We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stop over in Papeete”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Ahitea Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Papeete B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 September 2008

The Pension Ahitea Lodge in Papeete is an exceelent place to spend your first one or two nights before heading out to your island. It's reasonably well situated, about 15 minutes walk down to the market or the ferry or the roullotte (caravans selling food). The walk into town is along a scruffy road in not a particularly nice area and walking back to the pension after eating out at night is not a very nice experience. But there are taxis you could take. If you turn right at the end of the little road the pension is on you are immediately in a much nicer area, and about 300 m that way there is a supermarket. The pension is well equipped, we had 3 bed room which had airconditioning, a bathroom and a fridge. There was a swimming pool which was a godsend after a hot trek into town. The owner is very friendly and welcoming, a few more smiles from the staff would have been nice! Breakfast was included which was fresh bread and jam and coffee. I would stay there again.

1  Thank KD12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2008

Not generally whingers about things, our stay here was pretty bad and we felt compelled to write a review so that others might avoid the not cheap but definitely nasty experience of Ahitea Lodge.

Firstly, what's good:
- nice pool
- 15 minutes walk from central Papeete

What we didn't like:

- Unfriendly owners / operators who have no problem ripping off guests with hidden or overinflated charges

- Being told that we had to have the most expensive room despite the room we wanted being empty for our entire stay

- Poor value for money (even by French Polynesian standards). Decor is hideous, bathroom is revolting and not clean.

You can definitely do much better than this place. Keep looking for a better option!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank loveners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dibdibFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rosacamuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MICHEL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Audrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
0.7 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Hotel Tahiti Nui
#1 of 3 in Papeete
1,073 reviews
5.9 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sarah Nui
Hotel Sarah Nui
#4 of 7 in Papeete
332 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mahana Lodge Hostel & Bacpacker
0.1 mi away
Maison D'Hotes Tutehau
Maison D'Hotes Tutehau
#2 of 7 in Papeete
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Ahitea Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Ahitea Lodge

Address: Avenue Vaitaaoa, Papeete 5597, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Papeete
Price Range: £84 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pension de famille comportant 12 chambres, et situe au coeur de la ville de Papeete, notre pension vous permettra grace a sa localisation de decouvrir la ville avec sa culture, ses habitants, son esprit et ses roulottes. Dans un esprit familial et de detente, vous apprecierez le cadre agreable et verdoyant de notre pension dans laquelle vos vacances vous permettrons de garder un merveilleux souvenir de Polynesie. Situe tout proche de la gare routiere et du port de Tahiti, vous aurez la possibilite de pouvoir decouvrir d'autres lieux de l'ile. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pension Ahitea Lodge Tahiti/Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing