We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring Papeete”
Review of Hotel Tahiti Nui

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tahiti Nui
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our family of 6 stayed here 2 nights upon arriving in Tahiti before heading over to Moorea. We booked the executive suite (i think that is the name) that has 2 bedrooms and a pull out bed in the livingroom, 2.5 bathrooms and a kitchen.

PROS: Clean and modern decor. Feels like a very new hotel. The location was ideal for exploring downtown Papeete. We walked to the Marchete, to restaurants, the the food trucks (the main reason my husband wanted to stay in Papeete more than 1 night), ferry, waterfront, etc. Gas station / convenience store was next door so picking up basic necessities was easy since we didnt have our car yet. The rooftop pool and jacuzzi was nice. Great front desk staff - very helpful and welcoming. Inexpensive for a 2 bedroom hotel room.

CONS: We arrived late at night and could barely find our way down the very very dim halls to our room. It was seriously dark. They definitely need additional lighting. The kitchen is not set up for cooking as there are very few kitchen amenities (pots, pans, dishware, etc). But it wasn't a big deal for us, since we weren't staying long.

All in all - I think it's the best location in Papeete for a clean, comfortable hotel that offers great convenience for popping into Papeete really quickly.

Room Tip: Tip - ask for the executive suite away from the street for less traffic noise. That's the one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsmebeccalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,073)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arrived at 6.30am but could not get into our room until 13.00, so despite having a shower and a quick look around the area immediately around the hotel we still had 3 hours in reception desperately trying to stay awake after our night flight. I found not being able to get into our room earlier inexplicable as the cleaning crew were already working when we arrived- surely our room could have been expedited? the LAX flight arrives that time in the morning every day so this could not be a problem the hotel had not come across before.
The room was lovely when we got in around 12.30.The hotel is in a very good location near the docks and market.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We chose to stay in Tahiti at the end of our 14 day stay for 3 nights to see the island and get ready to go home. I researched this hotel before booking so knew what we were in for, what to expect and what to request ahead of time and at check in. As we wanted to see Papeete and experience downtown, the location was perfect. However, we don't like noise or party so were very specific about asking for a "mountain view room" both on our reservation and at check in. We had a junior suite on the 6th floor and there was little to no noise. While there is only free wifi in the lobby, there is free wired internet in the rooms and I had a small travel laptop that was able to plug into that. We weren't aware that we were going to have a full kitchen in the suite and this was a nice surprise as we like to fix our own breakfast when we can. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful when we wanted to return for showers the evening after we checked out - as you are able to use their spa showers for this purpose. Yes, it's a little dark but it's a nice place, has good service and a great location.

Room Tip: Mountain view - which is the back side of the hotel. Also, the higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank trishw0rks4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We were arriving late at night and had a cruise ship boarding the next day. this was the perfect venue. We were a very short walk away to the ship from the hotel and just needed a bed to sleep in with a late check out. The hotel was very helpful, giving us towels and shower facilities so that we could have a swim before heading to the ship in the early afternoon. We also had free access to the wifi so were able to sit in the spacious lobby and do a bit of internet catching up/ The hotel is centrally located, not a lot of frills, but was a perfect venue for our needs.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in a Junior Suite for one night before heading to the other islands. The hotel was nice. Lobby was clean and had good free wifi. We arrived in the evening and other guests have complained about it being dark and they are correct. We had to use our flashlight app to see the signs on how to get to our room. The hotel really need to add lighting in the corridor/hallways outside the rooms.
The inside of the room was nice and spacious. There was a bed and roll away bed downstairs and upstairs a nice king size bedroom and huge bathroom. This unit even had a kitchen.
The best part of this room was the balcony, it had great views. My only complaint was there was only 1 mirror in this room, they need to add a couple more at least in the downstairs bathroom. No issue with any noise from the streets, just rooster in the morning, which you will hear everywhere you go.
This hotel was walking distance to the municipal market and to the ferry, both about 1/3 of mile away.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed in a Junior Suite (street side) for two nights, theres no doubt the room was lovely, quite luxurious. I read other reviews about the noise, I was dreading this but actually I found it ok. Not that bad! A few loud motorcycles and yes, quite a few ambulance sirens but it didnt seem that loud or annoying, perhaps as I was on the 4th floor? I found it difficult as there was no bellboy to help transport your luggage or show you where your room is (which was a little difficult in the dark!). When checking out I had to make two trips down the elevator (with my baby on my hip) haha. I wish there had been a knife or a can opener in our room and a broom too (my son threw his biscuits around the room...eek). Overall not bad, I would stay again.
Reception staff were lovely too.

Room Tip: Dont choose a street side room if you are looking for peace and tranquility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theni171013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Tahiti Nui for 3 days during our holidays in Tahiti. The hotel is centrally located with easy walking access to the central market, the ferry terminal and a number of good restaurants. Rooms are spacious and clean. Staff were courteous and helpful. It offered free internet access, but only in hte lobby, not available in the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. The junior suite is good for a small family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank edpincerato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
0.4 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
291 reviews
5.6 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
1.4 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#2 of 2 in Pirae
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
4.3 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
4.0 mi away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tahiti Nui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tahiti Nui

Address: Avenue du Prince Hinoi, Papeete, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Papeete
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Tahiti Nui 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of downtown Papeete, right by shops and restaurants, Hotel Tahiti Nui offers 44 rooms and 47 most comfortable and modern suites.Hotel Tahiti Nui strives to you any service you may expect from an international hotel with competitive rates.Nearby the Market, shops, movie theatres and other Papeete downtown attractions. A few walk from the shorefront and the pier, this hotel is just the ideal stop between two islands.Enjoy the open-sky pool, relax at the fitness center or eventually let yourself go for a delightful massage at the Dhana Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Tahiti Nui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tahiti Nui Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing