We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hiva Oa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I stayed at the Pearl Lodge over New Year. It is a delightful place with lovely small infinity pool and well appointed and lovely bungalows. I didn't eat there much but when I did the food was good. The view from this hotel is spectacular. The staff are friendly, the atmosphere easy and it's probably the smartest place to stay on Hiva Oa. I went on a couple of day trips from the hotel and organised by the hotel and both were excellent, but would have been better if I understood more French (there are English speaking guides on the island).

The hotel is smart but in some places eg around the pool it's tired & there is a need for a bit of maintenance. What you should know is that the hotel is not near the village or near anywhere in particular so if you want to go out it's either a long hot walk or the hotel will readily take & collect you (& charge you). The hotel management will readily organise any excursions or trips to other islands for you, but you should check how much commission they are charging. They organised a boat to Fatu Hiva for us and initially charged a 25% mark up which is a lot of money, this both shocked and angered me when I found out. They made it easy but I could have saved a small fortune just doing it myself (which isn't that hard). So go with your eyes open, knowing where the place is and enjoy; its a lovely spot.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank IHall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    60
    11
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
94
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australind, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The only place to stay in this place and good value for French Polynesia. Very warm and helpful staff. Good quality food at prices that were better than the café down town,. Nice little pool with views and charming rooms with an ethnic feel. Made our visit to Hiva Oa a delight. Lovely to sit on the verandah in the evening. The receptionist Edith was truly charming and so delightful when she waited on table. If you have come all this way you deserve to stay in attractive surroundings. This is truly the only place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are similar. Choose one with and uninterrupted view of the mountain..lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GANDK715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Hiva Oa was the first island we visited in French Polynesia, so maybe I'm a bit biased, but it was absolutely beautiful and I'd absolutely return. This small boutique hotel is very very well managed. The manager came to pick us up at the airport and greeted us personally (and also drove us back to the airport). His staff are friendly, professional, and always smiling. They seem happy to work there (which I think is always a sign of good management). The food here was excellent -- truly truly delicious with few enough choices to not be overwhelming (and to know that everything is fresh) and yet with enough variety that you could try different foods every evening. The only negative comment about the hotel are the ROOSTERS! There are dozens and dozens on the property and around the hotel and they are LOUD starting at 3am. You should definitely bring your ear plugs to guarantee a good night's sleep. NOTE: I would be careful to not visit the Marquesas during the rainy season (July-August). We were there in late May, and it was already quite wet. It would be a shame to miss the excursions due to a lot of wet weather, because you definitely need to get out and about to visit the island. Don't stay stuck in the village where the hotel is!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank C_and_N2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Un unforgettable Haloween party, where invited by default instead of dinner. Everything, but really every coind has been adorned with spider-webs and spiders, orange and black baloons all over (we have managed even to make one of them reach Geneva :). The personnel has been all dressed up, in vampires and whiches, with remarcable realistic costumes and make-up. The open buffet contained plenty of local and standard plates, the owner organised a "competition" for the best dressed kid, and the tens of kids all received extra large bags of candy, as the jury "could not decide on the winner" . As we have not been prepared for it (the party was Friday evening, after Haloween), the kids got special spider-web-make-up and went by default into the athmosphere.

The owner greets you personally on the airport with flower necklaces and takes you back with HivaOa specific nuts necklace. There is a welcome-drink and hands-washing. You do feel unique and they have time to have a personnal talk with all the guests.

The open view from the (premium) bungalow was openeing over all the golf, confortable beds, good and clean lining, very nice smelling toilletry, impecable shower room, flowers everywhere when entering the room. There is a swimming pool for hot days, next to the therase. The best choice to be even when raining, the view does stay magnificent. Prices might seem high, but one should consider the distance from where everything is brought in. It is at the level of eating out in the London/Geneva, where all comes only from tens of kilometers away. Breakfast was included, with home-made confiture in the freshly done pan-cakes, and European buffet in general (eggs, ham, croissents, cakes, milk, tea, coffee, 4-5 types of cereals, local fruit juice: pine-apple, mango, orange, grapefruit). Specific/exotic food extremly nicely done.

Room Tip: It would be advisable to call/e-mail the owner to locally book, as local prices are doubled by the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagdaDPPloy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

This hotel is in a stunning location overlooking a valley with mist covered mountains in the distance. The rooms are also very comfortable and airy with great views. Staff were also very nice with the exception of the French manager who made us feel that English speakers are not quite welcome nor appreciated!
The problem we found with this hotel and island was the very high cost of food, transport and any activities. We realize this is a theme throughout French Polynesia but in Hiva Oa there is literally nothing you can do without paying as the hotel is very remotely located- a long (~40 mins) and very hot walk to the local village, which by the way if you want to be dropped off or collected the hotel charge you per person!
The activities the hotel offer are all >$100/person and mostly involve drives to archaeological sites. We did do the boat tour which was actually very fun but about $130/person and this is the only water related activity available.
Basically this island is for those who want total remoteness and to visit archaeological tiki sites. Do not go here if you want to visit beaches, snorkel or scuba dive. Also be prepared to spend a lot of money!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldT297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We spent two weeks at the Pearl Lodge on Hiva Oa and it became a home away from home. The manager went out of his way to help us and the staff was warm and friendly. The pool was refreshing and the view was outstanding. Due to limited supplies, the restaurant was a little inconsistent but in general, the food was very good. The beds were very comfortable and the shower and bathroom was excellent. I loved our bungalow with a view of the mountains. If you plan to visit this island, this is definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morningstar_janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Our holiday company booked us into this hotel which had fabulous photos and excellent spiel. The location was indeed stunning and the staff in in general were wonderful. However, our Mountain View bungalow had clearly not been used for a while as it was ridden with cob webs on the rafters and the shelves of the wardrobe were strewn with tiny dead ants! Ants were a major issue in the bathroom!! We were given large cans of repllent spray for bugs and had to use them! Whilst unpacking we noticed the room was full of wasp like creatures, about a dozen of them, merrily flying about in the rafters! On our first night, there was a power cut for at least a few hours very early in the morning before sunrise. I ended up having to use the light on my phone to go to the toilet. I looked for a torch but found none. The following day when I told Jean-Jacques the manager about it, he seemed stunned that I was expecting the hotel to have a torch in the bedrooms. I informed him the sister lodge in Nuka Hiva had one but he simply shrugged in the customary French manner. Clearly Nathalie the wonderful manageress at Nuka Hiva had anticipated such incidents and had made sure guests were suitably prepared. Although the staff were lovely, they were not clued up about the town of Atuona. One fellow guest asked about some Tikis she had seen on a map given to us of the town. Neither Jean Jacques nor his staff seem to know where it was even though Atuona is the size of a village! Another member of staff had no idea where the souvenir shops were and whether they were open when she gave us a lift into town one afternoon. Clearly training is urgently needed to what is open and available to guests in the town. The room was also not adequately cleaned each day and necessities like shampoo just did not appear! Just as well we took our own. Overall, all that glisters is not gold at this lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GrumbeeCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hiva Oa
903.8 mi away
Fenua Mata'i'oa
Fenua Mata'i'oa
#1 of 1 in Haapiti
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Temanoha
Village Temanoha
#1 of 1 in Cook's Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.0 mi away
He'e Tai Inn
He'e Tai Inn
#1 of 2 in Nuku Hiva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Moorea Beach Lodge
Moorea Beach Lodge
#1 of 3 in Hauru
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge

Property: Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge
Address: 98741, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Marquesas Islands > Hiva Oa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hiva Oa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanakee Hiva Oa Pearl Lodge Marquesas Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing