. The food was really overpriced and the restaurant was the only game in town. The staff were very sweet to us, and didnt charge us for internet at the common terminal. Also the power went out the night we were there and was off from midnight to 6am. If we hadnt had flashlights with us, we would not have been able to see to get into bed from the living room. We were pretty removed from the office and the whole place was deserted. The staff didnt come to check on us. The fans were out so it was very hot. It was really eerie. Anyway, compared to our private double at the dorm/lodge in Nadi (Bluewater), this place couldnt even come close.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank VTLisaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Nice lodge about 11km out of Suva City. This is not really a Problem because the local bus which goes every 20 min. only costs 1 F$. The lodge is nice to relax after a warm or rainy day in Suva, after all the good shopping you can do there.only problem: many mosquitos because it is considert on a beautifull lake.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Raintree was a great hotel/hostel, it had great location, rooms were clean, staff were friendly, rooms had balcony onto the the rivers and ponds located around the hotel. Bus stop out the front, bus came every 20-30mins and only cost $1.10FD or you could get a taxi for $12FD. The only downside to Raintree was been a backpacker and for the first time in a long time we got a private room and because we paid a bit more it ment that we was unable to use the kitchen facilities and had to buy the restaurant food which was nice but too expensive for a back packers budget.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barneyboo8690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Raintree Lodge, Suva, is an excellent eco tourist accommodation choice for those who like peace and quiet, surrounded by rainforest, a large lake, and pond complete with water lillies. The staff and host are welcoming and helpful, food is great and facilities more than adequate. Transport to Suva is conveniently supplied by buses, two dollars or less from the bus stop right outside the resort. Accommodation caters for all budgets from dorm (shared bathroom facilities) to private burres with verandahs overlooking the lake. If you would like something other than the generic hotel experience, then Raintree Lodge, in its beautiful natural environment is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms fronting onto lake are the best choice. Bures are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We spent here 1 night during our honeymoon trip just because of its position next to Colo-I-Suva National Park
The entrance of the park is 5 minute walk from the lodge
We stayed in a basic standard room with shared bathroom. we had view to one of the small inland lakes
The rooms were just ok, basic, quite small but ok for the money we spent.
The food at the restaurant was the worse we had during 16 days travelling in Fiji
In general the lodge is located in a great place but i think they should improve more the standards of the rooms and in particular the quality of the food in the restaurant

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dutchfly78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

this place is unique, nothing special about rooms that re easy but clean. the real attraction of this place is the location. you are in the middle of the forset, you could see a lot of animals, and if you like to stay in touch with nature this is the best place! Alse the cuisine was very good. Prices are good if compared to the services, definally a good place to stay in Suva in my opinion

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andreasupertamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Suva
6.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 13 in Suva
556 reviews
5.8 mi away
Town House Apartment Hotels Suva
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Suva
Holiday Inn Suva
#2 of 13 in Suva
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.9 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
972 reviews
27.8 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
648 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tanoa Plaza Suva
Tanoa Plaza Suva
#6 of 13 in Suva
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort

Address: Princes Road | P O Box CS001, Colo-I-Suva, Suva, Viti Levu, Fiji (Formerly Raintree Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Suva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Suva
Price Range: £21 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort (previously known as Raintree Lodge) offers world-class accommodation, food and atmosphere on the edge of a waterfall-filled rainforest just 15 minutes north of Suva CBD, Fiji's bustling capital city. Guests may choose from a range of accommodations that cater to independent travelers, couples, groups and Bird watchers -- tucked on the edge of lush foliage that buzzes with exotic birdlife. The Rainforest Eco Resort is ideally situated for seeing the Fiji's unique endemic birds. All but 2 of Viti Levu's endemic birds are found within a few kms of our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Colo I Suva Rainforest Eco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing