We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maison D'Hotes Tutehau
Ranked #2 of 7 Papeete B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A beautiful experience”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed at Tutehau for a memorable 2 nights. Martine and Georgie were our lovely hosts that exuded a passion for their B&B and their Tahitian heritage and culture. The communication before booking was excellent with Martine being very helpful, knowledgeable and personable. .We loved getting welcomed and picked up at the airport by a smiling Martine! The accommodation is accurately described with a beautiful yard with many fruit bearing trees and flowers, a very peaceful setting in an urban environment.
Tutehau is a roomy open design with a sitting area facing the spacious yard. The main room has the large living area with flat screen tv, comfy chairs, couches and a tiled floor and many interesting pictures.. The well appointed kitchen is separated by a sit up bar .There are 2 guest bedrooms with patio style doors. The 2 bedrooms were nice and spacious as was the larger family bedroom. all nicely appointed with local and personal pics of their travels around the Islands. .The bathroom was very large with a nice walk- in shower and a lighted vanity. counter..
Tutehau was nicely situated within walking distance(15-20 minute) to the Ferries that go to Moorea, the water front, main plaza, market and where the food trucks set up for dinner.
There is a very nice and highly rated French cuisine restaurant within a 5 minute walk. However Martine & Georgie were ready and willing to give us the short ride if needed.
Breakfast was amazing with many local fruits, lovingly scrambled eggs by Georgie:-) and very good coffee served in their outdoor patio!! where we had a few glasses of wine later on LOL
We highly recommend Tutehau for your stay in Papeete in their beautiful urban getaway with their amazing Island hospitality. The best to you two. Rod and Judy Canada

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    25
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
71
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My family of six stayed at the Fare d'Hotes Tutehau twice - for 2 nights at the beginning of our French Polynesia trip and for 1/2 night (I'll explain) at the end of our FP adventures. From the moment I booked the room via email with Martine, I knew I had made the right decision. She was helpful and made suggestions about rental cars and even things to do on the island. Upon arrival at the airport, which was fairly late at night, she was there with leis for us, and had brought a friend so that there would be 2 cars (we are a big family). The B&B has huge spacious indoor and outdoor areas to socialize in and is very artfully and tastefully decorated. The house is very open, so no A/C, but we slept comfortably with windows open, and some fans blowing on us. We felt very comfortable there. There is a market just across the street and we even bought food to make dinners with in the kitchen. We were the only guests during our first stay there, and there is only one bathroom, which obviously if her place were full, might be a little bit more difficult to navigate during mornings and evenings. But, it was not a problem for us. We also took a walk around the area, visited the food carts (walking distance), and on a couple of occasions, borrowed the free bikes that she offered to ride around town. After our first stay, Martine agreed to keep a bunch of our bags (we were going out to a small motu and were only bringing a few items with us out of our backpacks). When we returned to Papeete, we had not planned on staying another night at Fare D'Hotes Tutehau because we had a red-eye flight (2 am) to Easter Island. But, when we inquired at the airport about storing our bags, their luggage storage closed at 10 pm (ruling this out as an option for storing our bags before our flight) and further, we learned that our flight had been delayed to 4:15 am. So, we booked a night, retired early after visiting with Martine and Georgie, and they they WOKE UP AT 2:00 AM to drive us to the airport in 2 cars. It was above and beyond. Can't recommend this place highly enough - they are a gem in the middle of Papeete. Oh, we felt very secure there with the 2 resident guard dogs and also the secure gated property. We even rode our bikes around at night in the area and never encountered any uneasiness. Next time we return to FP, I will immeditately book here for my overnights in Papeete and look no further. This is a great find!

Room Tip: There is one room which sleeps six people (2 queen and 1 double bed) for families. I believe the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GretchenJ176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

From the moment Martine welcomed me at Papeete airport with a Frangipani Lei at Papeete airport until the moment I reluctantly left three days later Martine and Georgie were the perfect hosts. Friendly, helpful, guides they will tell you all you need to know about where to go and what to do in Tahiti and make the arrangements. Even better they are Arsenal fans. Georgie says if you are Chelsea you will have to find somewhere else to stay (not sure if he was joking about that).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I booked this place at the very last minute. I was met and taken from the airport back to a nice spacious room with comfortable beds. I had 2 weeks in the French Polynesia to fill. Martine and Georgie gave me advice on what to do.

I went to a lovely Island called Fakarava for 2 days and returned to Fare d’Hotes Tutehau where I was again picked up from the airport. I stayed another night before being driven to the dock to go to Moorea. After 5 days I was again picked up at the dock and taken back to Fare d’Hotes Tutehau. The next day I was taken to the airport for my flight to LA.

Not inspiring reading, but the point is to show how helpful my hosts were at getting me place to place. I dont even want to think about not having stayed at this place.

Oh and breakfast is soooooo good. :)

Room Tip: Just stay here, doesn't matter what room, just stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabebab3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

There are people who run pensions as businesses; there are people who do it for the LOVE of sharing the beauty, bounty, history, etc of their country. Tutehau fits this last category, going out of their way to find an answer to any of your questions or requests. It is their way of life.

They are also knowledgeable of other surrounding islands. If they don't know something they'll do the research to help you out. The place is very clean and well kept. We would definitely recommend it. They pay attention to anything you say - asking a question about a certain type of fruit may result in them sharing one with you so you get to learn more about it...

Great hospitality and ambiance

Room Tip: They have two large outdoor guard dogs - just in case you don't care for dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike5466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC Canada
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Martine and Georgie made us feel very welcome the moment we arrived. We had arranged a "day room" with them, along with another couple when we disembarked our cruise ship. They have 3 rooms, so it is best to reserve right away. The email communication was very good. Martine quoted a rate that included pick up at the dock, and also taking us to the airport later in the evening. After we arrived at their home, they showed us around, and offered us a refreshment. We settled in, and then they offered to drive us back near the cruise dock as we'd decided to look around that area. There were many shops, restaurants and markets to look at. They provided us with a map, and gave us directions back to their home. We did walk back to their home after checking out the area. It is a bit of a walk, so dependent on the hot weather, you may want to grab a taxi.
Both our host were very flexible about when we wanted to go to the airport. They had to make a couple of trips, as our flight was leaving at 10:00PM and the other couple a couple of hours later. The airport is also quite close, and it did not take long to get there.
The property fit our needs perfectly for the day. Keep in mind there is no air conditioning in the home, and only fans. We had checked out "day rooms" at some of the hotels, and their prices were VERY expensive. We would definitely recommend this as a good option.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snoopy647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My spouse and I stayed at Fare d’Hotes Tutehau for two nights before catching a South Pacific cruise. It worked out really well for us.

Visitors to French Polynesia should know that B&Bs and guesthouses are not air-conditioned, but are far cheaper than even a basic hotel. So you want a B&B that has good fans and is quiet enough to leave the windows open. Fare d’Hotes Tutehau is exactly that. It is centrally located, but is in the interior of a large city block and sits in a landscaped yard surrounded by low buildings on all four sides. You don't really feel that you're in a city. The setback from any traffic noise is at least a couple hundred feet. So, it’s surprisingly quiet.

Fans are installed in the ceilings, have various speeds, and do their job well. It was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Nice, firm beds. We slept well both nights.

An airport transfer was included; owners Martine and her husband Georgie met us at the airport and after greeting us with leis took us directly to their B&B. They instantly made us feel welcome. Breakfast was also included with the price of the room and was freshly-made eggs, bacon, newly-baked French bread, toast, juice, tea – just right to start the day. They offered practical and use-able suggestions for sightseeing and dropped us off at a car rental office. Martine made sure the car rental company gave us a 15% discount better than other tourists were getting. We drove all around the island one day and really enjoyed seeing what they recommended.

Fare d’Hotes Tutehau is about a half mile from where cruise ships dock. It's also half a mile from the boats to Moorea, and about that same distance from Papeete’s famous rolling restaurants (food trucks), and all sights in downtown Papeete. So for us it was more convenient than other places, especially in its price class. It is not a resort and is not on a beach; you have to go elsewhere for swimming.

Owners Martine and her husband Georgie both speak and understand English well enough to explain anything you might ask about French Polynesia and the people of the islands. Listening to them was one of the highlights of our visit to Papeete.

Fare d’Hotes Tutehau exceeded our expectations. It was a pleasant, clean place at a price that’s very reasonable for pricy French Polynesia. We slept very well and enjoyed chatting with the owners. They delivered everything we expected and more. We highly recommend this B&B. We'll stay there again next year when we return to Tahiti. If you’re passing through Papeete, Fare d’Hotes Tutehau should work really well.

Room Tip: Martine and Georgie only accept a half dozen guests at once, so reserve early. Specify what kind of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hugo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Papeete
0.8 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
276 reviews
6.0 mi away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
4.7 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sarah Nui
Hotel Sarah Nui
#4 of 7 in Papeete
309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mahana Lodge Hostel & Bacpacker
3.7 mi away
Tahiti Airport Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison D'Hotes Tutehau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison D'Hotes Tutehau

Property: Maison D'Hotes Tutehau
Address: BP 9141 Motu Uta, Papeete 98713, French Polynesia
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Papeete
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Papeete
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maison D'Hotes Tutehau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison D'Hotes Tutehau Tahiti/Papeete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing