We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place in Tahiti!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taaroa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taaroa Lodge
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“best place in Tahiti!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Taaroa Lodge is the perfect place for short/long holiday in Tahiti!
not to far from Papeete and near to a beautiful beach!
Ralph and his family are very friendly and helpful hosts and the location is perfect!!!
warmly reccomended

Room Tip: choose the bungalow front-beach...unforgettable view of the sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lobelto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    11
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
22
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Not sure why this place got GREAT reviews… I’m guessing those people stayed in the private bungalow?—that might be a little nicer?

We stayed for two nights in the 6 person shared room...but were lucky enough to have the room to ourselves. I called this experience "glorified camping"...the windows and doors were always wide open (had no screens) which basically was a nice entry for all kinds of bugs: lines of ants, bees, mosquitos, moths, and lizards too. The beds were "sufficient" but that's about it.

There was one bathroom and shower....kind of gross, there was a worm in the shower. Not very nice....

Location: nice to be on the beach, but too far from Papeete ($35+ taxi each way), and just one tiny store in walking distance. The highlight for us was the free use of kayaks and snorkeling equipment (although most of the snorkeling equip was broken or cracked.)
Kithen area was convenient, and that's about it.

We were a bit upset because Ralph offered to pick us up in the beginning (to bring us to the hostel), but didn't tellus UNTIL THE DAY WE WERE LEAVING that we were being charged like $30 for the pickup!!! We were pretty pissed off about it all....

Would NOT stay here again...

Room Tip: The 6 person shared room has TONS of ants, mosquitos, lizards, moths, and bees. Prepare yourself....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank breazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liege, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I have tried to book in this place 3 times... but unfortunately, it was full twice, and I had the chance to be there for 2 nights... among 4 different hostels in Tahiti island, this was the best place so far.
The owner is a great surfer with an international experience, so the place has different influences from all over the world...They got wifi and airport transfer and hips of advise. Just for orientation, when you get off the bus on the stop "kilometre 18", take the first right next to shop.

Room Tip: the dorms are clean and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Isaac A G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Nice place with excellent hosts Ralph and Diane. It's a great place for the price and location. Not too far / far enough from town and swimming, snorkelling and kayaking right off the beach next to the lodge. Good place to get your bearings and plan your trip too. They will help you out and you can store some stuff with them too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pauliendehaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Really good location, far enough away from the busy-ness of Pape'ete but close enough to make traveling to/from the airport or ferry very easy. Ralph and his wife were great hosts who would help you out with many requests. Ralph was able to help me rent a car for the days I was there and gave me good advise as far as beaches, hiking trails and places to eat. There is a small bodega a short walk down the road and a larger grocery story a couple of miles further. It made the stay much cheaper as restaurants will be expensive in Tahiti. There is also 2 decent places a short walk away for pizza and burgers.

The lagoon was really nice, great for snorkeling and kayaking. There is a wonderful place to sit just above the beach, on their property, for relaxing and sunsets. I highly recommend staying here if you're looking for a relaxing and inexpensive place to hang out.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jumpseater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventura, ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed in one of the bungalows for 5 nights. It is right at the beach and free use of kayaks and snorkeling gear. Beautiful view of Moorea and sunsets. Ralph was helpful with info for the area. Always had a fresh baguette every morning on the front table. Very chilled place, hosts leave you be and give you your space. Great dog and bunny for pets. Beautiful flowers, lots of birds in the trees and good location. Wi-fi for a small fee compared to how much it cost on the island. Definately plan to stay here again!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank stampsinthepassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2011

If you go to Tahiti Island and want to stay near Papette but next to the beach on a laid back place, this is the place to stay!
I had a wonderful experience there! The hosts are a friendly and helpful couple. The dorm was clean, very spacious and had a wonderful view of the lagoon and small beach in front of the hostel. The bathroom and outdoor kitchen were always very clean and tidy.

Very nice overall laid back atomosphere... I recommend!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brinschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
4.2 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
8.6 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#3 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#1 of 4 in Papeete
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Pension Te Miti
Pension Te Miti
#9 of 25 in Tahiti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
11.6 mi away
Tahiti Pearl Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taaroa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taaroa Lodge

Property: Taaroa Lodge
Address: B.P. 498 Papeete | Punaauia, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Taaroa Lodge Tahiti/Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing