We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The view alone is worth getting there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hiva Oa
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The view alone is worth getting there”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My review could be a bit biased since our stay at the Pearl Lodge – with hot showers, a big comfy bed, lovely pool and great food – came after 18 days of sailing across the Pacific from the Galapagos Islands. We were a bit starved for some pampering. The hotel deserves high marks for its location, amenities and service. We were only there for a few nights, but our stay was thoroughly enjoyable. The resort sits high up the hill looking over the island and the harbor below. The Hotel Manager picked us up from the harbor and drove us up the steep hill to the resort. On the way, he regaled us with stories of the island and its people. The small staff was pleasant and accommodating. Dinner was by candle light with local music and fresh fish and local delicacies. Terrific meals and service. The breakfast buffet was filled with fresh fruits and baked french breads and sweets. I think my favorite memory of our stay was swimming in the infinity pool at sunset. The view was absolutely spectacular. Yes the pool would be considered small, but the view is not to be believed. Our villa was private and comfortable. There were fluffy thick towels, bathrobes and a bath and shower area decorated with beautiful local flowers. Our room was very comfortable and paneled in wood which gave a warm and cozy feel. The private covered porch / deck was our favorite place to sit, read and watch the landscape. Just stunning views. This is not a place with an active night life. The resort is small and private and quiet and Hiva Oa itself is such a remote place that there is not a lot of activity, even in the main town, the village of Atuona, about a half hour away. There are no beaches close by and getting to town and Paul Gauguins' gravesite will require a taxi ride or a long walk with hills. Yet Hiva Oa is such a beautiful and pristine place that just to be there – whether traveling there by plane or boat – feels like an accomplishment and a gift. The people are friendly, helpful and kind. It helps to know a bit of French, but it's not necessary. The island is filled with exotic flowers and is authentic French Polynesian. Friends of our enjoyed a tour (albeit very bumpy) to the other side of the island and its beaches. We spent an afternoon at a local home for lunch and a swim. I loved my time on Hiva Oa. It's a unique and special place.

Room Tip: the rooms with views of the bay are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 285Magtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    59
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
93
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
361 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 444 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Hanakee Pearl Lodge in Marquesas Is. is one of the the best place to stay at Fr.Polynesia. Do not hesitate togo there! Its manager and all its co-workers are so kindly, specially, the employee named Tahee. She's very very friendly. Congratulations for all board and workers of Hanakee Pearl Lodge!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KINO K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

My husband and I stayed three nights at Hanakee Pearl Lodge in Hiva Oa. We had an ocean view room but ANY room has a gorgeous view. The mountains are visually stunning. This hotel clearly shows the weathered effects of the elements on the outside but the bungalows are gorgeous on the inside. Lots of beautiful wood and wood carvings. Our phone didn't work but we didn't need it. The restaurant served very good food. One day, we had grilled tuna with fresh lime and it was cooked to perfection. The breakfast buffet was varied and delicious. Eggs, meats, fruits, cereal, breads, and coffee, tea, hot chocolate. The staff was so pleasant and accomodating. The manager asked if we wanted to see the local people practice for their big festival that is held every four years,this year on Nuka Hiva. At night, he drove five of us down to the village to watch the dancers and drummers. It was fantastic and it was so nice of him to tell us about it. He also arranged for five of us to take a safari to the biggest Tiki in Polynesia. Wow! If you want a thrill a minute road trip, this is the ride for you. Our driver was very skillful and cautious. The views from the road were unbelievable. Saw lots of wild goats and manta rays in the ocean below the road.
The hotel staff did their best to take us into Atuona whenever we wanted to go. Some guests walked to town but it is a steep up and down road. We purchased some very nice wood carvings and tapa cloth in town. The hotel also has some beautiful wood carving for sale. The hotel is perched high on a hill so it has no beach. It is about a 20 minute ride from the airport. Horseback riding is available but make reservations before you go to ensure availability. This hotel is a great place to be in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

Room Tip: All the rooms have fantastic views. Bay view is just as good as ocean but not as expensive. Plus, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FlyTahiti27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

This was the third hotel of our 3.5 wk honeymoon. Rooms are good (not very big), service is a variation. Pool is small. Ocean view rooms, perfect view of the area. Flowers everywhere.

Overall hotel rating is ok but not much more. Room is good, service is willing, but things continuously go wrong: phone not working, pc kaput, hour late village pickup, breakfast & diner order misplacements etc. they do their best, but its just not good enough. Would still recommend the hotel though, by views & rooms!

Hotel adds 50% on excursions, so better book directly with a guide. Internet isn't cheap, but as we mostly stayed in the Pearl hotels, we bought a 50hr manaspot card for 125.000xpf, enough for whole vacation.

So: Would recommend, enjoy the island! Make sure you visit the grand tiki place and surroundings! Also: eat out in other hotels/pensions, they do free pickups.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view room with unblocked views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPDeckers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

My partner and me spent two nights at the Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge on a trip across a number of islands in French Polynesia. In a nutshell, I would return anytime to this hotel. Read on for details.

LOCATION

The hotel is located near to the small village of Atuona, high above the bay (Baie d'Atuona or Baie Tahauku). The village is too far away to b in easy walking distance (and it's quite a climb up to the hotel).

Hiva Oa is a mountainous island, so don't count on seeing sunrises or sunsets here. Also, there are no beaches near to the hotel. There is a small swimming pool, though.

ROOMS (BUNGALOWS)

There are detached "mountain view" and "bay view" bungalows. Actually they all hav a lovely view, so it does not really matter which ones you get.

The bungalows are spacious and panelled in wood. They all have a terrace where you can sit in quiet and watch the landscape..

FOOD

The breakfast buffet was small, but very good and fully adequate. Dinner was excellent in a nice eating room with ample space between the tables. The wine list is heavy on French wines, but that is quite normal in French Polynesia.

The only potential improvement would be if the outside tables may be used.

SERVICE

Service was friendly and very helpful. We felt truly welcome here.

It helps if you speak a bit of French, as some of the staff do not really have a good command of English. However, they are all trying their best.

To show you how much they care: I forgot my mobile phone in the room on checking out. When we were at the airport waiting for the plane to Tahiti, they called the guide who brought us to the airport to ask where to send the phone. I gave them my home address in Europe and, voilà, a few weeks later the phone showed up. This is perfect service even after the stay!

ACTIVITIES

Of course, the cemetery with the graves of Paul Gauguin and Jacques Brel is the best known attraction, but, in our view, that's not the main reason to go there.

What you should really do when on Hiva Oa is using the opportunity to explore the island. The nature is breathtaking. There are dozens of small, secluded beaches that are completely empty.

Either schedule a day trip with a guide (Don't count on him speaking anything but French or Marquesan, though) or rent a car and explore on your own.

SUMMARY

This is a lovely gem of a place. If you are looking for a romantic hideaway that is really far away from anywhere else, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mountain_Ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
Level Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

My husband and I and 8 friends spent 4 wonderful days and nights at the Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge in September 2008. The lodge is beautifully situated on a mountainside overlooking the bay and mountains and is a 30-40 minute walk from Atuona. The individual bungalows are roomy, well-designed, and include an outside deck with a great view and optimal privacy. Service at the hotel is outstanding, thanks to the manager, M. Bourgogne, who goes the last mile to ensure all your needs are met, including excursions, celebrations, transfers to/from airport, and raingear for those sudden showers. Our only quibble is that the menu is too long and doesn’t change; it would be better to have a short, changing menu featuring fresh local seafood every night. Wine collection is good and reasonably priced (at least to us New Yorkers!). Overall this is one of the best places we’ve ever stayed, and we’d go back in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting, excellent service, luxurious bungalows
  • Disliked — Overambitious menu, not enough local seafood
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bornin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye Brook, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2007

Hiva Oa is a 4-hour, 2-flight trip from Tahiti, so it takes effort to get there (it took us 30 hours from our home in New York City), but it really worth it. The island is a tru undiscovered gem, with gorgeous landscapes and untouched scenery. The Pearl hotel is great - beautiful views from the rooms, which have standard 3-4 star US amenities. While you are showering or sitting in your bed, though, you have priceless views (oceanview rooms are worth the extra price). Be prepared to be immersed in nature - we heard roosters at all hours and I encountered millipedes in the room almost daily. The meal plan is worthwhile as the buffet breakfast and very good dinner make planning days easy (there are very few dining options in "town"). Be aware that english is very limited, even among the staff (brush up on your French), whith the exception of the GM, who spoke perfect English and who is extraordinarily friendly and helpful.
The island offers great treasures: pristine scuba diving (visibility is less than the society islands but marine life is much better), horseback riding, and jeep tours with fantastic scenery.
If you would like to visit an upspoiled, untouristed, gorgeous island, but still want creature comforts of good food, hot shower, and comfortable beds, this is the place.

  • Liked — Fantastic location in unspoiled island
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank essexnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiva Oa
903.8 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Temanoha
Village Temanoha
#1 of 1 in Cook's Bay
54 reviews
0.9 mi away
Temetiu Village
Temetiu Village
#1 of 3 in Hiva Oa
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pension Areke Chez Kayser
0.0 mi away
He'e Tai Inn
He'e Tai Inn
#1 of 2 in Nuku Hiva
37 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moorea Beach Lodge
Moorea Beach Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hauru
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge

Property: Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge
Address: 98741, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Marquesas Islands > Hiva Oa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hiva Oa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge Marquesas Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing